We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Oju Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokhara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oju Guest House
Ranked #36 of 271 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Oju is such a lovely place to stay, with delicious homemade bread baked daily and a great choice of music playing downstairs in the courtyard cafe. Chiran is so friendly and hospitable, the rooms are homely and clean and the location is so close to everything, but without all the noise! Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
45
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

OJU was the best guesthouse we stayed in during our 2 weeks of trekking and travelling in Nepal. The lovely owner, Chiran, actually knows what customer service is! And he genuinely wants you to have a good time. He even bakes fresh french and german baked goods daily and will invite you to help and teach him a new recipe. Plus there is always nice music playing, a welcome treat on arrival, yummy food from the cafe and a cosy booth to sit in. And the rooms are nsuper nice, clean and colourful. There are also balconies and terraces to soak up the sun. Service with a smile goes a long way. We have told everyone heading to Pokhara to find this place. It's also very centrally located. THANK YOU OJU!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I cannot recommend Oju guesthouse highly enough.

The service was excellent and personalised, and always delivered with a smile.

Great music, atmosphere and fresh homemade bread each day!! I can't wait to come back again.

Location is perfect too - within walking distance to everything, but without the noise :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The GH is in a quiet street with a lot of small cheap and good restaurants. The hotel is clean and nice. The main asset is the owner Chiran. He is the former manager of the Peace Eye Guest House next door. This one was once glorified in the LP 2009 thanks to him.. He is very helpful and he made his best to help us and give us hassle free informations on things to do around Pokhara. He's really not trying to sell you smthg which is quiet nice to see in Nepal lol ! At the time we stayed he was just opening is own restaurant. After 3 weeks in Nepal this is simply the best place we stayed in appart from home stays along trek trails, we strongly recommend !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Oju Guest House was recently opened (March 2012), but I've known the owner since my first trip to Nepal in October 2008. This is my fourth visit to Pokhara and I've always stayed at a property under the management of Chiran, the owner of Oju Guest House. This guest house is in the Lakeside District of Pokhara on a quiet side street that caters to both backpackers and traditional tourists alike. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and quite inexpensive. The real beauty of this place is it's owner and his determination to make your stay the best it can be in Pokhara. For example, I wanted to take a motorcycle course in Pokhara and Chiran drove me on his motorcycle to Bullet Base Camp and introduced me to an instructor (Nathan). Likewise, he goes out of his way to connect single travelers and groups of travelers together that have similar itineraries whether these include trekking, rafting, yoga, paragliding, or just spending time on Phewa Lake. Finally, Chiran is a masterful baker and makes wonderful bread and other goodies everyday. I highly recommend Oju Guest House if you are planning to visit Pokhara, Nepal.

Room Tip: I'd go for a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POKHARA LAKESIDE
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

i like to stay in this guest house where i felt like been in an interesting country culturaly ..warm atmosphere and family s objective is to give you a wonderfull vacation

Room Tip: most of the rooms are plaisants and decorated with test ..the rooms facind road are not noisy nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHIRAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#4 of 105 in Pokhara
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 105 in Pokhara
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#33 of 105 in Pokhara
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 271 in Pokhara
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fewa Holiday Inn
Hotel Fewa Holiday Inn
#31 of 271 in Pokhara
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hakoniwa
Hotel Hakoniwa
#57 of 271 in Pokhara
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oju Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oju Guest House

Property: Oju Guest House
Address: Gauri Ghat, Lakeside South | Pokhara-6, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiran Khadka and his family work hard to make your stay in Pokhara one you will enjoy and remember for a lifetime.Relax after a long trek in our clean and comfortable en-suites. Wake up to delicious French bread, fresh made every day.All in close proximity to the lake and centre, while still far enough to have peace and quiet with rooftop vistas of Annapurna. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing