We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best choice in Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Courtyard
Ranked #89 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
tel aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best choice in Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We landed at the Courtyard hotel only by coincidence, after having spent our first night on the city at a 5* hotel. And lucky we were! This is a hotel with character, most pleasant atmosphere and friendly and very forthcoming service. Our rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated, showing the touch of some one who cares. We booked this hotel for an additional 2 nights after returning from our trek, and again enjoyed every minute of our stay there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leila65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    84
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
182
122
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights and returned for 2 more. Rooms are large, clean and very well accessorized. Staff are kind and helpful. Management are present and really friendly. Besides the bar, restaurant and chill-out corner, the ground floor has a huge quiet library that also contains a large variety of DVDs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SHagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, and are satisfied with the choice. The hotel has typical nepali architecture, a nice courtyard full of greenery and with water features. It feels like an oasis from the chaos and dust of Kathmandu. Location is quite good, not very central but still at walking distance from Thamel and uts restaurants/shops etc. materasses could be better, so the towles and linens. Nice service, as anywhere in Nepal, it comes with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Courtyard is great, due mostly to it's namesake, the courtyard. A lovely sanctuary from the hubbub of Thamel. Good location, good value for money, clean and comfortable rooms, nice little library, great breakfast. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambitiousmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at courtyard hotel before and after a trekking tour. The owners are wonderful and lovely people and make you feel welcome and relaxed in a busy place like Kathmandu! I had an amazing spacious room, with a huge bed. It is super quiet there, off the main road but everything is in walking distance. I can only recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a clean, quiet and beautiful place to stay. (Also, the banana pancakes for breakfast are just amazing!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMB Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I don't know how many times I've recommended Hotel Courtyard in the years since my husband and I stayed for a full two weeks. It's a wonderful place that's just off the beaten path in Kathmandu's Thamel neighborhood -- which means close enough to the action, but out from under the noise that's a block or so down the street. Hotel Courtyard is owned and managed by a couple, a Nepali and his American wife, who are two of the kindest, most inviting, and helpful people I've come across during my travels. They can help arrange anything you'd want to do in Nepal for an affordable price. Also, they treat their guests like family -- organizing group dinners or just hanging out in the bar or library -- but with no obligation to do so if you just want to find your own way. There is no better place to stay in Kathmandu than here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_citizen_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an extraordinary hotel in the centre of Thamel - quiet, charming and the showers are hot.

We stayed on either side of a volunteer build in rural Nepal and it was a real treat. Michele and Pujan are gracious and enthusiastic hosts, always keen to help wherever possible.

The courtyard offers a pickup service from the airport and this is a huge help. Arriving at Triphuvan international airport for the first time (or even when know what to expect) and walking outside is a very confronting experience and having someone waiting with your name on a card is such a good start.

We stayed in room 301 which was a gorgeous large room overlooking the internal courtyard which is the wonderful protection from the madding crowd of Thamel.

The hotel is centrally located and is perfect for exploring Kathmandu combined with a sense of sanity and privacy not easily achieved in central Kathmandu!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZigsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florid Nepal
Hotel Florid Nepal
#49 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#12 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#91 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courtyard

Property: Hotel Courtyard
Address: 67/27, Z-Street | Thamel GPO Box 463, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East meets West in this 25 room boutique property. Built in traditional Newari architecture with European- inspired interiors, this hotel combines old-world elegance with the comforts of modern times. The Hotel Courtyard is located on a quiet street in the heart of the popular tourist district, Thamel ,steps away from many restaurants, shops and popular Kathmandu tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hotel Kathmandu
Courtyard Kathmandu
Kathmandu Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing