We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location, serene cottages and rooms between snowy mountains and Phewa lake”
Review of The Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Castle Resort
Ranked #58 of 293 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is situated in the unique place in Pokhara - above the Phewa lake. You should take a taxi to reach it (only 10 minutes from Lakeside), or make your way up by foot (10 minutes).
There are 3 types of accommodation:
*) cottages (one of them has 2 floors)
*) rooms in main castle
*) rooms in annex-castle

There are many advantages of staying here

*) If you want to go there by foot with your baggage, the hotel staff will take your baggage up, so you can go freely by steep and very picturesque path.

*) VERY quite place. All the noisy Lakeside is fare down, so you can stay here in absolute serenity.

*) Same time it's not fare from Lakeside, it takes 30 minutes by foot

*) Swimming pool - not big by absolutely enough for relaxing

*) Beautifully designed restaurant with smoking and non-smoking zones

*) Quite enough variety of dishes in menu

*) Table for ping-pong (table tennis)

*) Place for badminton/volleyball

*) Every cottage is surrounded with rampant flowers, bushes, trees, with a grass garden, so you can sit on the garden and have a fantastic view on the mount lake

*) There is a room service. Every cottage has table and chairs inside room and on the private garden.

*) 2-floors cottage has AC and bathtub. Some of the cottages (maybe all, not sure) have hammocks.

*) If there is no central electricity, they use generator in the evening time.

*) The owner (Ireland and Portugal) are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 123 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

A beautiful place with scenic beauty and very warm hospitality ,very helpful staff ,MD Joe and Sofia attention towards the guests was also admirable. I cannot find words to express my gratitude. Thank you!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank vinnie898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was our second trip to Nepal but the first time at The Castle Resort-

we think it a perfect place and base for our trekking holiday-hosts joe and sofia were very helpful and we would certainly go there again

Beautiful view of the lake-very relaxing

The Irish pub really made it !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It was our first trip to Nepal, we (my wife Magda and myself, Clemens, from Nuremberg, Germany) did an 8 days' trekking in the Annapurna region and, before and after the trek, we wanted to relax a couple of days at the Caste Resort.
Honestly, this Castle Resort is a very cosy, nice place to stay; the outlook view to the lake and to the mountains is just breathtaking! Besides, the hotel owners, Joe and Sophia, we found to be extremely nice, polite and helpful. We were also lucky to meet Klaus and spent many hours filled with good conversation!
Last but not least the food is really excellent! Not only the traditional Dhal Bhat is very yummy and prepared in the hotel kitchen 'with love'; also the other dishes like the curries, vegetables and the selection of breakfast menues were very enjoyable! Not to forget the tasty lemon tea and the good 'Everest'-beer!
We really do hope to come back to Nepal in the not-too-distant future, do a longer mountain trek and relax at the Castle Resort!
I really can recommend the Castle Resort to anybody visiting the Pokhara region!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Hotel is placed nice, with a great view of Pokhara + lake, relaxing in a wondweful garden enjoying a good beer. Great place, we would for sure come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in The Castle for 4 weeks and we could not recommend it enough. The pool where on hot days a dip is a must, the lovely Branigans bar (complete with Branigan at the entrance to welcome you), good food, interesting conversations with the owner Joe and above all the fantastic views of Pokhara and Phewa Lake I would definitely recommend this resort. The grounds are also beautiful and there are plenty of facilities such a table tennis, badminton and trampolining to occupy any visitors with children. In short, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acalagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights after a volunteering for 5 days, the resort was a slice of heaven. The rooms are beautiful, very clean, the shower would rival any in Nepal and the food was incredibly fresh! I would recommend the pork- absolutely mouthwatering food!!
The owner Joe, a fascinating man was available to help any needs we had, and his staff are extremely polite and helpful. Taxis drop you of at the front door, or you can take the short 10 mins walk to stretch your legs.
I would definitely recommend staying here, - I will upon my return, Tks for the memories.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 293 in Pokhara
299 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Pokhara Lodge
New Pokhara Lodge
#3 of 293 in Pokhara
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 108 in Pokhara
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#5 of 108 in Pokhara
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#2 of 108 in Pokhara
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#10 of 108 in Pokhara
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Resort

Address: Lakeside, Pokhara-6, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Price Range: $39 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Castle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small resort with swimming pool, badminton, table tennis, darts with Pub & Restaurant. Accommodation, 4 family rooms, 6 double rooms, all with facilities. Total sleeping capacity 28 persons. Located on a small hill overlooking Fewa Lake and the Peace Stupa. 20 minute walk to the town center. We now have 2 suits 1 with a sitting room, sunken bath tub and up stairs 2 king sized twin beds. The other a sitting area 2 king sized beds separated by a curtain, idea for families or close friends, with a large bathroom.There is now a Road up to The Castle Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing