We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendlIest place in town.....”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #86 of 287 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2012

For my 9th visit to Nepal i was lucky enough to be introduced to the majic of hotel garden.....
John, miya & cameron were the perefect hosts.......
The food is exeptional...traditional local cuisine by miya.......or something closer to home for the home sick with johns legendary roast beef n yorkshire puds.....admitedly i left a little heavier when leaving but it was well worth the jogging......scrumtious !
I will certainly be back as this was the most comfortable of stays i'v had in my nine years of visiting.
For total service and piece of mind you really canot do much better.....
With love....

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views in pokhara.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 38 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed for a month in November 2011

John sorts all the logistics from meet & greet in Kathmandu to transfers to Pokhara,
(25 minute flight or a 7 hour bus ride which is not so bad)

The rooms are clean and tidy with en-suite bathroooms and with free wifi, in a quiet location, close to the lake

Town is 15-20 minutes by foot or via a plenty of cheap taxis

John and his team serve good, simple food and plenty of it - dont miss his weekly roast dinner

Take breakfast on the roof with a view of the mountains

I was in Pokhara for the paragliding - excellent flying on Sarankot from a big grassy take off

We also flew Dhiki Danda and Bandipur with eagles and vultures

Great value for money and service with a smile

Thanks again to John and the team

See you guys next year....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

John, Maya and all their staff were the perfect hosts during my stay at the Hotel Garden in Pokhara. All the staff went the extra mile to look after the guests. Rooms are spacious, clean and overall my stay was great value. Many thanks to everyone at Hotel Garden. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I went back to Hotel Garden after we completed the Poon Hill trek. The hotel is clean and cozy and we were lucky to catch a classic Thursday night "proper English supper" which John, the proprietor, offers weekly. Beef, roasted potatoes, pudding and carrots ended with delicious coffee and teas.

The hotel is off the beaten path but is only blocks from the bus station and the airport, very convenient. A short walk to Lakeside. John, Maya and the crew always make us feel welcome! Thanks again :)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dompro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I've recently experienced my first trip to Nepal and Pokhara. Hotel Garden is a great place to stay. My room was clean and comfortable, the food was delicious in particular Maya's Momos. The hotel is family run and the service was excellant including all those finishing touches which make all the difference ( e.g. plug in mosquito repeller) After returning from a trek I was able to spend time relaxing and enjoying the terrace and fantastic view of the mountains. Thanks again for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were recommended Hotel Garden in Pokhara by a friend who had stayed there on a Para gliding trip the year before (we don't Paraglide). We had spoken of always wanting to visit Nepal but didn’t really have a clue as what to do or see. He put us in touch with John (the Hotel Owner), he was honest about the weather during the period of our visit (Rainy season) and also about how we could maximise our time in Nepal to see and do as much as we could.

From day one our trip was run like a military operation, we had organised our own accommodation in Kathmandu but John had organised a local to drive and show us the sights in this fabulous city for two days (I would say 2-3 days is the minimum you would need to get a quick glance at all the attractions) something we were thankful of as Kathmandu would have been very daunting if we’d have had to do it alone.

After Kathmandu John had suggested we head over to The Chitwan National Safari Park for a 3 day Jungle Trek. John liaised with the company in Chitwan Booking our transfer and accommodation. Chitwan was a fantastic experience and we intend to return and spend more time there.

After Chitwan John had arranged our transfer to Hotel Garden Pokhara, were we finally got to meet our host. Hotel Garden whilst in keeping with the local design is internally very westernised with western style toilets and facilities, everything you would expect from a Hotel in the UK. On the ground level there is a small reception area which leads to the main dining area which also functions as a Bar out with meal times, with an outside area should you wish to dine or drink al fresco.

Our Room was on the second floor, with a balcony over looking the view of the Himalayas and the spectacular Fish Tail Mountain. The room had a large double bed with ample wardrobe space, TV and a small desk and chair. We had an en-suite bathroom with western style toilet and dual bath/shower with a free standing sink. Whilst the room was not air conditioned a large ceiling fan seemed to suffice, Pokhara is a lot cooler than Kathmandu and less humid than Chitwan. A mosquito wall plug type thing was provided and we were given instruction in how and when to operate it and I can report we suffered no bites during our stay in the room.

We had opted for half board but occasionally opted to venture into Pokhara and John and Maya (his wife) were happy to point us in the right direction of good local eateries and one night a cultural show which we wouldn’t have missed. The food in the Hotel is of western standard using freshly sourced local produce, we were offered both western and local options and we choose to try some traditional Nepalese dishes. You really should not venture to Nepal without trying Maya’s Momo (a bit like Dim Sum) and Dahl Bhat (both of which came with a vegetarian option).

We were treated like Kings and Queens with John and Maya going way beyond what I would expect of a normal Hotel, it was obvious they wanted us to maximise and get the most of our time in Nepal and that we should leave only wanting one thing, to return. I can safely say they are great ambassadors for Nepal and Hotel Garden as we plan to return early next year (when it’s not rainy season). I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel garden to all, you will become part of a family that return many times, just like all the Para gliders that for half a year call Hotel Garden, Home.

Room Tip: Everything was provided. If you need to do laundry just ask, it's very cheap and a great service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Having stayed here previously (2009) I took my family back this year - two teenage daughters. As previously experienced - the friendliness and responsiveness of our needs by the owners and staff far exceeded the level of that we expected.

This hotel volunteers an unofficial tourist information service that we found to be faultless – voluntarily offering suggestions to our itinerary on how we make the best of our time in Nepal. John and Maya assisted with the sourcing of a guide through a local agency for a short duration Trek, This hotel has its own transport was which is larger and more spacious than local taxi's - in fact it's use was comparable to that of the local taxi's but you knew you weren't being ripped off! John & Maya arranged a visit to the Chitwan National Park - again we took the opportunity to employ their transport for the journey to and from the resort.

The rooms are very clean and secure; the hotel was busy for the duration of our visit a popular place in a nice location of the town. John on request made arrangements for our daughters to have a tandem paraglide flight which is event ran local to the hotel and location – they thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

With free Wi-Fi available it was great for the kids to provide regular feedback to their friends on the social networks sites of their daily itineraries and activities. It is Nepal and with the intermittent power outages being a way of life – there was always hot running water and great food available.

John, Maya, Cameron & your Staff - Thank you all for making our stay in Nepal a pleasurable & memorable one!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fly-boomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nepaljohn434, Owner at Hotel Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

myself , family and staff ,thank all visiting guest for feedback,we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us,and we hope to see you all again,this welcome is extended to you families and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 287 in Pokhara
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 106 in Pokhara
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#5 of 106 in Pokhara
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Pokhara Lodge
New Pokhara Lodge
#4 of 287 in Pokhara
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 106 in Pokhara
691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#17 of 106 in Pokhara
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Address: Phewa Lake Dam Side Pardi | PO Box 239, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Price Range: $36 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're walking from the domestic airport or the tourist bus park. HOTEL GARDEN is located in the in the quiet district of dam-side which is just a 10 minute walk from either arrival point, and we are just 15 minuets walk from lake side. All rooms have attached bathrooms with hot and cold running water, TV points and Free wi-fi connection. Our restaurant operates on a b&b set breakfast, and is open from 6am until 2100 hrs for evening meals. Our all day restaurant offers brunch & lunch and evening meals to passing guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing