We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Nepali and Continental Food”

Moondance Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 303 Restaurants in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our own "Small Farm" just outside Pokhara fueled our passion for fresh ingredients, so most of our food is prepared without chemicals, additives and preservatives. Please join us in supporting local farmers keeping money in our own community and unnecessary food transportation. Here at Moondance, we passionately believe in respecting the food we eat and if we are controlling our own food chain, we can show maximum respect to our customers. We produce real food with real taste in as sustainable manner as possible. Famous for our BBQ Spareribs, sizzlers, fajitas, hamburgers, pizzas, pasta, vegetarian dishes and of course the Lemon Meringue Pie! Eat good - feel good - do good!
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent for Nepali and Continental Food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent choice for local and Western food alike. Large menu and all very reasonably priced. The restaurant gets busy for dinner so expect a bit of a wait. Lonely Planet recommends them for Pizza so I ordered a Spinach and Feta Pizza (after a week of curries a blessing).

The pizza dirt cheap (about 4.50 USD if I recall correctly) and quite large for a "small". It was good but a bit bland. Could have used more tomato sauce.
Everyone else in our group very much enjoyed their food and everything looked very appetizing. Large portions.

They also have a nice dessert and cocktail menu, including freshly ground coffee. The lemon sugar crepes were okay, should have ordered the brownie a la mode or one of the pies.

Definitely recommended. Although popular with tourists for good reason, I found the atmosphere very cozy and inviting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PulpFiction_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    490
    145
    54
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Touristy but good”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Literally the only people eating in this restaurant are tourists. It has an open air type feel with a nice big open center. The menu is varied and caters to tourists looking for comfort food. It also has a pretty decent Indian selection. The naan is great. Friends I was with also got some milkshakes and enjoyed them. I had the palak paneer and it was delicious. Keep in mind that you will wait a long time for your meal, so if you are in a rush try to go somewhere else. Also if you sit on the outside porch (very few seats) during the day, expect to see some hungry children show up right below you begging.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ihavethewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice place to recover after your trekking”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

After all those km of ups and down, Moondance is a very nice place to find some comfort, friendly atmosphere and good food. As many things in Nepal, I have noticed a price increase compared to 2010, but in general prices are still very affordable. It's a pity that they have removed the pool table though...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EnricoZ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in Nepal”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had two wonderful meals here and will be coming back for more. Great hummus, great pad Thai, great salads - we were also thrilled with the mojitos and the surprisingly smooth Indian wine. The ambiance and decor wouldn't feel out of place in Seattle, and the food is delicious even by New York standards. If you're homesick for real Western food, look no further.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaKnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We ate here twice during our visit to Pokhara following our trek, and couldn't fault it! It was nice to eat a fresh "safe" salad, that we were craving so much following the trek. The smoked chicken salad was delicious! Pizza was excellent and the happy hour mojitos were awesome, as were the coffee and desserts! The owner was a lovely, friendly guy. It was a great restaurant with a relaxing vibe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLO361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moondance Restaurant also viewed

 
Pokhara, Gandaki Zone
Pokhara, Gandaki Zone
 

Been to Moondance Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing