We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and quiet”
Review of Hotel Lake Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lake Star
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice place to stay. New hotel and good facilities. Walking distance to lake and shopping area. Staffs are good except front desk lady. Need to be more cheerful to guest!!
shopping can be done in pokhara too.
Sarangkot sun rise and the himalayan range view was great experience. Full with chinese and japanese and indian tourists that morning. Yahoo!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selvarajah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 276 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is clean and nice... The employee there are helpful and cute... It's surrounding is also quite convinience... a few minute walk you can reach a place where u can buy many things and restaurants of many variety!!!good... Comfortable place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycetan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The rooms are on the highest level and everything is tidy. The Restaurante and the breakfast is excellent. And the employees are very nice and helpful. From the hotel is it only five minutes to the lakeside. Sleeping like in heaven after a hard Trekking Tour!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great to stay here after a few days of trekking on the trails and dealing with dirty beds, shared showers etc. This place was nice and modern. It had clean sheets, towels, hot water and wifi (of variable strength around the property). Staff was super friendly and helped to arrange drivers etc at a reasonable price. Located off the main strip so it was nice and calm.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I think this hotel have potential but the management is poor. The staff is really nice and really want to please you!

I think you can get better for The same price.

I paid for their best room, which had no internet, and they said the internet guy came and fix it, nothing changed. So no internet in the room for the whole week. The room was good, not so clean but good, The bahtroom was very nice.

Room Tip: Just check the room before you are in, check everything works fine. I know the internet works better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBetancourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Looking at other guest's reviews, this hotel should be a winner. But our recent experience was pretty awful.
We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days. After the first night, i requested the morning staff to make sure the toilet gets unblocked. He said yes. 2 hours later, after our sunrise trip to Sarangkot, as the toilet was still blocked, I reminded them again, and nothing was done. I again reminded in the evenng and they said yes, but clearly, no one did anything or even cleaned the room and or toilet. 3 requests are 2 too many for something vital like plumbing.
Second, the manager was trying to sell us a city package of a few hours for 70$, when in fact, the trip is typically 40$. He was justifying the 70$ as inclusive of entrance fees which were really just a few hundred rupees which equates to less than5$. Then, another man who hangs out in the foyer was trying to sell us an ultraflight experience for 200 Euros for 30 minutes when we just did a 60 minute one for a similar price.
Lastly, the breakfast was pretty pathetic- cold toast with an egg. Nothing similar to other Nepal hotels of similar grade.
The good bits- many of the staff were friendly, particularly some of the cleaning crew. location is a few minutes walk from Lakeside.
Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Check prices of activities first before booking through this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyFNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELLAKESTAR, Owner at Hotel Lake Star, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear TonyF,
Firstly we would like to Thank you for choosing your stay in Pokhara with us, Glad to know that you found the staff friendly and caring,
Secondly: we apologize for unconvinced happen during your stay, But we still don;t know about the toilet unblocked as all the our bathrooms are new and its very clean, so i don;t know what happen to your room, even though i already alert all the staff and the house keeping not to let it happens again,
Regarding the Tours and sightseeing they try to sell you was not from the hotel staff, that guy was the your travel agent's staff at Pokhara and they come and try to sell you the trips,
our hotel staff will not charge the higher price for any of the tours as we only give this a service,

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pokhara is an amazing place and the experience was made more wonderful after a short but good stay at this hotel. Service was excellent and staff were generally very friendly. Breakfast was a delight, "Mitho cha!" , and was definitely a more than pleasant way to start the day.
We had the most interaction with staff members, Amrit and Anus. Very helpful and friendly indeed.
Rooms were clean and spacious and I for one, was very pleased with the showers. 24Hours hot water as promised. Some rooms had good view and easy access to the balconies which is a plus if the weather was nice and offered good views of the himalayas.
Also close enough to walk to the main streets. Bring a torch as the road can get a bit dark at night. Not a big issue as overall feel of area was also very safe. Torch is more for watching what you may step into!
All in all, a good place to stay and guaranteed good service and clean environment.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with views and easy access to balconies. Ask for side with mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Share67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELLAKESTAR, Manager at Hotel Lake Star, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Sare,
Thank you so much for your time to review us, we really appreciate your stay with us and to know that you enjoyed your stay,
we always trying to give extra service to all our guest to make them feel like they are in Home.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#19 of 106 in Pokhara
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#9 of 106 in Pokhara
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Crystal Palace
Hotel Crystal Palace
#7 of 106 in Pokhara
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#3 of 106 in Pokhara
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Silver Oaks Inn
The Silver Oaks Inn
#10 of 106 in Pokhara
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trekkers Inn
Hotel Trekkers Inn
#28 of 106 in Pokhara
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lake Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lake Star

Address: Barahi path | Lakeside - 6, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range: $23 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lake Star 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lake Star blends the warm Nepali hospitality with the unparalleled amazing and magical setting of the destination Pokhara. The 19 rooms each offer a haven of modern sophistication with luxurious amenities and technology. Our selection features Standard Double/Twin/Single and Deluxe Double/Twin/Single. All rooms are finished with modern amenities including air conditioning, en suite bathroom with around the clock hot shower, daily housekeeping, TV with plasma/LCD screen and complimentary Wi-Fi. Conveniently located in the heart of Lake Side but still outside the busy tourist center, one can reach the hub/most of the must-see-destinations in a short 5 minute walk around lake side. For our guest travelling by air/bus, Hotel Lake Star provides a free and reliable airport shuttle service, which will bring you comfortably to your accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lake Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing