We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tent camp in a beautiful location”
Review of Seti River Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokhara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seti River Camp
Ranked #20 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Pokhara
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Great tent camp in a beautiful location”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed two nights at the Seti River Tent Camp as part of a tour group. The tent camp is basic, but still very nice, and the setting is beautiful. Tents overlook the Seti river in a very remote location, similar to a national park. A washroom with toilet is located behind each tent, about three feet away. So, you have to un-zip your tent screen whenever you want to access the washroom. There is no internet connectivity, and electricity is limited. Electricity in tents is provided by solar power batteries, and can be unpredictable. Staff members are very courteous and helpful. Meals are served in a screened-in dining room, and the food is good. As long as you don't expect luxury, you should enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights during a rafting trip. It is only accessible by river.

Having stayed for six nights in Ker & Downey Nepal lodges, we expected a good standard of accommodation and service and were not disappointed.

The tents were constructed with a corrugated steel roof over a large, conventional ridge tent with something around 4 high foot walls and a 7 foot ridge. There were outer canvas doors with separate fly screens behind them. The twin beds were comfortable and set at a normal height. Our tent had a shower-room including a wash-basin, flush toilet, tiled floor and wooden walls, that was pretty much en-suite. We had hot water when we needed it. There were tiny LED lights at each bed-head and in the bathroom but they only gave a glimmer of light.

Plentiful, inclusive drinks and nibbles were served outside around an open, roaring fire during the pre-dinner happy hour. Dinner was self service in a dining hut, lit by candles and oil/gas lamps. It was very good lodge style food brought in by immaculately turned out staff from the adjacent kitchen. Breakfast and lunch was taken in the same area. Coffee and tea was served first thing in the morning and late in the afternoon, with the addition of drinking chocolate in the afternoon.

There were a few biting insects about when we sat outside, under the tent verandah, as the sun dropped. None was particularly fearsome and a rub with a Mosi-guard stick on exposed skin kept them away (not DEET standard insects!). Visiting the bathroom at night, my head-torch lit up a few large ants and other little beasties and sent them scurrying about. Not a problem - certainly no bites - but I did remember to wear my crocs the following night.

We took the optional 3 hours or so walk on the second day at camp, straight up the hillside to a village, from which the camp draws many staff, and back down, accompanied by our boat crew. The villagers were friendly. Whist the going wasn't over difficult, I wouldn't have wanted to do it in sandals. Bamboo walking sticks were available at the campsite. I had a small rucksack but the crew carried water for others

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buxtonjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, New York
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We came by raft to this tented camp and were pleasantly surprised. The location is outstanding and the tents were very comfortable with each having a decent private bath. The restaurant did a good job given the location and the food was good. We also enjoyed a tough hike up the mountain to a remote village and another easier hike along the river to another village.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzillp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Take this review with a grain of salt as I am not a camper so staying here was about as rustic as I will get. I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour with Overseas Adventure Travel. We were on the river rafting portion of our trip. The staff is excellent here and I really enjoyed their cooking class. It was very hot in October but I enjoyed a dip in their pool after hiking to nearby villages. The scenery is very pretty. The only warning is that there are bugs in the bathroom at night which was expected in a tent camp but not really my thing. If you camp then this place will be a nice upgrade as each tent has its own attached bathroom. The beds in the camp were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This camp has permanent tents with concrete floors and bathrooms. Rustic but nice. Loved the views of the river. Great food and staff. We stayed 2 nights and there was really nothing to do for the day in between rafting. In March the river is low and gives a nice slow rafting trip, which is what I wanted. Go in the fall for more excitement!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Seti River Camp. I was really nervous to stay in a tent camp, since I'm not much for rustic accomodations. I was surprised to find it to be very comfortable. Each tent is covered, so we were protected from a nighttime rainstorm. The semi-attached bathroom (a foot away from the back of the tent) had all of the modern conveniences, including electricity throughout the night. The property is quiet and attractive. Each morning, we woke up to the staff bringing coffee or tea to our tent. Each evening, we gathered around the campfire before dinner. The camp's chef was a great guy; he even taught us how to hand-shape momos! We had terrific walks in the area to the neighboring communities, plus we had fun floating down the river just in front of the camp. We would recommend the camp.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravellerChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here as part of a white water rafting trip along the Seti River. Loved it!!! Tents and 'convieniences' were better than expected. Food good and the staff were genuinely attentive and polite without coming accross as overbearing.

Great location along the river which was good for walks.

Would definately recommend this place despite the noisy insects at night!!!!

The rafting was exceptional and the best fun I have had for a long time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Windsorguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Middle Path
Hotel Middle Path
#1 of 105 in Pokhara
565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#7 of 105 in Pokhara
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 105 in Pokhara
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 273 in Pokhara
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Travel-Inn
Hotel Travel-Inn
#20 of 105 in Pokhara
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#17 of 105 in Pokhara
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seti River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seti River Camp

Property: Seti River Camp
Address: P.O. Box 326, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Pokhara
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing