We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Courtyard
Ranked #96 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed February 6, 2009

This hotel is so fantastic, it actually inspired me to join Tripadvisor because I just had to brag about it!

The Courtyard Hotel is fantastic. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Kathmandu! Wonderful hosts, beautiful rooms and perfect location. You really feel at home at the Courtyard!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ceri007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    84
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
182
122
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Prior to arriving at Hotel Courtyard, we had also stayed at Kantipur Temple house. Which gorgeous in terms of architecture. The place at Kantipur is quite romantic but nothing has beat (in terms of boutique hotels) Hotel Courtyard. The hotel is still under-going some major renovations, but the rooms that are completed are great, with European and local touches. If you are looking for a place that is detail oriented this is the place. Thick luscious towels ( a rare find in Nepal), shampoo, hand wash in the rooms!, the rooms smelled great and inviting and the lighting is pretty nice (as you will read -- shedding of electricity is a huge issue) and I loved the linens. I think I just ran and plopped on the wonderful beds!

Michelle really puts her heart into this place and it is evident with the great reviews and the people that come through the doors. She has done a stupendous job of welcoming people into the hotel and her home.

Cons: Since the place is so neatly tucked away its actually hard to find this place if you don't get airport pick up. (We had arrived from another town.) The signage outside the hotel is limited and not very large. We took a taxi here and almost no one knew where this was. The breakfast could have been a little bit better. But the best by a lot of standards in Nepal. Overall, this place was wonderful. Warm, inviting and cannot be beat. I will definitely come back in a few month's time.

I cannot wait to see the further developments to the place. I am sure its going to get better each time I go visit.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank catergrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Yes, that sums up our experience at The Courtyard. The Courtyard draws every guest in as a participant , in an experience that keeps building up, as new guests come and share not only of their travels but of the work they do in various countries. It makes the end of the day something to look forward to, as guests gather at The Library over drinks that Shyam and Bosc generously pour, and share some of their own unique pictures, experiences and insights about Nepal. At times, the hotel hosts biryani or dhal bhat dinner and our friends are welcome, too. So much of our lives are spent in hotels but this experience is truly unique. And it was so much fun, too.

We stayed for over two months and have gained a home and family in Nepal and many friends all over the world. Pujan and Michelle, the owners, go not just the second mile but the third mile to respond to every guest's individual interests and needs. Add to this, Pujan's sisters, Sabi and Vinny and their friend Rajendra as well as Uncle at Thamel House with whom we have shared delicious dinners. Such dedication to creating a wonderful experience for each guest!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

It was our first time in Nepal so we where unsure of what to expect,I had looked at both the Courtyard and the Dwarika hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to contact both!
I heard nothing from Dwarika,but I did get a lovely friendly e mail for the Courtyard, I took this as a positive sign and Michelle who owns the Courtyard offered to help plan our itinery and mountain flights and free airport transfers and from the moment I booked ,any questions I had where answered in such a friendly manner.
When we arrived at Kathmandu(beware the chap who holds you name card is not the driver of your car! he will take you to the car and then expect a tip, if you dont mind giving him a small tip let him carry your bags) the traffic is really bad, its dusty, and hectic, and if I am honest we both thought `we could be on a lovely beach somewhere!
Anyway when we turned into the hotel,we both breathed a sigh of relief! the hotel was beautiful and so peaceful.
The main thing I was to say about the hotel courtyard and this is the first time in all our years of travelling... is the sheer friendliness of the proprietor!(Michelle`s husband Pujan was absent so we didnt get to meet him)
The first evening of our stay we went out to a great japanese restaurant with Michelle and other guests! if was great to meet such nice people and hear about their day,the following evenings guests seemed to meet up in the library (bar)at 6pm, some just had one drink before they went out for the evening, some ordered takeways and sat on the comfy sofas or Michelle sometimes took us out to dine at local places!(the best was Thamel House, try the Ella,rice Liquor)
Dont get me wrong, you can do your own thing and totally miss the gatherings! but we did a bit of both and it made our holiday just perfect!!
The hotel is charming,the breakfast is fine and the location is perfect.
We did go to Dwarika(a good tip is to add it to your itinery when you go sight seeing, stop by for a drink and snack) it was very beautiful, but also it lacked atmosphere and it was all a bit snobby ! the position too,right out by the airport and on a busy road, there was no where to walk to around it!
We where happy that we had made the right choice in the Courtyard!
The mountain flight was wonderful,(tip, try and get seats at the back of the plane 7,8,9 as you get a clear view without the wings and props)
We also went up to Nargakot for 2 nights, we stayed at the club Himalaya, it was ok, we tried to get into the Fort hotel but it was fully booked.... looking at the 2 I would say the Fort is nicer! charming !!!
Tips..... take a mini travel kettle,tea bags etc; for your room,would have been nice to make a cuppa! be prepared to load shedding(electricity off for long hours),take healthy snacks to give to poor children, and do book your stay at the hotel courtyard!(p.s Michelle loves scented candles,you cant get them in Kathmandu, if you take her one she will be very happy)

  • Liked — the atmoshere
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank snodwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/India
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Easily the best experience that we've had with lodging anywhere in the world, the Hotel Courtyard gives you a home away from home and an instant family vibe that is incredibly welcoming. Michelle and Pujan are amazing people that run their guest house with openness, sincerity, honesty, and a fabulous sense of humor. The rest of the staff, particularly Sham, are also fantastic.

We met and hung out with Germans living in Bangkok, Canadians and Brits in Dubai, a New Zealander living in Abu Dhabi, Americans and Irish folks on holiday, and so many others in our two-week stay that at the end it was hard to part ways without feeling a bit emotional.

Most shortcomings come as a result of the infrastructure of the city (e.g., high levels of load shedding), and not from the management of the hotel. The rooms are immaculately clean. The bar/library (which has a plethora of wonderful books to choose from thanks to past guests and Michelle's voracious reading) is an excellent place to spend time, reading alone or chatting up the other guests. They even have a theater with surround sound and hundreds of flicks to choose from!

Always accommodating, anyone traveling to Kathmandu would be privileged to stay here. I really can’t say enough positive things about it.

  • Liked — the owners, staff, and other guests
  • Disliked — breakfast - not enough hot veg options
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gorigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My family and I stayed at Courtyard for 4 nights end dec; 2 at the start and 2 at the end of our first visit to nepal. i booked this hotel after reading all the reviews on TA and we enjoyed our stay here immensely.
I was pleasantly surprised when the owner Pujan, personally met us at the airport! And his wife Michelle was waiting for us when we got to the hotel, with a warm smile on her face. What a nice welcome!
Courtyard is a lovely hotel, the rooms are very spacious. We had two rooms which had separate sitting and dressing areas. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Bathroom was adequate with hot water and generous supplies of toiletries.
Breakfast was buffet-style in the dining room but the nicest room must be the living/library area. We met a lovely couple there, Tom and Mary, and had lovely evenings sharing stories and drinking wine.
Michelle has a vast collection of books and also travel guide books on nepal.
Locationwise, we think it is the best place to stay at. It is in Thamel but away from the madness and chaos. Conveniently located for good shopping and great dining.
Since this was our first trip to Nepal, I was unsure of what the attractions are though we had some ideas. But Michelle was great in replying to my emails and when we arrived, Pujan and Michelle sat down with us and we finalised our itinerary. Everything was taken care of; our hotels at Chitwan and Pokhara, transport and all. Prices were reasonable.
We will recommend Courtyard without any hesitations. Thank you Pujan and Michelle for making our stay at Kathmandu most unforgetable!

  • Liked — the personalised service of the owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank christinechin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Courtyard for two nights while passing through Nepal. It was a surprisingly most pleasant stay. The Hotel is being marketed by the owners as a "boutique" hotel which it is. What makes the hotel special is that the owners, Michelle and Pujan live on the premises and are very active in the management of the hotel. They run the hotel as though it is their home making all of the guests feel welcome and socialize with the guests thus getting the guests to socialize amongst themselves. If traveling independently this is an added benefit to staying at the Courtyard.

The rooms are modern and clean. A plentiful breakfast is included.
And the localation cannot be beat--centrally located in Thramel.

Michelle will arrange any type of activity and has her list of where to eat in Thamel which is right on the mark.

I highly recommend the Hotel Courtyard.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ugaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florid Nepal
Hotel Florid Nepal
#49 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#13 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#89 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courtyard

Property: Hotel Courtyard
Address: 67/27, Z-Street | Thamel GPO Box 463, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East meets West in this 25 room boutique property. Built in traditional Newari architecture with European- inspired interiors, this hotel combines old-world elegance with the comforts of modern times. The Hotel Courtyard is located on a quiet street in the heart of the popular tourist district, Thamel ,steps away from many restaurants, shops and popular Kathmandu tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hotel Kathmandu
Courtyard Kathmandu
Kathmandu Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing