We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dramatic Mountain Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kantipur Pokhara
Ranked #75 of 108 Hotels in Pokhara
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel boasts some interesting architecture and a lovely garden but the best thing about this hotel is its views of the surrounding mountain range and lake. Wow! They have a rooftop observation platform and the sunrise views of the mountains are worth waking up early to see. The Hotel also is conveniently located near a shopping area along the lakefront. There are plenty of good restaurants, gear shops and other attractions within easy walking distance.

Our group of seven stayed for two nights and the hotel is a good staging place for trekking. The rooms are decent. They are clean and have AC (if needed). The hot water worked in the showers. Several of the people in our group encountered some very hungry and persistent mosquitos and had a rough night trying to sleep. Be prepared.

The breakfast was just fine with a good selection of local and more Western-style food. The coffee with milk was great.

We left our luggage with reception while we went on our trek. Everything was delivered back to us in perfect condition.

Room Tip: We had a room at the very end of the hall which was quiet and had a nice view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cstryker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 124 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is placed at a kind of hidden street. It is hard to find without know beforehand.

They have a awesome view of the mountains. Really worth be a guest and take pictures during the sunrise, it is great.

The rooms are great, clean, offer extra blankets and towels.

Three things aren't so good.
1. I have been there on December, during the winter, and I had problems with hot water. It's because they turn off the boiler and just turn on twice a day (as the receptionist explained to me). I don't know if it's something particular of this hotel or if it happens in all Pokhara.
2. The restaurant was a little bit pricey for a ok food. You can have amazing food cheaper outside of hotel
3. The laundry is really expensive. Actually, it's the only thing I found expensive during my whole trip on Nepal. Just be aware, if you're backpacking it makes a significantly difference in your budget,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dai_Francis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Amazing view all around the place. From the Himalayas to the Lakes. Very well kept and totally worth the money. Very quiet and peaceful but if you want the noise, it aint that far either. Easy access to all the attractions, friendliest staff , the food was kinda different but hey its another country so ...I guess the difference comes with it

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I recently stayed for three nights at the Kantipur for official purposes and felt its quiet ambience and character was just the right fit. The furniture and interiors are ok, though for intense/focused laptop work, it could do with some 'overhauls.'

All in all, looks like a good place to bring your kids in and enjoy a nice weekend in Pokhara. Being just minutes away from Lakeside, this hotel is just convenient and perfect for a small trip. I'd surely recommend it!

Room Tip: Depends on the season - during summer, its gets HOT in the upper rooms but the views are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PraDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Nice, calm environment. Good service. Excellent location. Right on the edge of the main tourist area. Walking distance from Lake Fewa.
Rooms and specially the bathrooms could be a little cleaner though.
Internet speed is not that great, quite slow actually; but wifi connection throughout the hotel premises & even the garden.

Electricity is a problem throughout Nepal, but there is a generator in the hotel.
The only real problem: due to generator noise complaints from neighbours of the hotel, they cannot keep the generator running. This is a problem if you need hot showers.

Good hotel, but I think I might stay at a different hotel on my next trip.
Great view of the ice-capped mountains from the hotel balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure you enquire about theoperation hours of the electricity generator, so you can schedule you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adeeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The room is pretty fine. It has hot shower, WiFi, TV with many international channels. Beds and rooms are clean. The most interesting attraction is the view of the Everest from balcony and roof, specially during and after the sunrise.

The food is average. The menu is not so interesting and almost same for lunch & dinner. There is no swimming pool.

The hotel attendants are quite helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abulee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Not the best services are available but the catering staffs were awesome! The restaurant manager was the nicest man we've met in Nepal. It was all along average in terms of rooms, beds, toilets (creepy at some point!) and mountain view from hotel. Their food was okay. Three things were pretty poor: No electricity, No Wi-Fi in your bed and No clean room service. Otherwise if you stroll around the lake side..some views are breath taking!

Room Tip: Choose top floors for a view definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel White Pearl
Hotel White Pearl
#5 of 108 in Pokhara
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#17 of 108 in Pokhara
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 108 in Pokhara
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Queens Park
Hotel Queens Park
#56 of 108 in Pokhara
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lakefront (P) Ltd.
Hotel Lakefront (P) Ltd.
#57 of 108 in Pokhara
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Raniban Arcade
Hotel Raniban Arcade
#23 of 108 in Pokhara
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kantipur Pokhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kantipur Pokhara

Address: Lakeside, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 108 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range: $55 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kantipur Pokhara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kantipur Pokhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing