We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a little investment could have been lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kantipur Pokhara
Ranked #68 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Tourtoirac
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“With a little investment could have been lovely”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

On first arrival at the Kantipur we were most impressed. Its very pretty and the garden was lovely. We were given a room in one of the 2 little 'tower' in the middle of the garden. However on arrival in our room we were somewhat saddened by the extreme tiredness of everything. Nothing was actually wrong but everything just felt like it had seen better days. Someone had started to lower the ceiling in the bathroom (frankly the least of their worries!) but had left the framework and not replaced either the curtain pole or the shower curtain - luckily we found both in a cupboard.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and it is very near the Phewa Lake and the main tourist drag so we had an enjoyable visit. Not sure about the cost as it was included in our tour but I think they could do better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Annapurna range as it is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesTalloches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    27
    15
    10
See reviews for
32
39
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

pretty tatty but comfortable enough. In it's best light after visiting some horrendous tea houses. Pokhara was nice and the hotel was good enough but like everything in Nepal was broken

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Hotel the Kantipur is one of my favorite spots in Pokhara. Great service and friendly staffs. I stayed here with my wife. We had a great time. Going back to Nepal in a few years and will stay at Kantipur again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank max b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed during December, 2011. Basic hotel. Needs lot of upgrade. Breakfast was okay. Nice garden. Short stay is fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LonelyTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 days in this hotel. Nice mountain view from the room's balcony and corridor. You can also get a fantastic view if you climbed onto the rooftop. Hotel staff are nice and courteous.
Manager Ram Dhakal is very helpful and he makes your stay very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are served in a cosy restaurant, and if you like, meals can be served in the outdoor garden as well.
Restaurant Manager Binod Sapkota is very attentive and helpful too, and he is also a very good bartender. You can order some cocktails from him and he is really good at it.

Enjoyed our stay very much

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ysbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Too far from main pokhara drag. Room clean and comfortable. Decor variable (I stayed In Two rooms, one had hole in bathroom ceiling. Left a bag here when trekking, locked but things went missing from it. Would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pokhara hotels

American Canyon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stay in this befor & after the trekking, this hotel was very nice,but need to remodeling.Hotel garden was very nice & peace.The room was not good because room was not clean nice,just staff think that we clean the room.The AC dosen't work wellThe brekfast not so great.But after trekking this is good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.6 mi away
Kuti Resort & Spa
Kuti Resort & Spa
#55 of 105 in Pokhara
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#6 of 105 in Pokhara
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ice View
Hotel Ice View
#59 of 105 in Pokhara
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Utsab Himalaya
Hotel Utsab Himalaya
#39 of 105 in Pokhara
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#9 of 105 in Pokhara
635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Middle Path
Hotel Middle Path
#1 of 105 in Pokhara
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kantipur Pokhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kantipur Pokhara

Property: Hotel Kantipur Pokhara
Address: Lakeside, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kantipur Pokhara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kantipur Pokhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing