We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Literally just Karma” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karma Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karma Guest House
Ranked #61 of 275 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Literally just Karma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Easy airport pick up included when booking on line. Large clean rooms that are cosy, i tried 3 of the rooms while i was in Nepal all were en-suite and all were perfectly pleasant with clean towels given (Which is always nice). The staff are very helpful and all are very friendly and are always available to advise you with any queries you may have. Wifi is excellent and is complementary. The location is in the heart of Tamil and is 20m off the main backpacker street. Prices are very reasonable. All in all an excellent budget guesthouse.

Room Tip: If you pick the upstairs rooms they have a balcony and are slightly better. Also book online for fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    14
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
40
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a few days in Pokhara to unwind after the ABC trek. We moved to Karma Guesthouse from a different Pokhara Guesthouse that we weren't satisfied with.

Our time at Karma was great. The property is pleasant and clean, with a garden and sunny balcony. The wifi worked well (and is on a generator). The rooms are basic, but clean and good value, with hot water most of the time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rear room on the 1st floor. The shower was hot most of the time. The room had no wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

What else can you add from what is already on written here... This place is nice, cosy, affordable and the staff is friendly... The main problem is that it makes it hard for you to leave this place.

A negative point would be the smell of humidity in our room downstairs, but nothing that could ruin your stay there.

Also be careful to book in advance, as they seem to be often full during high season.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are cheaper... even if they're the same... but the owner wouldn't say why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great budget choice in Pokhara.

The rooms are clean by Nepalese standards (don't expect fluffy white towels).

The owner is super friendly and helpful.

The location is great, just off the main tourist strip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This has to be the best place to stay in pokhara. real cheap comfortable and clean rooms. near the main strip - like 5 min walk. lake right across street w canoe rentals. family owned spot chandra ( owner is a great dude) and he will pick u up from bus station, arrange taxi back when u leave and cook u bfast every morning. he has hookups w local bars/restaurants/activities. we partied til the last bar closed at 1am every night and he woke up to let us in the gate that gets locked at like 11 with no problems. stay here. do it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leh, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We found this guest house by chance; Looking for another guest house (later found to be closed) we saw the lovely garden of Karma, asked to look in and that saw us hooked for most of 3 weeks! We are travelling with two children, so if they are happy we remain happy too. Chandra - the owner was knowledgable of activities that would suit us and was able to arrange some for us. His family welcomed ours into their establishment, my daughter got on very well with his, going over to play on the swing errected for the festival.
We asked around for treking opptions - Chandra again came up trumps. We all did the ABC trek with a guide that Chandra provided, whom I can heartily recommend; ask for Chandra (yes another Chandra).
We felt the bathroom could do with improving, the water did not all drain away leaving the floor wet and slippy.
If you want a warm family run guest house that will make you feel welcome you could not do much better than here - oh and don't forget to pat Manu, the dog.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My partner and I initially booked 2 nights at Karma Guest House, we loved it so much we stayed for a total of 8! Chandra who runs the guest house could not have done any more to make us feel welcome. He met us from the bus station, organised a great guide and a 5 night 6 day trek for us, at a much better price than any company offered, he even stored our bags while we went on the trek. When we got back from the trek another clean and homely room was waiting for us. Chandra also helped us organise a trip to Chitwan National Park and white water rafting, he even took us to the bus station in the morning and showed us which bus to get on and which seat was ours. All in all we couldn't have asked for more. The rooms were clean and spacious, The family who ran the guest house were welcoming and friendly and made a great breakfastst and there was a lovley terrace with a view of the mountains. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 99 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#6 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#3 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 275 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#14 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fish Tail Lodge
Fish Tail Lodge
#13 of 99 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Guest House

Property: Karma Guest House
Address: Lake side 6, Pokhara 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family managed Karma Guest House is front of the famous lake in Pokhara with view to Himalaya. Hot shower guaranteed, heated by electric, customers can use free Wi-Fi with broadband connection. Neat and clean rooms have private shower and toilet, view to maintained sunny garden. Also we offer home cooked food and room service. Karma guest house provides free store room and can help with traveller information and organize everything that you need while being in Pokhara. You are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karma Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Guest House Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing