We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Guest House
Ranked #36 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Was overall disappointed with this property as was built up much higher than it is by the reviews. I agree the owner is very helpful and if I was only grading him I would have given higher stars.

The property is in the budget rooms section and compared to other budget rooms in thamel is a a little over priced for what you receive. Rooms are very small bathrooms are the smallest I have seen. We did a walk around thamel the next day and seen a few properties at the same price with much bigger rooms and larger bathrooms. We found a few rooms of simpler standard in size at about half to two thirds the price. Rooms where clean but we found that to be the case in most rooms we looked at.
You needed to book breakfast the night before. The roof top terrace is open but does not serve food other than pre ordered breakfast.
Also the mattress are very hard making for not a good nights sleep.
During a power cut there is no back up light in bathroom. As bathroom so small you need to close door to shower if no torch your showering in the pitch black.

Overall not bad but you can def get more for the amount charged.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    54
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
67
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked our room a couple of days prior to arrival from Pokhara after our trek at Annapurna Circuit in early Nov 2012.

We arrived and was given room 306, a standard twin bed room. The bathroom was just outside our room, so it was still pretty convenient. Room was basic, but comfortable and clean.

Our room wasn't big, in fact, a little cramp. It had a ceiling fan, 2 single beds, 2 sofa chairs, a small side table and a clothes stand. Bathroom is basic, but hot water was good enough though it took a while to get heated up.

The electricity supply is not very constant, so we do get blackout pretty often during our two nights stay here. Once electricity gets cut off, wifi gets cut off too. However, the room does have a light that is connected to the backup generator. So we weren't in total darkness. If I didn't remember wrongly, the bathroom is also fixed with a backup light, in case of a blackout. Wifi is only accessible at lobby area. Our room is on the 3rd floor so there was very very weak wifi signal. Owner is pretty friendly.

Overall a good and affordable choice to stay in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

It is evident that the owner takes pride in his guesthouse- everywhere from reception to rooftop is well maintained and clutter-free. Room is clean and comfy, although bathroom is slightly cramped (even for an Asian girl like me). Really love the location.. just a few steps from main street where you can find endless shopping/ food outlets!

But this place is slightly more expensive compared to other thamel guesthouses, as price does not include breakfast, neither is there complimentary pickup from airport.

Best surprise- nice view of snow-capped mountains at the guesthouse rooftop (even though you are in thamel)!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We (family of four with two small children) stayed at the Dolphin before and after our trek in Nepal.

It was our third time in Kathmandu, so we have a bit of experience and know what guesthouses in Thamel are like.

Location:
The Dolphin is located on the northern edge of Thamel. Close enough to walk to restaurants and shops, but far enough to be away from the noise. Perfect location!

Host / owner:
The gentleman who runs the Dolphin has been extremely helpful in all situations. Good tips on what to see around town, very friendly and trustworthy. I caught a virus and spent two days in bed with a fever ... again, he suggested a pharmacy and helped in any way possible.

Cleanliness:
The rooms are very clean, absolutely no complaints.

Value:
The Dolphin is not the cheapest option in Thamel, but very very reasonably priced, considering what you get.

Oh, and the roof terrace is beautiful as well. We sat up there a few evenings to watch the sunset ... perfect location for our kids to catch up on their schoolwork as well.

All in all highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TueFlieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We provisional decision to stay in one night in this hotel, because there is no reservation in advance, so the rest of the public bath room available, the room was clean and comfortable, and the guesthouse owner to our travel plans professional advice, such as taxi fares should be How much is reasonable and which side you can change money change to a better rate, during trekking Kathmandu Valley, the guesthouse owner free of charge to help us look after large luggage and more days! very recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riedstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to the guesthouse for 3 times now and have always been very satisfied with it.
It's feels like a home away from home as Mr. Surendra Joshi makes everybody feel very welcome!
Whenever I'm back in Kathmandu I'd choose this place anytime again!
Thanks Joshi for making my stay another memorable one :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

In November 2012 a friend and I went on our first journey around the world to Kathmandu, Nepal. Finding a place to stay online can be a bit overwhelming and unknown. Mr. Joshi was the most responsive, helpful and caring guest house owner of all. Even when he did not have rooms in the Dolphin Guest house, he referred us to another hotel that picked us up from the airport and took good care of us. During our time with Mr. Joshi we felt as though our long lost uncle was making sure we had a clean, safe and comfortable place to stay. Thamel is the heart of the city so being able to walk from there to many locations, including shopping was effortless. We received advise about how much taxi trips should cost, restaurants and places to visit that excite us. Just make sure you take a business card so you can show the taxi driver so they can call for directions. Enjoy a magical place in the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Rhododendron
Le Rhododendron
#207 of 432 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bright Star
Hotel Bright Star
#29 of 432 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Guest House

Property: Dolphin Guest House
Address: Thamel | PO Box 12170, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing