We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Ranked #39 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Whuffman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hotel Himalaya is a great choice for hotel in Kathmandu. It is clean, well kept, friendly staff, and has the feel of an American hotel, which is refreshing after being in the mountains/community service project as I had been for the last 2 weeks before I stayed there.

The area is bustling, with a mind-boggling amount of shops/places to explore that are all in very close distance to the hotel, but you do not get the overwhelming Asian-city-living sense when you're on the property.

Lastly, I had not been able to check email or be on the internet in over 3 weeks and they were very accommodating in providing me computers with fast internet connection...as well as a steady flow of very reasonably priced beers while I browsed.

Please hits all of the pros that you'd want in a downtown Kathmandu hotel, with none of the cons.

Room Tip: I slept alone in a room that had 3 nice beds in it, so it felt like a waste, but I'm not particu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whuffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    182
    39
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
98
74
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

nice and clean hotel with airco, hot water only between 6-9h. Can be verry noisy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliaazzouzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

It's located in mid of market and you can walk to any shops downtown Kathmandu. It's just one block away from busy street. Quiet enough during the night. I came in with family in January 2012, and stayed for 2 days. The price is pretty good. Lobby is a little cold. Love the free internet even the signal strength poor @ 2nd floor. Breakfast food is so- so. I recommend you can walk to Gaia just 30 meters right out of the hotel for breakfast, roughly ~3USD per person. Would like to re- stay next time when I re- visit Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Any room is quiet enough as the hotel is off busy treet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j3ffyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here for several days at the beginning and at the end of my 60th birthday trip to Nepal. The location is one small block parallel to a main street and thus not a crouded or loud street. Thamel shopping and eating is short walking distances. There is a pleasant enclosed sitting area at the front entry with tables, for nice morning coffee or afternoon drinks. Met several guests here for enjoyable conversations. Nice breakfasts in the restaurant and great service overall, including storing some early trip purchases for pick-up later after travel to Chitwan and Pokhara. Free internet at two computers on second floor. I would stay at this enjoyable hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack_Willard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here twice while being trekking in everest Region and having a few relax days in pokhara. This is a great hotel in the center of Thamel, but not on the main streets so you won't be disturbed by street noise. The rooms are very big, perfectly clean and have a magnificent bathroom. I stayed before 2 nights in 2 different hotels, they just costed about 5US$ less per night but have been very disappointed especially in comparison with holy Himalaya.
This is a hotel where you can't do anything wrong!

Room Tip: ask for a standard room, they cost about 35US$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmorandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

For a hotel in the center of Thamel - yet just off the busiest street and thus quieter - this place is a gem. Very pleasant and comfortable rooms, good hot water (unless it is before 6am), and short walk to Thamel's shops. Also a great restaurant - Gaia - at the end of the street. If one does not want to pay 5-star prices, but can afford more than a standard "budget" hotel, Holy Himalaya is the middle ground. Also was just a few doors down from our trekking company, adding to the convenience. We stayed for 4 nights, including an unexpected extension of 2 nights due to no flights to Lukla, and the hotel accommodated us!
There are 4 computers on the 1st floor providing free Internet access for guests. Internet access was very reliable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter as street noise farther below. We found the 4th (top) floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This hotel lists its rates in EUR which I did not realise when I was comparing offers and websites from similar hotels mentionned here on tripadvisor. So while I thought I had picked the cheapest option I actually picked the most expensive one. That is off course my own (rather stupid) mistake. On top of that they charge a high rate converting EUR tot NPR which means you end up paying more then that EUR amount.
Overall conclusion after a 3 night stay: the hotel is not bad but much to expensive compared to similar hotels in the Thamel area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9721478902, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holy Himalaya, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
It was very nice to serve you at Holy Himalaya
Preferably we request our valued clients to make payment in convertible currencies only(i.e dollar or euro). Not in Nepali (Since exchange rate fluctuates everyday).
Thank you for your comments. Definitely we will work on it.

Regards,
Holy Himalaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
#26 of 198 in Kathmandu
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
0.0 mi away
Maya Boutique Hotel
Maya Boutique Hotel
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holy Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holy Himalaya

Property: Hotel Holy Himalaya
Address: Brahmakumari Marg, Kathmandu 97701, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holy Himalaya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holy Himalaya puts its guests right in the heart of Kathmandu's Thamel district, within walking distance to numerous bazaars, cafes and restaurants.Our hotel architecture is a traditional Nepalese Pagoda style with a multi-roof design. The hotel has 56 rooms which includes 43 deluxe rooms, 2 suite rooms and ONLY! 8 Standard and 3 budget rooms are without A/C. Mornings at the hotel start with an optional yoga class, and in the evening, guests can enjoy Nepalese food in the hotel's restaurant or savor a drink at the bar and rooftop terrace with magnificent views over the city and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Holy Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Himalaya Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing