We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kathmandu Peace Guest House
Ranked #93 of 438 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay there”
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Had booked for one week but left after 2 nights to a MUCH better and also cheaper guest house 2mins away. Stayed here last year for a few nights (bc the organization I came with puts you there) and it was ok (same toliet/curtain issue as described below but because I knew I would be leaving soon it was bearable).
First off, they said they would pick me up at the airport and when I arrived there was someone w/ my name on it as per email but the taxi driver didn't even know the way hence I got a little concerned and asked who sent him-didn't understand me so I mentioned the names of the staff there and he didn't know them--got to the guesthouse to be told that costs 500NPR and I said no the guest house will pay (which they did) only to be charged this when I checked out (that is my fault as I didn't read on site that airport pickup is free only if you book for more than 2nights--seeing as this is my 2nd time to nepal I'm pretty sure I could have got to the guesthouse myself for less than 500)...got to the room, decent enough just old/worn out...however "24hrs hot water" I do not think so also the toliet didn't even flush properly (at all, had to fill the bucket to flush toilet) as well as the curtains being fully see through and considering my room was by the staircase not all that ideal is it! When ya take a shower, water goes everywhere which is also a pain. Also my room didn't even have a place to store clothes such as a cupboard/drawer-which might be useful for ppl staying a longer period of time.
--Didn't eat the food this time but first time I did and it was good, nice view from the rooftop as well.
--Room did have a light running on a generator when loadshedding occured just not in bathroom.

Wouldn't rec. this place as there as so many other guesthouses nearby that are cleaner, newer, cheaper and have 24hr hot water

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nz_er2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upreti, manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this review, March 13, 2010
Dear Guest
Thank you for your valuable review on tripadvisor. According to your advised , we are immediately check and fixed.
We have different room have different tariff. Further next time if you want to our service again we are sure we will be ready to make you happy And also we don't have problem for the hot shower .
Thank you for your time.
Bikash Upreti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
1
26
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Although the rooms are somewhat old fashioned and worn out, they are spotlessly clean and the service is very good. The location is great, just at the edge of Thamel and about 5 minutes walk from the main shopping streets, bars and restaurants. There's also a rooftop balcony. The only criticism is that the toilet was a bit leaky. Water ran out of it every time it was flushed. A plumber is required.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robotmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

The first time I arrived in the country, I was very apprehensive about what to expect and Kathmandu Peace Guest House made a lasting first impression. Located on the outskirts of Thamel, it's close enough to the action without being in the thick of it. The management, especially Bikash, are very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean and the food is good. Great value!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusheeMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed a couple of nights in Kathmandu before and after the Annapurna Circuit. The Kathmandu Peace Guest House was a safe heaven to stay in walking distance to Thamel, but in a very quiet place. The rooms were big, simple and bright with a lot of windows and had all you need (even Internet access in your room). The staff was helpfull and our gear stored safely while we were trekking. The laundry though was cleaner after having it washed in a specialized place in Thamel (wash maschine) than by the service offered by the hotel (hand wash).

We found it a wonderful place to stay and will come again.

Andreas, Switzerland

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwitzerlandAndreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upreti, manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this review, November 27, 2009
Dear sir/madam
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com, we are very happy to see you soon.Thank you again for you like our service.hope we will see you again.
with best regard
bikash upreti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We stayed at the Kathmandu Peace guest House for two weeks before heading out on a 22 day trek around the Annapurna Circuit and ABC Base Camp Sanctuary trek. We had a fantastic two weeks exploring Kathmandu and we had a fantastic and warm experience with Bikash and his accomidating staff. We left many items with him before leaving on the trek and returned to find them safetly stored and returned to us in perfect order. i would highly recomend the Kathmandu for anybody who is travelling to Nepal.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferroli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upreti, manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
Dear Sir / madam
Thank your very much for your review on tripadvisor.com and like our service and safetly stored.Your review is very valubale for us.Hope we will see you soon.
Thank you again for contributing your time !
With best regard
bikash upreti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I stayed 2 weeks around the Kathmandu valley last october and after staying at several places in Thamel I found by chance the lovely KTM peace guesthouse, in a quite location just out of the busy Thamel (5 mins walk). A really relaxing place; clean and with a manager always ready to help. My room had a nice sunny balcony, a private bathroom with hotshower (which is not common in places I went before), and a television to get some news from outside this world. Nice place and good value for such a package. I recommend it !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurentNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upreti, manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
Namaste !
Thank you for choosing Kathmandu Peace Guest House .We are very happy to see you reviev on trip advisor.com.Hope you enjoy and very happy with us.
Thank you again for contributing ! Your review is very valuable to us.
With best regard
Bikash upreti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2009

The Kathmandu peace guest house is a perfect place to stay in Kathmandu for western travelers. It's located in a super tourist friendly part of Kathmandu, Thamel. The streets are busy with rick shaws and shops but the kathmandu Peace guest house is just far enough from the chaos to provide peace and comfort. The staff there treats all guests like family and are always happy to serve you. Prices are also extremely reasonable, at about 10 USD per night. It is a great destination for anyone traveling to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylemac177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upreti, manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
Dear kyle
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com. I am very happy to see your review and like our service.
Hope we will see you again at Kathmandu Peace Guest house.
Thank you !
With best regard
Bikash Upreti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 202 in Kathmandu
603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Garden House
Kathmandu Garden House
#45 of 438 in Kathmandu
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pilgrims Guest House
Pilgrims Guest House
#8 of 438 in Kathmandu
367 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Peace Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Peace Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Peace Guest House
Address: Pakanajol (Thamel) | Ktm-16, Ganeshraj Marg., Kathmandu 5350, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Peace Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A HOME AWAY FROM HOME "KATHMANDU PEACE GUEST HOUSE is located is a quiet area: just 5 minutes walk from Thamel tourist junction,on the fringe of the Thamel. It is a close from kathmandu royal palace and monkey tample.We assure you for the clean,safe,totally free of pollution and traffic noise staying.We provide accommodation at highly competitive rates.green garden around the guest house with roof top garden terrace provides relaxing enviroment with good view of himalayas and monkey tample,''''''''COME AS A GUEST GO AS A FRIEND '''''' '''Your Satisfactio is Our Motto''' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Kathmandu Peace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Peace Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing