We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #85 of 290 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our room was nicely decorated and clean with plenty of closet space. Having breakfast on the roof terrace or just chilling at the end of the day, with its uninterrupted view of the spectacular Annapurna range was always a pleasure.John and Maya, the hotel owners helped with everything during the course of our month long stay, They organised trips out of Pokhara in the Hotel Jeep and even arranged and prepaid our air flight and transfer taxis to and from Kathmandu.If you're there for the Paragliding a ride up to the take-off and a retrieve at the end of your flight every day is included in the room rate. Alternatively, If there is anything you want to do or anywhere you want to go they will always go out of their way to make it happen. The standard of service and quality of the facilities we encountered during our stay at the Hotel Garden was excellent and we would recommend it to anybody considering a trip to Nepal, Also, we were amazed, on cheque out at how low our bill was. The original room rate, including a very good breakfast, was very competitive with other hotels in Pokhara, but considering the extra meals and trips out we had during the course of our stay, the whole thing was excellent value-for-money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandEileenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 38 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

You're a pilot? Don't look any further.
You're not. Also don't!

John, Maya and the family made my first stay absolutely brilliant. Couldn't have been taken care of better. The time in Pokhara was great and John helped in getting my itinerary completed - both ways, coming to Pokhara an some extra days in Kathmandu. Leave alone all the hints on flying, getting up to Sarangkot for some spectacular XCs and making sure I'm safely back at the end of the day and not dangling from a tree or similar.

You need to try Mayas great Currys!! Lovely!! The view you get for breakfast on the rooftop, no words. I'm super happy for not having stayed in loud and busy lakeside and for the recommendation from friends of John and Mayas Hotel Garden!

Looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here for my first time time in nepal, a paragliding trip. John and Maya and family run a great place. Charming, spotless, great food (John's traditional English, Maya's curries and momos). Well placed for busy Lakeside, but a pleasant walk away from the noise.
John can arrange everything from Kathmandu onwards, Friendly family staff can't do enough for you.
I managed to fly within two hours of arriving. Quick breakfast on roof terrace, with stupendous views of Annapurna range, then straight up nearby Sarangkot, John's local contacts and knowledge smoothing the way for an afternoon soaring among the Himalayan foothills.
Only complaint is I only had 2 weeks holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

For my 9th visit to Nepal i was lucky enough to be introduced to the majic of hotel garden.....
John, miya & cameron were the perefect hosts.......
The food is exeptional...traditional local cuisine by miya.......or something closer to home for the home sick with johns legendary roast beef n yorkshire puds.....admitedly i left a little heavier when leaving but it was well worth the jogging......scrumtious !
I will certainly be back as this was the most comfortable of stays i'v had in my nine years of visiting.
For total service and piece of mind you really canot do much better.....
With love....

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views in pokhara.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed for a month in November 2011

John sorts all the logistics from meet & greet in Kathmandu to transfers to Pokhara,
(25 minute flight or a 7 hour bus ride which is not so bad)

The rooms are clean and tidy with en-suite bathroooms and with free wifi, in a quiet location, close to the lake

Town is 15-20 minutes by foot or via a plenty of cheap taxis

John and his team serve good, simple food and plenty of it - dont miss his weekly roast dinner

Take breakfast on the roof with a view of the mountains

I was in Pokhara for the paragliding - excellent flying on Sarankot from a big grassy take off

We also flew Dhiki Danda and Bandipur with eagles and vultures

Great value for money and service with a smile

Thanks again to John and the team

See you guys next year....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

John, Maya and all their staff were the perfect hosts during my stay at the Hotel Garden in Pokhara. All the staff went the extra mile to look after the guests. Rooms are spacious, clean and overall my stay was great value. Many thanks to everyone at Hotel Garden. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I went back to Hotel Garden after we completed the Poon Hill trek. The hotel is clean and cozy and we were lucky to catch a classic Thursday night "proper English supper" which John, the proprietor, offers weekly. Beef, roasted potatoes, pudding and carrots ended with delicious coffee and teas.

The hotel is off the beaten path but is only blocks from the bus station and the airport, very convenient. A short walk to Lakeside. John, Maya and the crew always make us feel welcome! Thanks again :)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dompro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 290 in Pokhara
299 reviews
0 mi away
New Pokhara Lodge
New Pokhara Lodge
#5 of 290 in Pokhara
255 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 108 in Pokhara
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#6 of 108 in Pokhara
268 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#2 of 108 in Pokhara
197 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#10 of 108 in Pokhara
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Address: Phewa Lake Dam Side Pardi | PO Box 239, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Price Range: $33 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're walking from the domestic airport or the tourist bus park. HOTEL GARDEN is located in the in the quiet district of dam-side which is just a 10 minute walk from either arrival point, and we are just 15 minuets walk from lake side. All rooms have attached bathrooms with hot and cold running water, TV points and Free wi-fi connection. Our restaurant operates on a b&b set breakfast, and is open from 6am until 2100 hrs for evening meals. Our all day restaurant offers brunch & lunch and evening meals to passing guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing