We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent mo mo in town”
Review of D.B. Momo

D.B. Momo
Ranked #216 of 286 Restaurants in Pokhara
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
pokhara
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent mo mo in town”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

i have been this resturant many times.they do have excellent momo in town.i would like advise for every one ,please try once yheir mo mo..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank himalayapokhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Our least favorite mo:mo in Pokhara. :(”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Easily our least favorite mo:mos in this town, and maybe Nepal now that I look back on it. The first problem is the location, as it's just a narrow little hole in the wall set on a dusty dirt road. We'd read about the long wait times and lack of seating so we counted ourselves lucky to find we were the only customers one morning. We ordered two veg momo platters, though it seems most of the menu is Japanese and Korean food. And so began the wait. As we waited other customers steamed in til the three little tables were all full and we were sharing ours with a couple guys. No problem there, but the cigarette smoke filled the tiny space pretty quick and it was a bit annoying. Twenty minutes goes by and other customers are getting their misos, but still no sign of our momos. We could see the kitchen (hard not to) and it was usually empty as the cook (owner?) sat, talked, and smoked with a couple of the customers from Japan. After half an hour we were gonna leave and had stood up to do so when our momos suddenly appeared. They looked okay...could the wait have been worth it? Sadly, nope. They were dry and flavorless to the point the sauce didn't help them. The sauce itself was ok: spicier than usual with a lot of cumin. If you're a momo fanatic you know it's kind of hard to find a bad one...like pizza they're all pretty good when it comes down to it, for the most part. DB Momo was an exception, unfortunately, and we never went back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkanabat, Balkan, Turkmenistan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stay hungry, be patient”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We ordered momos on the go for a sunset dinner on our rented boat along with some fantastic wine from the nearby market, but these things here just seem to take a while. The wait was over 20 minutes, but I guess you could say worth it. They specialize in Korean and some Japanese food, so expect spicy sauces and full stomachs. We got the chicken and veg with cheese momos, and they weren't so bad, although a nearby cafe advertises best momos in town, and 10 Rupees less a plate than at DB's. *Will look into that soon.

It is a small establishment but usually packed with energy and buzz. Seems to be the real deal for tourists from other Asian strongholds. Don't consider this place for a candlelit romantic night out, but does well for conversations abound and tables filled with plates and good folks.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur_Wojcicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

great place for food at a good cost. Atmosphere is lacking a little bit but a nice place to grab a meal. Could be faster with serving the food but thats the only bad thing i can think of

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Machalski18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Take a seat in this lovely hole-in-the-wall joint and enjoy their delicious and reasonably priced dishes! What it may lack in appearance and decor, you'll get it 10 times in taste and atmosphere. Superb momos and propably the cheapest breakfast (90rp) in town is worth every rupee.

Since it is really popular, do not be upset if you do not find a private table;)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus01280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D.B. Momo also viewed

 
Pokhara, Gandaki Zone
 

Been to D.B. Momo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing