We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Green Tara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Tara Hotel
Ranked #57 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good value”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, which is I think in the best location of Lakeside south. Rooms are of good size and very clean, so are the bathrooms. The family who runs it is extremely polite and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigmund B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    41
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
35
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pokhara
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Green Tara Hotel is located on a beautiful side street near the end of the busy Lakeside main street. Close enough to access all the food and shopping you desire but far enough away to have a peaceful breakfast with some local Nepali tea, the Green Tara Hotel is in a perfect location.
I have stayed at this hotel three different times, and now I am staying with the family that owns the hotel. The Green Tara has extremely clean facilities including, the lobby, restaurant, rooms, bathrooms, and of course the kitchen, which as a forgeiner is an important consideration. Rooms are spacious and resonably priced. The hotel is family owned by extremely nice, welcoming, and helpful people, who can also speak multiple languages! The internet is fast (for Nepal), oh, and there is a beautiful view of the Himalayas from the roof of the hotel. I strongly recommend spending your time in Pokhara at the Green Tara Hotel.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both triples and doubles and both are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sitaly1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lnd
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was disappointed by this hotel after reading all the great reviews. The location is great, close to the lakeside but on the side street. The room was clean and looked ok, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable. We both woke up with sore back (and we are used to various backpackers accommodation!). the room was also loud (other guests and outside noise in the morning) and smelled of bacon in the morning - from the nearby restaurant I think. It might be that this was only rooms on the side (not a mountain view side) but we decided not to come back after our trek.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Green Tara is spotlessly clean and well run by the Giri family. Detailed moldings line the ceiling, plants dot the hallways, the marble floors and bannisters shine. The morning mountain views from the rooftop cannot be beat - if Machupachhare and the Annapurnas cooperate.
I have been staying here since 2004 and love the location - central but off the beaten path. Mr. Giri is happy to arrange any travel plans you might need and he keeps your budget in mind.
This is great value for money. Hot water, freshly sun-dried sheets, comfortable beds and terraces and balconies on each floor to enjoy Pokhara's wonderful bird life and sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichellePage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you are looking for a calm and relaxing place before or after your big trek, then this is the place for you. After a rough night bus ride from Kathmandu, I came upon Green Tara, situated in a quite side street in the southern Lakeside region. It was exactly what I was looking for. The rooms are immaculately clean, the staff are extremely hospitable and helpful, and the food is delicious. They went out of their way to help me with recommendations, as well as to arrange for my transportation out of Pokhara. Definitely check this place out whne in Pokhara. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farokht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

In this small and cozy hotel the rooms are always kept clean and tidy. The staff is friendly and are always willing to help you and from the rooftop you have outstanding views of the Annupurna mountains. During the daily power cuts there is no power but in the evening they have solar lights. The hotel is on walking distance off all the restaurants, bars and shops. . The hotel is not located in small alley that comes out on the main street so during the night it is very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I keep coming back to this hotel because it gives a very good value for money (so far I probably stayed, in total, for more than 50 days in this hotel.)
The rooms are clean and tidy. The staff is friendly and are always willing to help you in any way they can. Showers are hot and strong. From the rooftop you have thé most beautiful view of the Annupurna mountains. During the daily power cuts there is no power but in the evening they have solar lights. These power cuts are the same for all the hotels, so the hotel can not change this. Sometimes they will turn on the generator to get power. The hotel is on walking distance off all the restaurants, bars and shops. Close to the hotel you will find the best Pizzaria in town, a 30 seconds walk. The hotel is not located directly on the main street so during the night it is very quiet. The main street is 50m away.
Rooms are not cleaned daily, which I like! But if you want they will clean it every day for you. For the rest they have fast internet, their own kitchen and a computer which you can use for free to do your e-mailing or what ever you like to do.
To end: I can recommend this hotel to everyone who don`t want to spent too much money but still want to have good and clean but simple rooms. For ten times more money you can get the best there is but for those who are on a smaller budget I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koen-serachour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bishram
Hotel Bishram
#62 of 105 in Pokhara
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tara
Hotel Tara
#37 of 105 in Pokhara
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trekkers Inn
Hotel Trekkers Inn
#23 of 105 in Pokhara
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Adam
Hotel Adam
#3 of 105 in Pokhara
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#7 of 105 in Pokhara
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#6 of 105 in Pokhara
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tara Hotel

Property: Green Tara Hotel
Address: Lakeside 6 Gaurighat Ratanamandir | Lakeside, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Tara Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Tara Hotel is situated in natural environment with green trees around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Green Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing