We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel, but nothing special”
Review of Hotel Lake Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lake Star
Ranked #26 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel, but nothing special”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place is a bit further from the lakefront than most options, and you have to walk a bit for any restaurants or shops. Our room was large, but not worth the higher price they charge (there are many cheaper options in Pokhara.)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tcldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    62
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
53
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bogor
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Unlike most hotels in Pokhara, the Lake Star is in 400m apart from the lake. it is 5 minutes walk to get lunch/dinner/shopping, and less noise caused by horn&honk traffic. I would say it is good location.

The hotel is clean, but it still has room for improment. Number one, The electricity in my room somehow was unstable, the fan somehow turned off. Number two, the cleanliness and initiative from the staff need to be improved. I stayed there for 3 nights and none of those nights some staff made up my room. I dont ask to, but as a so called 3-star hotel, they supposed to ask.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnziG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice place to stay. New hotel and good facilities. Walking distance to lake and shopping area. Staffs are good except front desk lady. Need to be more cheerful to guest!!
shopping can be done in pokhara too.
Sarangkot sun rise and the himalayan range view was great experience. Full with chinese and japanese and indian tourists that morning. Yahoo!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selvarajah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is clean and nice... The employee there are helpful and cute... It's surrounding is also quite convinience... a few minute walk you can reach a place where u can buy many things and restaurants of many variety!!!good... Comfortable place to stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joycetan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The rooms are on the highest level and everything is tidy. The Restaurante and the breakfast is excellent. And the employees are very nice and helpful. From the hotel is it only five minutes to the lakeside. Sleeping like in heaven after a hard Trekking Tour!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great to stay here after a few days of trekking on the trails and dealing with dirty beds, shared showers etc. This place was nice and modern. It had clean sheets, towels, hot water and wifi (of variable strength around the property). Staff was super friendly and helped to arrange drivers etc at a reasonable price. Located off the main strip so it was nice and calm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I think this hotel have potential but the management is poor. The staff is really nice and really want to please you!

I think you can get better for The same price.

I paid for their best room, which had no internet, and they said the internet guy came and fix it, nothing changed. So no internet in the room for the whole week. The room was good, not so clean but good, The bahtroom was very nice.

Room Tip: Just check the room before you are in, check everything works fine. I know the internet works better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBetancourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#10 of 105 in Pokhara
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#5 of 105 in Pokhara
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#4 of 105 in Pokhara
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trekkers Inn
Hotel Trekkers Inn
#21 of 105 in Pokhara
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#8 of 105 in Pokhara
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Silver Oaks Inn
The Silver Oaks Inn
#13 of 105 in Pokhara
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lake Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lake Star

Property: Hotel Lake Star
Address: Barahi path | Lakeside - 6, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lake Star 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lake Star blends the warm Nepali hospitality with the unparalleled amazing and magical setting of the destination Pokhara. The 19 rooms each offer a haven of modern sophistication with luxurious amenities and technology. Our selection features Standard Double/Twin/Single and Deluxe Double/Twin/Single. All rooms are finished with modern amenities including air conditioning, en suite bathroom with around the clock hot shower, daily housekeeping, TV with plasma/LCD screen and complimentary Wi-Fi. Conveniently located in the heart of Lake Side but still outside the busy tourist center, one can reach the hub/most of the must-see-destinations in a short 5 minute walk around lake side. For our guest travelling by air/bus, Hotel Lake Star provides a free and reliable airport shuttle service, which will bring you comfortably to your accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lake Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing