We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Kathmandu hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Ranked #39 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
RSA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Kathmandu hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very good value for money, various room sizes and rates to suit most travellers. Quiet hotel one minute walk from main Thamel shopping. Ample free internet and sim cards and great staff. Clean, modern rooms. Roof garden. Every stay has been great so far and the spacious hotel gets better each time I visit. Safe luggage storage while one is away on trek/climb. Helpful owner can arrange treks/flights in Nepal/Tibet. Highly recommended and the breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OffroaderRsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    182
    39
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
98
74
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
161 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We are a couple doing a RTW travel. Came to Kanthmandu to "rest up" between India and China.
For all you future hotel operators come to this hotel to see how to run a great hotel. Everything simply perfect. Very accomodating owners, great staff. Lovely, modern, spix and span clean rooms. Various rooms and rates, so something for everyone. Free internet, wifi and free bottled water on top of it. Great location as it's one block off all the street craziness and noise so very quiet. We stayed almost a month and it really became "home". Thanks folks for a restful and wonderful "rest stop"!
If in Kathmandu for a night or more this is the place! Understandably its very popular, so book ahead.

Room Tip: The east facing rooms get great sunrises for all you early-risers and more quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv-Yafo, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

It's a very nice hotel. Good bed and shower. very nice service for very reasonable price.\
very good value for money.
They have a nice service that you can store your luggage while you go out for trekking.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zohar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I have stayed at Holy Himalaya several times over the past few years, and each time it gets better and better. No matter what time of year, the service is super friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the ambiance is peaceful and zen. The hotel is located on a side street off one of the main drags of Thamel, a short walk from the main chowk (Kathmandu guest House), and right down the street from ever-popular organic cafe, Gaia. Because it is not on the main road, it is quiet, and the view from the rooftop garden is a great way to start your day.

The affordable price has me always coming back for more, business and personal, and the staff is amazingly supportive and helpful of anything you might need from pointing out something on a map to helping you source something random. It's a family owned business and it shows in their hospitality.

They also just bought the hotel next door and are in the midst of renovating it to be twice the size they were originally! They now have 50 new rooms... Which are already filled to the brim during tourist season. There is a reason for that! Book ahead!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyHarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

In general I had a great time in this hotel. The staffs are all helpful, attentive and really friendly. When I told the reception that the toilet in my room was not flushing properly, they fixed it right away for me.The staffs are the best part of this hotel.
For the rooms, it is not bad. The beds were comfortable enough and the room was spacious and had basic facilities. However, there were no amenities such as shampoos and I thought that considering the facilities and amenities, it maybe a bit overpriced.
Breakfast was ok and the location was great in the heart of Thamel. They also had Free Internet which was working properly.
In general, I would say it was a cosy and nice hotel with excellent staffs and would like to stay again if I had a chance.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TG641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We used Eco Trek for our trip to Nepal this December. It was a very good choice and I think we were lucky to visit the country and to choose the right people. The hotel (Holy Himalaya) is 3 star, but is run efficiently: free internet, good location in Thamel, friendly and warm staff, clean, hot water (you need it in a city like Kathmandu). The program for 8 nights was good enough to cover major attractions in Nepal and enjoy natural beauty and ice peak mountains, although If I'm to go back once more, will spend more time in the far villages, but will probably be through the same people. I would like to thank Jyoti (and family), Rabi and Saroj for making it a memorable trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmedhamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Hotel rooms are pretty much the same everywhere; what makes a place special is the service and location . Both are amazing in Hotel Holy Himalaya. The manager, Mr. Jyothi welcomed us to the hotel, and we were served nepali chai while they checked us in. The rooms are clean and comfortable - nothing amazing, but then,you don't come to a new place to stay in the room. Breakfast is complimentary. Jyothi , and his colleagues (I'm very sorry, I've forgotten their names) treated us like family. They gave us advice about sightseeing, told us where to shop, which restaurants to visit and so on.
Gaia , a good mid price restaurant with all day breakfast is 10 steps away. Thamel House Restaurant , with it's authentic Newari food, cultural program and friendly service is a 8 minute walk away. Do visit the Kaiser cafe at the Garden of dreams - a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
On the main Jyatha Thamel road outside the hotel, there is a phone booth and internet browsing centre - The proprietor cheats big time, and gets violent if you argue! Avoid!
If you are travelling from India, when told that the fare or the cost of something is x rupees, always clarify that it is Nepali rupees. A common con is for a taxi driver to say the cost of the journey is 200 rupees, and then demand Indian rupees at the end of the trip.
Indian Rs. 100 notes are accepted everywhere, but I believe it is illegal to carry Rs 500 and Rs 1000 notes.
Don't miss Bhaktapur, Nagarkot, Patan, Pashupathinath and Boudhnath.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
#26 of 198 in Kathmandu
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
0.0 mi away
Maya Boutique Hotel
Maya Boutique Hotel
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holy Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holy Himalaya

Property: Hotel Holy Himalaya
Address: Brahmakumari Marg, Kathmandu 97701, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holy Himalaya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holy Himalaya puts its guests right in the heart of Kathmandu's Thamel district, within walking distance to numerous bazaars, cafes and restaurants.Our hotel architecture is a traditional Nepalese Pagoda style with a multi-roof design. The hotel has 56 rooms which includes 43 deluxe rooms, 2 suite rooms and ONLY! 8 Standard and 3 budget rooms are without A/C. Mornings at the hotel start with an optional yoga class, and in the evening, guests can enjoy Nepalese food in the hotel's restaurant or savor a drink at the bar and rooftop terrace with magnificent views over the city and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Holy Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Himalaya Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing