We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterfront Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Stay, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We went for our honeymoon stay and had a great time. The hotel has all the amenities which made it a very comfortable stay. We enjoyed the fact that it is bit further from the town. The shuttle bus runs regularly from the hotel to the city centre so there is no real problem getting into the town. The wait staff at the restaurant was very friendly and we enjoyed hearty breakfast. Overall, a very good and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashweta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Waterfront Resort thanks you for kindly reviewing our property. We hope to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    109
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
90
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Waterfront is a nice, if overpriced, additional to the wide variety of hotel accomodations available in Pokhara. It is outside of town on a private road so it's a bit quieter than Lakeside. You will have to bargain hard with taxis to go out there though. The view of the lake is pretty and the hotel has all of the mod cons. As a Nepali-speaking, long-staying visitor in Nepal though, I thought the room was overpriced. I paid about US$80 to Gokarna Forest Resort in Kathmandu, arguably a nicer property with finer amenities and the US$150 I paid to the Waterfront Resort just didn't seem to go as far. That said, the Manager of the property, Santosh, is friendly and ever-present.

What we weren't terribly pleased with was the car service up to Jomsom that we hired via the hotel. I was told that US$350 for this service was a very good price because the road is quite bad (it is) and the driver would not be able to find return passengers. Incidentally, the gas up to Jomsom from Pokhara costs about US$50. And, while US$350 may be a good price, I would recommend that other travelers take a flight. The driver we had was quite capable in the driving department, but we spent 3 hours in Beni because the Myagdi District Committee would not let us pass. Our vehicle did not have permission to pass. Our driver told me to stay in the car and not speak Nepali, but after 2.75 hours with him simply saying that we should wait in the car, I got out and asked him what was really going on. At that point I had to go over and yell at the committee representative for 10 minutes and only then were we allowed to pass. This meant that we got into Jomsom quite late, well after dark and it meant that we didn't get to walk to Marpha on that first day as planned. Then, the next morning, as we walked to Marpha, our driver passed us with a car full of people. Not only that, there is clearly no difficulty finding passengers who want a ride down from Jomsom and we all felt completely taken for a ride in terms of the price paid. It was insulting to have paid so much for less-than-stellar service and then see that it is quite easy for drivers to find return passengers. On the way back we arranged for a ride from Tatopani to Pokhara quickly and cheaply.

I have spoken with Santosh about this and he was quite apologetic, but, in keeping with what seems to be Nepali tradition, offered no compensation whatsoever. He did say that he would refrain from recommending this particular Jeep service in the future. I would too. The owner of the Jeep service is Mr. Raju Dahal, who runs the Bedrock Hotel in Lakeside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Waterfront Resort thanks you for kindly reviewing our property. We are competitively priced in relation to the service we provide. There are 4 free shuttle rides to the main lakeside area from the hotel which our guests are welcome to use. We strive to give the best possible service to all our patrons and our team is dedicated in assisting our guests by referring local vendors for services that we cannot provide such as transportation etc. However, in this case, the rate for the journey to Jomsom was agreed by yourself prior to your departure and we cannot control other vendors' pricing mechanisms or service. What we can do is upon finding ethical violations, stop referring such vendors for our guests. Waterfront resort continues to provide exceptional service to our guests and strive to always improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Being right on the lake shore provides great views and plenty of open space. The staff are very friendly, and did not mind me leaving my bags there while I went trekking for 4 days. The food was good, although the breakfast was a little limited in range. The only real downside was that I booked a room with a double bed and instead received a twin room, and then when I asked if I could be moved they instead said that they could make the 2 singles into a double bed, which was fine except that they then used single bed linen spread sideways across the bed which was not very comfortable and in fact did not actually cover the bed. The coffee is very good (best in Pokhara), and the General Manager made a point of greeting guests each morning in the restaurant, which was a nice friendly touch.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
On behalf of Santosh and the Waterfront Team, we thank you for your patronage and kind review. We look forward to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne AU
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

In a lovely setting right on the lake, this modern hotel ticks all the boxes for those used to the basic luxuries of life - hot water, clean sheets, a hearty breakfast and a pool.

Pokhara is a busy little hub of activity and having the hotel a little out of town is peaceful and not a problem at all. A shuttle bus makes the journey into town several times a day and even when it was full of dinner guests, they even came back and picked us up 10 minutes later!

Breakfast was tasty and interesting. Food seemed to be made with care rather than mass-produced.

Reception staff were helpful and friendly. When we booked taxi's - they came and on time too!

The only improvement I'd suggest would be free WIFI to rooms rather than just in the lobby. A small niggle, but make not having internet all the time contributed to the relaxation...

Room Tip: Rooms on either side of the hotel have views. Ours was facing away from the town but that was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Waterfront Resort values your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed there for two nights and ended up regretting coming to Pokhara for only two days.... great room, great food, great view and the staff were very friendly....all in all will give it five stars :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samiya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Waterfront Resort is grateful for your kind review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel delivers what is says: it is in fact right by the lake, at the end of the lakeside north. The outside is not very impressive, but the rooms are large and comfortable and the views of the lake and the sorrounding hills are amazing. Lot of paragliders touch down in the proximity so it was good fun sitting by the large swimming pool and watching the action. the restaurant serves good breakfast, there were a lot of individual travellers with families, and the ambience was relaxed and calm. Good choice for a 4 star hotel in Pokhara.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Waterfront team thanks you for kindly reviewing our property. We are grateful for your patronage and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel as part of a tour with Overseas Adventure Travel. The hotel is very clean and my room was spacious and quite comfortable. I liked the location by the lake. I liked just about everything about this hotel with one exception:service in the restaurant. I ate in the restaurant several times and also dined at the bar. There were plenty of people there to wait on us but they seemed to be standing around a lot and would not wait on people w/o flagging them down. It appeared to be totally mismanaged. I had to ask for coffee several times before being served. There is a nice swimming pool there but I did not use it do to bad weather at the time of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Waterfront Resort values your kind review and we thank you for staying with us. We strive to continually improve our services to make every visit more memorable than the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 99 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#2 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#22 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#20 of 99 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#3 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Resort Hotel

Property: Waterfront Resort Hotel
Address: Sedi Height, Lakeside Road, Pokhara, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pokhara's Waterfront Resort lies on the tranquil rural northern shore of the beautiful Phewa Lake. With supremely comfortable, air-conditioned en-suite rooms, each with a lake-view balcony, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind. In the mornings, as the sun's rays catch the Peace Pagoda above the southern lake shore, you will see fishermen paddling their boats close to the lake's edge pulling in their nets. Mid-morning, after the sun has warmed up the land, you'll be able to watch tens of para gliders coming into land while you enjoy a cappuccino on the terrace or lounge by the sparkling garden pool. Pokhara's Waterfront Resort is just a 10-minute ride from the airport, and just a 15-minute walk from the busy tourist hub or 5 minutes in a taxi. There's no need to walk: the hotel provides free shuttle service into Lakeside at intervals throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing