We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff are eager to please”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #82 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
“staff are eager to please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

After a wild drive to the hotel from the airport, about 20 minutes, the hotel was like a calm oasis in the middle of the busy city. We were greeted with tea and the hosts were most eager to set up sightseeing for our group and we were very pleased with our driver and tour guide. Standard rooms must be avoided but the super deluxe were quite acceptable in a city where accommodation standards are low. The gardens are peaceful and the food was quite good. On line booking offered a 30 percent discount which made the value of the package appropriate for the city. We were central, with but a short 5 minute walk to the shopping district and we felt safe at all times. The staff was friendly and eager to please our group of 8 and Kathmandu was certainly a positive experience.

Room Tip: Only super deluxe rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    136
    74
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
93
111
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our group of 8 stayed here for 3 nights. Although our booking was for super delux rooms, we did not get these until night 2 & 3. Insist on these! Good value and clean. Corner rooms on top floors are the best. Good breakfast options and we ate in the very pretty and peaceful courtyard. The courtyard is definitely a selling feature for this hotel. Peaceful and green and hard to imagine that the hotel was only a block away from the hectic Thamel district. Very friendly and helpful staff eager to arrange whatever we needed. The guide we had - Sadeep, arranged through the hotel - was fabulous for city touring. Airport transportation organized by the hotel worked well.

Room Tip: Absolutely insist of the super deluz rooms before your initial room assignment. Do not accept 1st f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy19522012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagledevendra, Owner at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience , we are delighted that you are enjoyed our Hotel Blue Horizon.
Sorry about that we will try to give you in your booking room but this time what happens i will check before never like this if this true this is not nice i will try to manage this never happens again. May be in high session little bit problems but next time never like this.
Thank you very much your happiness you are stay with us.
we hope to see you in future

Thank you once again for your time

warm regards,
Devendra Wagle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huissen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

There's nothing bad about the rooms but it's staff is too much busy with money. The food is too expensive, especially there's almost 25% added to the bill.
The blankets seem as if lead is being used and I don't like to pay extra for an AC and TV that I don't use but standard rooms are too small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagledevendra, Owner at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, i will ask in my staff about your review i don't know which my staff busy for money? About more extra 25% do you have any receive you pay bill? if this true please send one copy of you cash pay amount receive. if this true i will go to action in my staff . Or not about 10%service charge and 13% Government tax all over in Nepal. about the expensive of food this is not true because we know about another restaurant menu also.This is not expensive. We never told our guest eat in our hotel restaurant . I think first you look menu and give order.Our staff never told you eat here and pay money. If you pay 25% both including 10% and 13% this is goes around 24.3% not going 25 %.
Please make clear if you pay more money send us copy of your pay boll.

Thank you once again for your time.

warm regards,

Devendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lnd
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Room was ok, although the deluxe suite is a bit overrated - they claim premium linen and it's just basic cotton one. Blanket was extremely heavy, windows didn't shut properly. we got a room on the round floor so it was pretty dark as well. Also its very noisy in during the night with people outside banging on the steal gate and in the morning with staff chatting and cleaning from around 6 am.

it' s not the worst option, and considering what you pay it's decent but I think there are some better options around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

While I expect hotels to be interested in profit, I don't like to be left with the feeling that this is their main object in life. And that is very much the feeling I had after two separate stays. Would I stay here again - maybe, but I would search pretty hard for an alternative first.
Positive aspects:
In a quiet part of Thamel which can clearly be a bit of a madhouse
Free airport pickup
Good breakfast choices (paid separately but not too expensive)
Reverse cycle aircon (except in the cheapest rooms)
Daily room cleaning
Very pleasant garden courtyard (but see below)
Negative aspects:
First stay had to move rooms as they were clearly shuffling guests to maximise revenue
Second stay was put in a nearby hotel (not as good) as they couldn't find my reservation (made twice with the front desk in person my first stay), and then claimed a tour group had overstayed (which I don't believe and is not my problem anyway)
Shower in all rooms barely got above warmish - morning or evening
Garden courtyard and corridor walkways made this hotel noisy at night with partyers returning and noisy in the morning with staff opening up at 5:30am, and cleaning staff arriving chattily at 7am
Hotel has a generator but in the daily powercuts it drives only one dim ceiling light - so no power for computer or phone even though the wifi remains on
Wifi is very slow and prone to dropouts
Management will invite themselves to sit and 'chat' at your breakfast about your tour needs - leaving a feeling of pressure selling

Overall, the Nepali management doesn't seem too concerned beyond the dollar they earn today

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor in the new wing to avoid as much of the noise as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Éire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for a number of nights a couple of months ago. Our first night we were unlucky as we got there late and ended up in a tiny double room (last they had) and next to some very rowdy men who we had to get up and ask to be quiet numerous times. However the next morning the manager was very apologetic and offered us a bigger room on a different floor at a cheaper rate to make up for it which we thought was very decent. We organised a trek through the hotel for 3 days 2 nights which was amazing - our guide Bam was brilliant - and we were able to leave our big bags at the hotel while we went. When we came back we got a room in the nicer newer part of the hotel across the lawn. We went away again and returned here for our last night in Nepal but they were fully booked so sent us down to sister hotel (mountain view I think??) down the road. This one was ok but not as nice but fine for one night. Only downside was breakfast at blue horizon was totally overpriced and service at breakfast time was on the slow side so leave plenty of time if you plan to go anywhere in the morning...like an hour. You are close enough to Thamel to walk everywhere and far enough away that you dont hear noise at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part across the lawn they are nicer. Also dont book online if you can jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy_n_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

When visit Katmandu, it is probably before or/and after trekking.... In my case we were 6 people at the end of our trip to Nepal wilderness. We looked proximity to Tamell (but not inside), hot water, electricity for most of the time and clean bed. Finding a good one in hight season for reasonable price might be tricky (reservations assure nothing in Nepal!!! )
The city offers accommodation all $$$ range. It’s not a surprise to find it in 150$ hotel, even in Katmandu, and you will not expect any of those for 5$/night. It is really hard to know what to expect. The hotel was recommended by Lonely Planet and we took a chance.
The Blue Horizon hotel is very good compromise, a bit better than the hotel we stayed on our way before trekking (Encounter, my other review). The official price is a bit high 35$ (like all in Katmandu) but after a brief discussion we got 3 double rooms for 25$ each per night. There are different kind of rooms and you need to pick carefully (we did). It has generator for a times of no-electricity, the staff is nice and the restaurant is nice. Eventually, like all “reasonable priced” places in Nepal, the hot water comes from solar system and a bit limited in hazy and rainy days, but compared to others, Blue Horizon is very good, even on hazy days.
The only con is a bit tricky location. No issues after you figure out where it is, but I would never figure out this “alley” on my own, without “friendly” taxi driver.

Room Tip: It's Katmandu - adjust your expectations. Not all the rooms are equal, Take a look before sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#43 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#92 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#45 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing