We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and cheap drinks”

Green Organic Cafe and Farmers Bar
Ranked #21 of 747 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Nepali, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This cafe has its own farms in three different locations;from where the vegetables, grains, dairy, fruits are produced and delivered. The restaurant is two storied with garden terrace, hi-speed free wi-fi, bar, low sitting,natural decorated, clean rest room separate for female.Freshly prepared Soup and Salad are No. 1 here. Veg. and non-veg. both are welcome. Freshly squeezed seasonal juice, Lassie, Shake and the best menu of fresh herbal tea is the special here.Location is just opposite of Road house cafe, Thamel. Next to Hankook Sarang Korean restaurant.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Food and cheap drinks”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We ate here during a power cut so we couldn't really see what we were eating, but it tasted delicious. Fresh and tasty. The drinks are also cheap - you can get UK brand spirits here for 110RPS, less than they charge for local spirits! Great location and really nice feel. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sazzle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    87
    20
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pucol, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Its a shame that they decided to triple their prices at the same time that they split the servings in half! The soups are ridiculously small and expensive! If they grow their own i really dont get hlw it can be so pricey. Its a re shame because the staff ways used to be friendly and their terrance is awsome...but they have lost us as customers....their prices have gone iver the top. Its the 'organic fashion'

Helpful?
Thank namaste_moni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phanindra Raj P, Owner at Green Organic Cafe and Farmers Bar, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Namaste! And thank you for re-visiting our restaurant as well as spending your valuable time to make the above comments. Please permit me for little long writing this time as you have raised some serious issues.

ABOUT THE ORGANIC FASHION
This restaurant is established in 2004 by a small group of locals, the first of this kind in Nepal which has its own organic farms in three different locations. Kavre (Sanga village), Sindhupalchowk (Melamchi village) and Gorkha (Gaikhur village). There is not yet any other restaurant opened in Nepal serving maximum organic ingredients like Green Organic Café does. So we are not following any fashion but are very serious and responsible for what we have been doing from the beginning and showing the leader quality.

ABOUT THE PRICE INCREASED
The below points will clear you that how we are reliable and responsible to our valuable guests.
1) The prices are same from last January (2012). You have not mentioned when was your last time to visit our restaurant. We have raised around 15% price last year in 2012 January (after 2 years remaining same price) as there is inflation of money as well as increment in staffs salary, rents, electricity, water etc.
2) As most of the products are produced by ourselves, the farm lands are also rented, there are about 42 staffs who are involved in agriculture production and their salary increases every year by minimum 10%, the farms are out of the valley so transportation is involved and fuel is increasing every year. The organic way of farming is expensive because we have low amount of harvest and high cost for the production. We hope that in coming 2-3 years we could increase production as our staffs would be more trained and soil would go richer every year. In that case we could go for the price war with conventional products.
3) Our menu price which you see is the final price already includes 10% service charge and 13 % government tax (vat).
4) Point cards are there for frequent visitors and organic lovers.

ABOUT THE SERVING QUANTITY
Most of our guests are satisfied in our quantity. Our chefs are professionals and hold good experiences working in international service industry. We follow international standard of quantity per serving. It is very unhappy to see leftover in plates by serving more than standard quantity as well.

FRIENDLY STAFFS
Yes, we used to be having very friendly service staffs. Few of them have gone abroad for working. There is really high in salary for good staffs in abroad comparing with Nepali salary. And after working 2-3 years they apply for abroad. And especially our staffs are well trained so they get easily selected. But when they are back they give first priority to our restaurant for job. Same happened to our manager now. He was floor staff earlier and went abroad, got his skill increased and now became manager.
Beside that we have chefs working from long time even few from the establishment. So our taste is always remaining delicious and unchanged.

ABOUT TERRACE
We are in the process of maintaining our terrace. Very soon, you will be served in the beautiful terrace area.
Dear Guest, please keep visiting and keep suggesting us. Your valuable comments are always most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great salads and hot drinks”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Evening time it gets really stuffed here. The quality of the food is excellent. I loved all the salads I tried, though Himalayan spicy salad was really spicy! I loved the teas and coffees there too. The waiters are professional and attentive. The atmosphere is great with many seating options.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simona_ri_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maona, null, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good simple, hearty food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a fun little place with some healthy food options and good coffee. Some complain the prices are a little high but it is in a prime location and serving quality ingredients. The wifi is good and the service attentive. Its good for a meal or for a snack.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty and Just the Best”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The food is absolutely delicious. We have tried about 12 different dishes and they have all been exquisite. The ingredients are so fresh and tasty. The menu is so varied that there is something for everybody to choose from. The international dishes and local dishes are equally as delicious. The staff are friendly and polite. I would highly recommend. I really like the Nepali veggie set, sizzler and salads. They taste so divine. All the fresh juices were really nice as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Organic Cafe and Farmers Bar also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Green Organic Cafe and Farmers Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing