We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European atmosphere in Thames”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Orleans Cafe

New Orleans Cafe
Ranked #30 of 715 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, American, Cafe, European, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“European atmosphere in Thames”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

atmosphere is good! a bit European... spanish people work here. food is good but not to the very best one.a bit slow... and no cheap at all...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ana192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    323
    140
    58
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Great Setting, Terrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The title says it all, great setting, good food (a little expensive for Kathmandu, but cheap for tourists), but terrible, terrible service. There's a couple of Spanish staff (perhaps the owners) who were lovely & attentive, but the local staff were shockingly bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Average food, good music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Food is not a great attraction at this lovely restaurant in the center of Thamel. We usually go at their weekly music night and gulp down a few cocktails and snacks there

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chandan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Terrible service and average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have been to New Orleans twice on this trip to Kathmandu. While the courtyard is a pleasant and relaxing place to sit, this is about the only thing New Orleans has going for it. The food is fine, if overpriced (but then all the very touristy western style restaurants in Thamel are), but what really lets this place down is the terrible service. On my first visit, after paying the bill I was short-changed by 100 rupees. Now I thought I will give them the benefit of the doubt as maybe it was a genuine mistake. However, when I pointed this out and asked for my correct change, nobody offered any kind of apology, to the contrary, the waiter looked at me as if I was some kind of difficult customer. If it was a genuine mistake, I would have been completely satisfied with a simple acknowledgement and apology, but the lack of this has led me to suspect that it may have been a more deliberate attempt to scam 100 rupees out of me. Now given that this is a plus plus restaurant adding on extra for tax and service (though the latter was not worthy of a tip) I thought this added attempt at getting an extra 100 rupees was pretty shocking. As I read another review about a group being over-charged, I would recommend that if you go here, you check your bill and change closely.

Still giving the place the benefit of the doubt and because I thought the food was not bad, I did return to New Orleans a second time. Again, food was fine, service was inattentive, unfriendly and perhaps bordering on the rude. If a restaurants automatically adds a 10% service charge, I expect there to be a bit more effort at actually delivering good service. The staff at New Orleans need to work on their service skills for this place to improve. Overall, nice setting, okay food, poor service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welsh_matt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosmopolitic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Good food and good atmosphere. Reasonable prices. Located in nice internal court yard. In some evenings live music is played.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oron67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Cafe also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to New Orleans Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing