We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel welcome”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #80 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Feel welcome”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Nice quiet hotel in a peaceful residential lane, opposite yoga centre; close to main bank ATM and ex-Royal Palace; this small villa hotel is nice and friendly, informal but not over-familiar; just a couple hundred metres from boisterous Thamel with its pushy peddlers and noisy crowds. Good clean rooms and good service

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenMasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    138
    74
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
94
115
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Poland, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed twice at Blue Horizon - a couple of days in 2013 (February) and just over two weeks in February/March 2014. Both trips were combinations of business (charity) and sightseeing. I chose The Blue Horizon looking for a budget hotel with basic amenities such as a bathroom, hot water and access to the Internet. I got it all. I knew I was going to the capital of a poor country so I was not expecting the standard of an average European hotel where one pays at least $100.00 per night and I was not disappointed. The hotel has a range of rooms of different standards and different prices. My room was OK (US25.00). The old TV set did not work but I didn't really need it as I was out most of the day. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. I enjoyed breakfasts in the garden but did not stay for lunch or dinner so I can't judge the quality of the food. For coffee drinkers there is a small cafe next door "The cafe" with the best coffee in Nepal! Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Each morning (and on returning to the hotel) I was greeted with a friendly smile of the staff member on duty. The hotel offers airport transport service.The price is the same as hiring a professional taxi service (I don't mean one of those little Suzuki which may be cheaper and are OK for a more adventurous traveler. Laundry service is good, quick and inexpensive. With frequent power cuts in Nepal it is essential to have a good torch. The hotel is located slightly off the main road so a torch comes very useful after dark ad at night when you need to get out of bed (the generator is switched off at some point). . Location is great - quiet yet very close to "the heart of Thamel", a supermarket, banks, ATMs and a post office. The hotel can arrange bus and plane tickets,tours etc but I did not use these services. The guests I saw there were of all ages, young and elderly, trekkers, traders, students, singles and couples which suggests that the hotel can meet all kinds of needs and both full and only half-full wallets. Summing up - a good budget hotel. I will stay there again.
Bob Marek, Poland forblindkids@gmail.com

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great team who go out of their way to help you. Tailored trips for your your personal needs. Lovely hotel tucked in a nice location which is conveniently tucked away at the end of Thamel's busy streets. If you want the most out of your holiday then this is the place to visit. Perfect for the solo traveller.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide River, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

During my EBC Trek in March 2014, I stayed at Hotel Blue Horizon. My experience of stay at Hotel BH was excellent. Their customer service, room service and food quality was of top class. I was welcomed everyday by smiling staff who was keen to provude any assistance needed. I would strongly recommend anyone to stay at Hotel BH?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Room was drab, but ok. Not entirely clean. Hot water worked. Power worked as they have a generator. Quiet sidestreet location v. Convenient for thamel. Best bit is the nice garden, worst bit is the hotel manager who seemed intent on selling us a trek immediately on arrival and thereafter every time we saw him despite that we werent in the slightest bit interested. For this reason i cant recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickthetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I spent 4 nights there, it was a good experience people/staff was quite good and coperative. Good food is available inside hotel.The rooms are ok, but don't think of luxury.location is good and surroundings are fine for tourists.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qureshiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights. My room was small and damp. The door didn't close properly. I had to bolt it. There was also a gap around the door, great for a peeping Tom!

The bed was comfy. Air con only worked when power was on! No hot water!

Food was ok but the staff were only friendly if you were young and gorgeous! or if you were interested in doing one of their tours.

Won't stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggi-May56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagledevendra, Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Margaret,
Thank you very much for staying with us. Sad to hear that you had some sort of problems regarding the room. We apologize for your inconvenience.

It is true that the electricity problem is the biggest issue in Nepal . Not only us but almost all the hotels and companies are suffering the 12 hours + power outage, which we have already mentioned before the check-in. Still, we have managed to provide the 24 hours battery backup for the small electrical appliances like WiFi, charger, room lights etc, and the Generator is turned on upon request, so that you can use AC. This matter could have been sorted if you had asked to the General Manager but you did not.

April is the peak season and we have run out of the rooms. There are 2 rooms which are not in operation which needed few minor maintenance as you said about the doors. We showed you this room is case you like it. If I am not wrong, you have happily accepted this room even after the explanation.

Glad you liked the bed. The weather was not good so there are least possibilities to provided the hot water via solar panels. To use the electrical geysers, again the power outage problem. The generators are turned on everyday at 6 pm so there is 100 % chance to get the hot water after then.
There are rules and regulations in every Hotels around the world.

Our staff will not disturb if you are not willing to talk or want some time alone. It has nothing to do with the young and gorgeous guests. Same thing about the tour packages as well. We explain about the tour packages only once as an introduction, then ask for the second time what you have thought of it. This is our duty to guide. We do not force to take it.

Apologies once again.

Sincerely
Sincerely
ANuj R. Bajracharya
Promotion Manager
Hotel Blue Horizon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#100 of 201 in Kathmandu
30 reviews
114.3 mi away
Namaste Nepal Hotels and Apartment
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
#115 of 201 in Kathmandu
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 201 in Kathmandu
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 201 in Kathmandu
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#119 of 201 in Kathmandu
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing