We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome in Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Courtyard
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A warm welcome in Kathmandu”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I had my second experience of this hotel in October The hotel is well located and cosy, especially the library where you can meet the other guests and enjoy drinks and this is a strong point of Courtyard Hotel. However I would like to give a special mention to Banu and Dev the front desk staff who were always very helpful and friendly. Thank you Banu and Dev!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    84
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
182
122
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rishikesh, Uttarakhand, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I only had a weekend in Kathmandu and for so many reasons was delighted that I picked The Courtyard to stay - and would happily have stayed much longer. The owners have not only created a really lovely place, they have given much thought to both big and small details. My room, on the fourth floor overlooking the courtyard (advantage - always interesting view; disadvantage - faces north so less sunlight) was beautifully furnished with a really great bed and wonderful wood block floor - and oh joy of joys, the bathroom had a bath tub... The room was lovely and warm at night thanks to an oil-filled radiator and more than adequate quilt.
The staff were always helpful and friendly and the location is excellent. Whether you're a couple wanting a romantic stay, a single traveller or a group of friends, this hotel is about as perfect as its possible to be and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalamadhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

i liked staying there for the quietness of the location: though it is in central thamal, the hotel is a bit inside an alley and therefore very peaceful. That also means that at night due to the poorly lit roads one does not always feel comfortable. The hotel itself is nice and typical, made of red bricks and it has lovely wood carvings and a small but well landscaped garden. Rooms are large and comfortable, tend to be a bit damp if facing north, so choose your room well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

nice owners - nice rooms - welcome drink - diverse group of visitors
i felt very safe and comfortable here --- it is small and quaint and the owners know just about everyone staying here since they are around often. They even have evening dinners that are wonderful.

Room Tip: there is a lot going on .. but with the fan going I heard very little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I instantly felt welcome and part of the gang when I stayed at the courtyard before and after an expedition. Pujan and Michelle get so involved with their guests cooking great meals and joining in drinks that a stay here turns into a really social experience - very unique! The hotel is stunning and packed with charm (and luxury at the same time), is well located in the heart of Thamel and although the rooms are great (both spacious and comfortable) I always felt drawn outside as there are so many different areas to relax whether it be in the movie room, "living room" where all the books and DVd's are, the sofas in reception or the various seating options in the courtyard. I will definitely be back in Kathmandu in the near future for more mountain kicks and when I am back I will definitely go back to the courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

yep, just stayed here a second time and it's just as good as before, with Michelle able to accomodate my change in plan. Main blessing is that you'll always get hot water for a shower. Also beds are good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stravaiging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I read hundreds of reviews researching Kathmandu hotels and decided to go with Hotel Courtyard. It is a very unusual situation as the owners practically hand pick who they accept in the busy season. As a result over 80% of the guests are return customers, a truly unique arrangement.

This hotel is like a quiet oasis in the middle of the frenetic mess that is Thamel. The rooms are elegant, spacious and reasonable compared to other luxury accommodations in Kathmandu. Yes there are cheaper place too but they don't have anything like the rich social scene found here. If you need to get somewhere rather than a ride in a local rust bucket of a taxi you can make a reservation for one of the hotel's fleet of Mercedes including rides to and from the airport.

Michelle and Pujan are very gracious hosts but they're not for everyone. If a guest has unreasonable requests or complains about trivial things the hospitality may run out. I found myself enjoying the arrangement as I too have little patience for guests with bad attitudes.

The people I met at the hotel were fascinating! Folks from all walks of life get together each evening to dine out together or stay in and feast on Pujan's delicious culinary creations. Returning to Kathmandu I would never consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are huge and with a king-size bed for just $75.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#20 of 203 in Kathmandu
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Guest House
International Guest House
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courtyard

Property: Hotel Courtyard
Address: 67/27, Z-Street | Thamel GPO Box 463, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East meets West in this 25 room boutique property. Built in traditional Newari architecture with European- inspired interiors, this hotel combines old-world elegance with the comforts of modern times. The Hotel Courtyard is located on a quiet street in the heart of the popular tourist district, Thamel ,steps away from many restaurants, shops and popular Kathmandu tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hotel Kathmandu
Courtyard Kathmandu
Kathmandu Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing