We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and awful”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #90 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed here for three nights. My room was small and damp. The door didn't close properly. I had to bolt it. There was also a gap around the door, great for a peeping Tom!

The bed was comfy. Air con only worked when power was on! No hot water!

Food was ok but the staff were only friendly if you were young and gorgeous! or if you were interested in doing one of their tours.

Won't stay here again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Maggi-May56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagledevendra, Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Margaret,
Thank you very much for staying with us. Sad to hear that you had some sort of problems regarding the room. We apologize for your inconvenience.

It is true that the electricity problem is the biggest issue in Nepal . Not only us but almost all the hotels and companies are suffering the 12 hours + power outage, which we have already mentioned before the check-in. Still, we have managed to provide the 24 hours battery backup for the small electrical appliances like WiFi, charger, room lights etc, and the Generator is turned on upon request, so that you can use AC. This matter could have been sorted if you had asked to the General Manager but you did not.

April is the peak season and we have run out of the rooms. There are 2 rooms which are not in operation which needed few minor maintenance as you said about the doors. We showed you this room is case you like it. If I am not wrong, you have happily accepted this room even after the explanation.

Glad you liked the bed. The weather was not good so there are least possibilities to provided the hot water via solar panels. To use the electrical geysers, again the power outage problem. The generators are turned on everyday at 6 pm so there is 100 % chance to get the hot water after then.
There are rules and regulations in every Hotels around the world.

Our staff will not disturb if you are not willing to talk or want some time alone. It has nothing to do with the young and gorgeous guests. Same thing about the tour packages as well. We explain about the tour packages only once as an introduction, then ask for the second time what you have thought of it. This is our duty to guide. We do not force to take it.

Apologies once again.

Sincerely
Sincerely
ANuj R. Bajracharya
Promotion Manager
Hotel Blue Horizon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 445 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in Kathmandu. The food was very good, free wifi, pick up and drop off service to the airport, friendly trustworthy staff, a cute garden with tables and they even have toilet paper ;)
Parash did a lovely job of organizing my many adventures here in Nepal. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melodydodderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Not a bit like pictures on Agoda site. My friend and I were given a "de-luxe" room which was smelly, shabby with mould on the walls. I think there are two halves to this hotel, one half has been renovated (and recommended by a friend who stayed there). However, the half we were in was very disappointing. Not only was this the worst of all he hotels we stayed in while in Nepal but it was the most expensive. We had intended to stay for three nights, but moved on to a much newer, cleaner and cheaper place after one night. We would not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnCM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stepping into the foyer you are engulfed in an air of tranquillity from the bustling streets of Kathmandu just down the road. The warm welcome received over a steaming pot of tea quickly warms your heart to Nepal and the team of Hotel Blue Horizon. The hotel is clean, beds are comfortable, the food is delicious, close to Thamel's markets and the staff professional, friendly and ready to help organise tours for you. After a busy day exploring; recharge yourself sitting in the quiet garden with a cuppa and a chat with one of the many tourists or staff who actually care how you spent your day.
I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deb75sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have stayed here a number of times over a number of years. The staff at the desk are very helpful guys who treat guest respectfully and are informative, the breakfasts we had there were quick and tasty. When you are paying budget - low middle prices for a room, you cannot expect hot water and electricity 24 hours a day, this is a government issue not a hotel issue, . If you want a hot shower ask the guys on the desk when the power I back on and bathe then. and grow up Nepal is a developing country .I would recommend staying in the rooms in the block above the reception. The ones in the second block although clean are darker. Our rooms were cleaned daily by lovely didi's , I would and will return again here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicki60Kathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This Hotel has good clean rooms, friendly staff, and an excellent restaurant. I stayed here three nights. The location is excellent as it is close to restaurants and shops in the Thamel area and is also walking distance to tourist attractions on Durbar Marga, Narayanhity Palace and Hanuman Dhoka Palace.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank RajivSankranti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel Blue Horizon is located in Thamel, very well location. Inexpensive, which is good for budget travellers. Very Clean. The staff is very helpful, they will give you an amazing time. I strongly recommend this place to anyone looking to have a short-term stay or a long-term stay in Kathmandu. Also, the food is relatively cheap and very good and there's a lot of variety on the menu.

Overall, I had a really good time here and I will definitely go back there in my next trip to Kathmandu! If you need anything, there is a guy name Paras, a very gentle person, that will hook you up with what you want. Just ask for him when you are there.


Happy travel everyone!

Room Tip: 504 is a very big room with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jigsaw111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#102 of 210 in Kathmandu
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#50 of 210 in Kathmandu
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#86 of 210 in Kathmandu
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#109 of 210 in Kathmandu
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $12 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing