We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View”
Review of Pokhara Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pokhara Grande
Ranked #18 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed with this hotel for two nights during our visit in Pokhara.

1) Check-in process is fast and our luggage were delivered promptly.
2) Hotel staff are polite and helpful.
3) Had daily buffet breakfast & dinner for two days at the hotel's restaurant. Choices of foods are not much and yet the quality of foods are fine.
4) Hotel room is clean & spacious.
5) The TV is somewhat small and make it look like a PC monitor.
6) There is no free WIFI in this hotel, however you can ask for the service at a very low charge.
7) My room have a stunning view, the Fishtail Mountain can be seen clearly from the room and it's great.
8) Hotel travel desk provides numerous activities ie Paragliding & Ultra light flight
9) The spa is expensive, you can just choose other providers at a very much lower fee and better service around the lakeside area.
10) There is about 15-minute walk from the hotel to lakeside city center, however, given the poor condition of road, I don't think so one will do the walking.

In overall, this is one of the greatest hotel in Pokhara.

Room Tip: Must ask for a room facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samjhana G, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your precious time in posting this review. Much appreciated! We are working on providing free internet, meanwhile we are giving away complimentary wifi coupons for guests from online bookings.

We do hope look forward to your next visit in Pokhara Grande and satisfy your stay with us in every way.

Best Regards,
Samjhana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    96
    41
    7
    11
See reviews for
58
92
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Spacious reception area with shops, travel desk. Reception busy but welcoming. Staff pleasant and helpful. Room was very spacious, well appointed, and comfy. Tea/Coffee in room, but no safe. Room service excellent. Eating in the restaurant was a bit 'hit and miss'. The food was generally OK; reasonable choice of local and international dishes. On one evening, another tour group descended on mass and occupied most of the tables, and decimated the buffet, and commanded most of the service. On that occasion, the service to us was diabolical. Apologies were offered and accepted, but the service charge was still applied. So, choose your time carefully! On other occasions, service and food could not be faulted. We thought the price of beer was outrageous. Wi-Fi was not free, but more reasonable than most hotels we stayed in. During our stay, hot water was available only between 5-10 am and pm (because of power restrictions).The hotel had pleasant grounds with swimming pool, and spa. Wife thought the service in the Spa lacked serenity and focus due to attendants chatting and using cell phones. Great views of the Annapurna range, particularly from the hotel's roof (alas no sunbeds there!). Hotel is reasonably convenient for a number of activities. It is less than 5 mins from the airport ( In fact, at the end of the runway- fortunately no noise, but great views of planes). Outside the hotel is a range of local shops. We found it quite safe to walk around with no hassle from hawkers. It took about 40 minutes to walk to Lakeside centre, and about 10 mins by taxi (300 Rupees), for a wider range of restaurants. The travel desk was helpful in arranging a great trip to the hills to visit a local family.
On balance, an enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samjhana G, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your time out to post this review. And also thank you for bringing certain things to our notice. We have acknowledged the spa department too and briefed the staff. As for the wifi, we are working on making it complimentary to all the guests. For now free wifi access is provided to guests from online bookings only.

We do hope to welcome you again in our prominent property.

Best Regards,
Samjhana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

With a lovely location and magnificent views of the Annapurna range, the foundations for excellence exist, but they were not fulfilled. Service was very poor and staff attitudes very disappointing. Tea was ordered but after a long wait we gave up. The evening meal was poor in terms of quality and service. Eat in the town by the lake it is so much better in terms of value and quality. A very disappointing experience overall although the town and local area were great. Wi-fi was very expensive and hotels with this rating should provide this as a basic free service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npgsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samjhana G, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about your experience in Pokhara Grande. Because of the wedding season and banquets being in full operation, services are bound to be slow. Even so we try to provide the best services we can to keep our guests satisfied. As for the internet, we are trying to change the system. Meanwhile we are giving free access to guests from online bookings.

We do look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Samjhana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Pokhara Grande. Lovely staff generally but restaurant staff quite slow. Rooms good size with nice bathrooms, very clean and spacious. Restriction on hot water strangely, 5-10am and 5-10pm which is a pain if you arrive lunchtime after a long journey. Buffet breakfast a bit disappointing compared to the Hyatt in Kathmandu which we also stayed at, limited choice. Ate out both nights so don't know what dinner was like. Get fed up hotels of this calibre ripping off guests by charging for wifi.
Five minutes drive to the tourist area of Lake Side where there are plenty of bars and restaurants (mostly with free wifi!) Taxis are cheap and plentiful, about 2-3 quid to Lake Side. Fantastic view of the Annapurna mountain range especially from the rooftop.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samjhana G, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your previous time to post the review.

The restriction on hot water is basically due to the load shedding Nepal is facing. We are working on it to make the timing more flexible to our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you again and provide you better services.

Best Regards,
Samjhana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have been in India and Nepal for the past two weeks and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed at.mtge hotel is welcoming and the staff are some of the best I have ever had the pleasure to meet. They are courteous and professional and nothing is too much effort.

The hotel is well placed for those of a slightly more adventurous nature to walk into the main shopping are of lake side. If you don't feel like walking, a taxi should cost you no more than 300 Nepalese rupees for a single trip for three.

Our room was in the garden block with a lovely view of the Annapurna range. It was spacious and comfortable and the en-suite facilities of the usual standard for this type of hotel.

The food was of a high quality and plenty if it, the service in the restaurant took me back to years gone by, when the waiters called you sir and ma'am. I haven't heard this for some time and it was a pleasure to see the old fashioned standards again.

There is a lovely, although small, swimming pool and a spa for those pampering moments. There are also the obligatory souvenir shops,which are a little expensive, but should you try them, haggle!!

All in all, I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: We had room 242 which has a really good view of the stupa in the garden and also the Annapurna range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samjhana G, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again in Pokhara Grande.

Best Regards,
Samjhana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I am on a trip around India and Nepal and just had the worst food ever The choice for dinner was buffet or light lunch menu, Having had a toasted sandwich from the light lunch menu at lunchtime which had not been toasted and was tasteless I decided to go for buffet . It was poorest buffet we have experienced it had been decimated by previous guests and had not been replenished and cold when sent back as cold returned to be told was warm still cold and was not offered an alternative or apology just a shrug of shoulders .If you stay in this hotel suggest you find somewhere to eat out we will tomorrow

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtonsbruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samjhana G, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

With due respect I would like to inform you that we DO NOT serve cold buffer! I inquired with the service department and found out that the rest of your group had no problem eating the same buffet which was obviously not cold. And for your information we did not charge you for the buffet.

Best Regards,

Samjhana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed there for 2 days in last October. Good hotel, value for money, great break fast and courteous staff.

Since my connection flight to Pokhara was cancelled i checked in late at 10Pm. Though the dinner closes by 10.30, they kept food for us till 11 pm.

Rooms where spacious, airport is just 10mts away. Since corridors where big, kids are likely play there and needed to shout once at them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santhosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samjhana G, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that your stay in Pokhara Grande was great. Thank you for taking time in posting this review, much appreciated. We're hoping for the opportunity to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Samjhana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
1.2 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#27 of 105 in Pokhara
284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#9 of 105 in Pokhara
624 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 105 in Pokhara
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Village Pokhara
Shangri-La Village Pokhara
#41 of 105 in Pokhara
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#6 of 105 in Pokhara
368 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pavilions Himalayas
The Pavilions Himalayas
#43 of 105 in Pokhara
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokhara Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokhara Grande

Property: Pokhara Grande
Address: Birauta Chowk, Pardi, Pokhara 200, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokhara
#7 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#9 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pokhara Grande 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pokhara Grande is a 5 minute's drive from the stunning Fewa Lake and ideally located amidst the panoramic view of Annapurna Range and Fishtail mountains. The hotel is a perfect base for business travelers, topnotch trekkers and for visitors who want to explore the unrivaled attractions of Pokhara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pokhara Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokhara Grande Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing