We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but we all got diarrhoea when there”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ganesh Himal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Ranked #19 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but we all got diarrhoea when there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel was really nice and welcoming. The rooms were noisy (I guess you get that in the middle of a city) and adequate. The bonus was a lovely garden to sit in. Prices were good, staff helpful.

We stayed for 3 nights after travelling around remote west Nepal and eating with locals the whole time, but it was during the time here in Kathmandu that we all got the runs. We only ate in the hotel, drank bottled water, avoided ice etc. Not sure what to conclude, but it stayed with us for several days. Food not cooked properly?

Free pick-up from the airport. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrUnbiased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    196
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
41
213
139
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

A nice hotel, close to the bustling old city center and the shops. Carefull, they have different quality rooms, some really nice, large, with bathtubes and a lot of space, others smaller, crampier, but the price is the same. You have to haggle for the best solution.

The garden is wonderfull, having breakfast outside is the best way to start your day. Although the food is ok, the waiter has a peculiar order in which he brings you the desired food.

All in all we had a great time there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollantaytamb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Having spent one night in an alternative hotel we chose to move due to the superiority of Hotel Ganesh Himal. The food is good and there is a lovely garden to relax and eat/drink in. There are a range of great facilities including free wifi and computers, money exchange, laundry, free mineral water refills, an in-house company that can organise tours, transport and activities for you and a backup power generator to provide a supply to the hotel during the rolling power cuts that constantly occur throughout Nepal. The rooms are good quality but mosquitos can be a bit of a nightmare so make sure you keep the netted windows closed. The hotel is situated in Thamel which is the main tourist hub in Kathmandu so you are never far from the action. My only qualm was some of the noise at night, mainly caused by dogs and car horns and therefore nothing that the hotel can prevent. Overall I would highly recommend the hotel and will definitely stay if I return to Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room towards the back of the hotel because the road and front gate can be noisy at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazza6890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
148 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

On the night of our arrival, we were delighted to see our appointed driver who collected us from the airport. We were also told beforehand by the manager to not give any tips on people who would offer to carry your bags which was great for there a handful who actually did that.

The location of the hotel is just perfect. Tucked in between the Kathmandu's Durbar Square and the famous Thamel district. It is a few minutes walk from the main road so guests do have a peaceful stay everytime.

The place is very homey. The lobby is adorned with Nepalese stuff everywhere. The staff were so great and answered every query we had and went out of their way to help us.

The garden was just peaceful. We usually have our breakfasts there and they have great selection of breakfast items.

The room was basic but the balcony was my favorite. Having our afternoon tea on the table overlooking some quaint and rustic neighborhood was nice.

Overall, I love to stay again in Hotel Ganesh Himal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lying back in the sun, while on the roof watching the Kites (bird) soaring through the air above Kathmandu, or just sat relaxing in the quiet garden. Sounds nice, right? Wonderful hotel, just off the main street so there's a lovely calm atmosphere. Staff are incredibly friendly, and very helpful. I actually stayed here twice, and would definitely go again. Only downside: some of the rooms don't have great 'soundproofing', but it's generally quiet, so it was never a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSwain91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I would like to re-write my review of two years as I am alarmed at the at some of the negative reviews.
I come to Nepal every two years for trekking. I have stayed in a variety of hotels in Kathmandu. I have stayed at the Ganesh Himal four times over three years. I have found everything about it to be excellent. The rooms are cheap $20-35 per night including tax. They are clean and quiet. Quiet is a relative term in Kathmandu. There will always be car horns and barking dogs. The staff are helpful and friendly and the food is good quality and cheap. Now for some caveats.

Kathmandu is an extremely noisy dirty city. The garden at the Ganesh is peaceful but you can still hear beeping horns and barking dogs. It is - comparatively - a little haven.

The service at the restaurant can be extremely slow but I have visited other restaurants in Kathmandu and the suffered the same issues. The Ganesh's restaurant is usually fine, the food is good and it is cheap.

I have never found and I want to emphasise the word NEVER found the staff at the Ganesh to be anything other that kind and helpful. Future stayers need to remember that this is a three star hotel and perhaps need to temper expectations accordingly. For me the staff do their absolute best.

Power cuts. Kathmandu suffers Pre-arranged power cuts. The Ganesh has a generator that supplies round the clock power and has WIFI in all it's room. I use the Internet constantly and have not experienced any problems.

To sum up. I would recommend the Ganesh Himal to everyone. Every visit for me has been perfect (taking into account the caveats mentioned above). I will stay there in the future without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try and get a garden facing room away from the street and generator if possible. I have marked the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Is a good choice, if you're looking at peaceful, small and warn hotel yet it still within walking distance to thamel market. the little downside is slight expensive and short distance small road that you have walk in.

Room Tip: if dun mind climbing 6th storey stair case, the higher floor room is next to balcony that is very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganesh Himal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganesh Himal

Property: Hotel Ganesh Himal
Address: PO Box 12547 | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganesh Himal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back and relax in one of the hotel's 11 guestrooms, all designed with guests' comfort in mind. Every room in the hotel offers guests television, hair dryer, internet access – LAN (complimentary), in house movies. This excellent hotel in Kathmandu also has 24hr room service, restaurant, bar/pub. Guests may make use of the hotel's excellent recreational and leisure facilities including garden. Offering guests quality accommodation since 2009, this hotel combines first-class service and the most modern facilities. To make your reservation at Hotel Backpackers Kathmandu, just enter your travel dates on our secure online booking form and submit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ganesh Himal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganesh Himal Hotel
Ganesh Himal Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing