We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Blue Horizon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hotel Utse(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Point Hotel(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
178
147
76
29
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
147
76
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waternice gardenbudget hoteltrekking companyfree wifithamel areaaffordable pricetucked awayquiet locationhotel is locatednice roomrooms are cleanthe hustle and bustlevisit kathmanduairportnepalpower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 457 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

1. Location of the hotel is worse among the available hotel in the area.

2. Rooms conditions are bad on account of cleaning, broken door latch, dirty bathroom, non-operating small size TV & frequent electricity failure, no generator backup, unavailability of warm water and many more. (Endless story)

3. Most of the staffs are partial with the domestic/ neighbour country guests wrt to foreign guests.

4. Advance booking with meal plan is never suggested, they try to serve very mediocre & cheapest foods if you already paid to them.

5. One of Staff (Niraml) don't have manner how to talk with the guest. His language was pathetic. During our visit they strictly denied to serve food before 20 mints of kitchen closing with rubbish justification that “you have to place the order before 30 mints closing the kitchen." which was neither written anywhere in menu nor communicated to us.

6. No Parking place for, no arrangement for the driver's stay.

7. In my view staying in hotel is wastage of money special for Indian guests; hope these remarks give them mind to change their behaviour & attitudes towards the guest especially Indian guest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DKS-RPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anujbajra, Senior Manager (iPromotion) at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review you have placed on Tripadvisor, people's most trusted travel portal.
So sad to hear your unpleasant stay at our hotel. Please Explain us how the hotel's location is worse. Because i don't have to explain where the hotel is located and this is the best part our guest likes the most, escaping noises, vehicle disturbances, etc etc. When you book the cheaper meal included package, you have limited choice of food and i believe it is same in all the hotels around the world. BTW please mention how much did you pay for room with food included ? INR 1200 (USD 15 approx ) with food per night ? it is not about price u paid but it is about your bargain habit. Trust me, if we were to made u stay for free with meal, you would make even more worse complaint. pardon me.

We have 65KVA bigger Generator and also Battery backup to serve the electricity whenever the power fail which happens a lot in Nepal (12 hours per day). And plenty of parking spaces just around the garden. pictures are placed all over the internet. There are lots and lots of Indian guests who stayed as a guest and went as a good friend. We have lots of Indian travel agents also. You are also the one who happen to visit Nepal thru one of them.

We do not care about the ranking, but we do believe better service and care our guests personally and serve personally is the most important thing. We love our guest go back happy.

We are sorry for your inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Close to Thamel, but far enough away. Staff are great, they all went out of their way for us during our stay, particularly when we arrived with no warning when our youngest fell sick at Namche and had to be helicoptered out. Good kitchen and knowledgable staff, especially with planning other sightseeing trips.
Made us feel welcome from the moment we were collected from the airport... Certainly use them again

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anujbajra, General Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Rajiv Sankranti,
Greetings from Hotel Blue Horizon, Kathmandu.
We are very much thankful for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to receive your nice review. Your satisfaction with our services really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best service.

Thank you once again for rating us and sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Anuj R. Bajracharya
Senior Promotion Manager
Hotel Blue Horizon
Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night waiting for the Lukla weather to clear so we could fly in to start our trek. Since our stay here in 2001, the hotel has expanded by adding a second hotel building and a pleasant garden/restaurant. We stayed on the ground floor in the "new" building in a spacious and clean comfortable room. The food was good with plenty of choice. A very good budget hotel down a quiet street away from the chaos of Thamel. The hotel is connected to the Advanced Adventures & Nepal Vision trekking companies. Our group of 4, trekked with Advanced Adventures on the Everest Base Camp Trek and were very satisfied with the service provided.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anujbajra, Ipromotion at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guet,
Thank you Very much for your precious review made in TripAdvisor, people's most trusted travel portal. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Yes we have expanded and new rooms which was not possible without the support we have gained from guests like you.

We hope you would come again and stay with us and we promise to give the best and improved service.

SIncerely,
A.R. Bajrachayra
Senior Manager (iPromotion)
Hotel BLue HOrizon
www.hotelbluehorizon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We love this place - quiet, close to the Garden of Dreams and Thamel shopping, friendly helpful staff. We usually eat here too and have always enjoyed the food and never had an illness. The hot showers are now reliable, even the electricity works thanks to a massive backup generator.

Some people find some rooms a bit dark, take a look first and ask for what you want - over 13 years staying before and after trekking they've never disappointed us.

Room Tip: The upper rooms in the reception building get afternoon sun, great in winter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

we got picked up at the airport, saw the thamel was very noisy but this hotel is in a tricky location, located in quiet area at the dead end or the street. nice garden with lots of trees. its a homely environment. staff helped and served us good with food and oh ya wi fi also not bad. rooms are big and clean with attached toilets. if you love peace, then this hotel is ok to choose.

Room Tip: choose super deluxe room, big enough and clean and garden faced.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews