We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good sized rooms.”
Review of Hotel Stupa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stupa
Ranked #64 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location, good sized rooms.”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Stupa was our introduction to Nepal and at the end of our trek. As a first timer to Nepal, I have no comparison hotels or lodges to any of those we used, so anyone reading my comments should bear that in mind. I have however, travelled in 3rd world countries and Asia before, so am accustomed to some conditions that are common to these locations.

Nor can I comment on the value for money - it was part of our tour package.

The Stupa is a family run business and very well located near, but off, the main street in Pokhara.

My room on both occasions was an upper corner room facing West. It was large, clean, and the bathroom was adequate, although a little dated. A cupboard or bench surrounding the wash basin would have been useful. There is plenty of hot water. If you haven't been trekking yet, you may not understand the importance of this statement - but you will!

We were a group of 10 and had three breakfasts and two dinners at the hotel. The breakfasts were average (omlettes were a good bet - "soft eggs" a bit hit & miss with the boiled or poached).
The muesli with fruit & yoghurt was excellent. Give up on coffee until you get back to your home country if you're a latte/espresso afficionado. Try masala tea instead.

Apart from the dal bhat, the restaurant's dinner offerings were pretty ordinary. Very ordinary. Try Mike's Breakfast or one of the other restaurants along the Lake instead.

Something to note: If you use the Hotel's safe deposit boxes, take your own lock. I found, by error and to my dismay, that my key and that of others in our group fitted several other locks to the safe deposit boxes. I took this up with our tour leader and the Duty Manager at the time and replaced that lock with one of my own immediately. The problem may have been fixed, but as I didn't use the safe deposit boxes on our return, I have no way of knowing.

I used an internet cafe, so can't comment on the Hotel's wifi or internet service. Other than that, the staff were pleasant, occasionally confounded by what would seem a fairly ordinary request, but generally helpful.

The garden is a lovely refuge from the dusty streets and very pleasant spot for a cool drink and snack in the evening. We had a party there with our Porters & Guides at the end of our trek and it was the perfect venue.

As a base and somewhere to leave our luggage while we were on trek, the Stupa suited us perfectly. If I were to stay longer, I'd see what else was on offer - and may well end up back at the Stupa. As I said at the outset - don't have anything else to compare it with ... yet.

Room Tip: Ask for a top level corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bokhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here at the beginning and end of our trek. Weather was terrible upon arrival so no view to be seen in any direction but upon return we had lovely weather & a corner room with lovely views. Rooms were clean, could've done with a more updated bathroom and would've loved a soak in a lovely bath when we got back but alas, not to be!!! Breakfast cold apart from eggs (obviously cooked to order) both times.

Good location - easy walking distance to 'the strip' where there was plenty of choice of restaurants/shops.

Free WIFI in reception - always a bonus :o)

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hufflepuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights - very nice location just off the main strip. Rooms were clean - lots of hot water. Staff very accommodating. Would not recommend their restaurant (other then their breakfast which is included in the room rate) but there are lots of places to eat a block or so away. Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipartner48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Now Stay Over 20days from Mid April.
Every Day Beautiful Himalaya Mountain View in the Morning.
Mixed Classical and New Style Hotel, If You Stay in longer good.
Relax and Tea time in the garden its very good for you.
My Doter play in garden every day,very safety.
Security 24 Hours in Gate.
very Friendly Stuffs.
very recommend for Family and Kids.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnockingElectro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This hotel has the potential to be ok but the mix of bad attitude from the staff and the poor cleanliness and maintenance for the rooms let's it down. If nothing else available it is average but there are much better places in pokhara ffor the same money. I moved out after the first night

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here one night as part of a tour of Nepal package. Located on a quiet street, it’s a short walk (maybe 5 minutes at most) to the main part of town with loads of shops and restaurants.

Our room was basic. Hard bed, TV with BBC international as the only English channel, and a couple of chairs. No shower curtain in the bathroom. We had a balcony that overlooked the neighbor’s chickens and garden. But the large windows offered great views of the Peace Pagoda and even the top of “Fishtail” in the early morning (which the crowing chickens make sure you get up in time to see).

No wi-fi, no free breakfast, and absolutely no frills - just a fairly decent, basic accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peshtigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Pokhara is nice place for visit.. Hotel Stupa is in the main area of the city and there r a lot of shops around the place.. The service in the hotel was very good...

Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Madhusudhanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karuna
Hotel Karuna
#33 of 105 in Pokhara
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#18 of 105 in Pokhara
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuti Resort & Spa
Kuti Resort & Spa
#51 of 105 in Pokhara
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Queens Park
Hotel Queens Park
#56 of 105 in Pokhara
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Raniban Arcade
Hotel Raniban Arcade
#27 of 105 in Pokhara
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tara
Hotel Tara
#37 of 105 in Pokhara
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stupa

Property: Hotel Stupa
Address: | Lake Side, Baidam, Pokhara 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stupa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
where under the great location you'll get best hospitality, service and food at reasonable price. Located on a prime location right in the heart of the popular lake side haunt of the city, Hotel Stupa consisted of unique stone houses complemented by a distinct brand of hospitality.All Rooms offer magnificent views of the mountains and the Phewa Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stupa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing