We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanatastic stay”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #82 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fanatastic stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great team who go out of their way to help you. Tailored trips for your your personal needs. Lovely hotel tucked in a nice location which is conveniently tucked away at the end of Thamel's busy streets. If you want the most out of your holiday then this is the place to visit. Perfect for the solo traveller.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    139
    74
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
94
115
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide River, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

During my EBC Trek in March 2014, I stayed at Hotel Blue Horizon. My experience of stay at Hotel BH was excellent. Their customer service, room service and food quality was of top class. I was welcomed everyday by smiling staff who was keen to provude any assistance needed. I would strongly recommend anyone to stay at Hotel BH?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Room was drab, but ok. Not entirely clean. Hot water worked. Power worked as they have a generator. Quiet sidestreet location v. Convenient for thamel. Best bit is the nice garden, worst bit is the hotel manager who seemed intent on selling us a trek immediately on arrival and thereafter every time we saw him despite that we werent in the slightest bit interested. For this reason i cant recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickthetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I spent 4 nights there, it was a good experience people/staff was quite good and coperative. Good food is available inside hotel.The rooms are ok, but don't think of luxury.location is good and surroundings are fine for tourists.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qureshiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights. My room was small and damp. The door didn't close properly. I had to bolt it. There was also a gap around the door, great for a peeping Tom!

The bed was comfy. Air con only worked when power was on! No hot water!

Food was ok but the staff were only friendly if you were young and gorgeous! or if you were interested in doing one of their tours.

Won't stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggi-May56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagledevendra, Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Margaret,
Thank you very much for staying with us. Sad to hear that you had some sort of problems regarding the room. We apologize for your inconvenience.

It is true that the electricity problem is the biggest issue in Nepal . Not only us but almost all the hotels and companies are suffering the 12 hours + power outage, which we have already mentioned before the check-in. Still, we have managed to provide the 24 hours battery backup for the small electrical appliances like WiFi, charger, room lights etc, and the Generator is turned on upon request, so that you can use AC. This matter could have been sorted if you had asked to the General Manager but you did not.

April is the peak season and we have run out of the rooms. There are 2 rooms which are not in operation which needed few minor maintenance as you said about the doors. We showed you this room is case you like it. If I am not wrong, you have happily accepted this room even after the explanation.

Glad you liked the bed. The weather was not good so there are least possibilities to provided the hot water via solar panels. To use the electrical geysers, again the power outage problem. The generators are turned on everyday at 6 pm so there is 100 % chance to get the hot water after then.
There are rules and regulations in every Hotels around the world.

Our staff will not disturb if you are not willing to talk or want some time alone. It has nothing to do with the young and gorgeous guests. Same thing about the tour packages as well. We explain about the tour packages only once as an introduction, then ask for the second time what you have thought of it. This is our duty to guide. We do not force to take it.

Apologies once again.

Sincerely
Sincerely
ANuj R. Bajracharya
Promotion Manager
Hotel Blue Horizon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in Kathmandu. The food was very good, free wifi, pick up and drop off service to the airport, friendly trustworthy staff, a cute garden with tables and they even have toilet paper ;)
Parash did a lovely job of organizing my many adventures here in Nepal. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodydodderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Not a bit like pictures on Agoda site. My friend and I were given a "de-luxe" room which was smelly, shabby with mould on the walls. I think there are two halves to this hotel, one half has been renovated (and recommended by a friend who stayed there). However, the half we were in was very disappointing. Not only was this the worst of all he hotels we stayed in while in Nepal but it was the most expensive. We had intended to stay for three nights, but moved on to a much newer, cleaner and cheaper place after one night. We would not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnCM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#70 of 202 in Kathmandu
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#100 of 202 in Kathmandu
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 202 in Kathmandu
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#117 of 202 in Kathmandu
161 reviews
114.3 mi away
Namaste Nepal Hotels and Apartment
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
#118 of 202 in Kathmandu
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing