We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food and fast wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Orleans Cafe

New Orleans Cafe
Ranked #30 of 715 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, American, Cafe, European, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome food and fast wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had their hamburgers a few times and it was the closest thing to an American burger I've had in South Asia in a while. The sangria was pretty spot on as well. They have a great ambience and pretty fast wifi if you need to get any work done. A little expensive, but worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wenyanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    323
    140
    58
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hod hasharon israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“average food, pricey and bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The biggest disappointment food wise and service wise in Nepal.
Ill start with the positive, the location is good and the décor is nice and there are a few items that seem interesting on the menu
Now all the rest. I visited the place as a single person, I was placed to sit in a small room next to a table of 8 that was extremely noisy. Waited for the waiter for 15 min to ask to move, he didn’t come so I just stood up and headed to another table which they didn’t want me to take cause it is for 4. After I said that im leaving they allowed me to sit. The entire evening it was like that – good and attentive service to the big tables and minimal attention to the small tables.
The food and beverages are pricey compared to other places in thamel, and the food isn’t better. Its just average. Good but average
As it is in the vicinity of such better places like friends or OR2K it seems a waste to visit there

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karynrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
158 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A big letdown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had an office function here with more than 30 people. The food was horrendous! Fish tasted like cardboard, margaritas were watery, cheicken was so dry and hard it could have been used as a hammer.. A very bad experience overall and we swore never to make the same mistake again...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kundiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

New Orleans makes the best Western style breakfast in Thamel, hands down! Try the eggs hollandaise or even the full English!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rumpleforeskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best place for food in Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This restaurant is the only place that I return to during my 5 week stay in Nepal, it has brilliant atmosphere near night time and the burgers are superb and very filling. Both times I ordered the King burger with 2 patties and an ice cream blend. It is nice to find a place with nice music playing and good food to relax with.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psp405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Cafe also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to New Orleans Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing