We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a business”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #86 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Just a business”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

While I expect hotels to be interested in profit, I don't like to be left with the feeling that this is their main object in life. And that is very much the feeling I had after two separate stays. Would I stay here again - maybe, but I would search pretty hard for an alternative first.
Positive aspects:
In a quiet part of Thamel which can clearly be a bit of a madhouse
Free airport pickup
Good breakfast choices (paid separately but not too expensive)
Reverse cycle aircon (except in the cheapest rooms)
Daily room cleaning
Very pleasant garden courtyard (but see below)
Negative aspects:
First stay had to move rooms as they were clearly shuffling guests to maximise revenue
Second stay was put in a nearby hotel (not as good) as they couldn't find my reservation (made twice with the front desk in person my first stay), and then claimed a tour group had overstayed (which I don't believe and is not my problem anyway)
Shower in all rooms barely got above warmish - morning or evening
Garden courtyard and corridor walkways made this hotel noisy at night with partyers returning and noisy in the morning with staff opening up at 5:30am, and cleaning staff arriving chattily at 7am
Hotel has a generator but in the daily powercuts it drives only one dim ceiling light - so no power for computer or phone even though the wifi remains on
Wifi is very slow and prone to dropouts
Management will invite themselves to sit and 'chat' at your breakfast about your tour needs - leaving a feeling of pressure selling

Overall, the Nepali management doesn't seem too concerned beyond the dollar they earn today

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor in the new wing to avoid as much of the noise as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    138
    74
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
93
115
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Éire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for a number of nights a couple of months ago. Our first night we were unlucky as we got there late and ended up in a tiny double room (last they had) and next to some very rowdy men who we had to get up and ask to be quiet numerous times. However the next morning the manager was very apologetic and offered us a bigger room on a different floor at a cheaper rate to make up for it which we thought was very decent. We organised a trek through the hotel for 3 days 2 nights which was amazing - our guide Bam was brilliant - and we were able to leave our big bags at the hotel while we went. When we came back we got a room in the nicer newer part of the hotel across the lawn. We went away again and returned here for our last night in Nepal but they were fully booked so sent us down to sister hotel (mountain view I think??) down the road. This one was ok but not as nice but fine for one night. Only downside was breakfast at blue horizon was totally overpriced and service at breakfast time was on the slow side so leave plenty of time if you plan to go anywhere in the morning...like an hour. You are close enough to Thamel to walk everywhere and far enough away that you dont hear noise at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part across the lawn they are nicer. Also dont book online if you can jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy_n_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

When visit Katmandu, it is probably before or/and after trekking.... In my case we were 6 people at the end of our trip to Nepal wilderness. We looked proximity to Tamell (but not inside), hot water, electricity for most of the time and clean bed. Finding a good one in hight season for reasonable price might be tricky (reservations assure nothing in Nepal!!! )
The city offers accommodation all $$$ range. It’s not a surprise to find it in 150$ hotel, even in Katmandu, and you will not expect any of those for 5$/night. It is really hard to know what to expect. The hotel was recommended by Lonely Planet and we took a chance.
The Blue Horizon hotel is very good compromise, a bit better than the hotel we stayed on our way before trekking (Encounter, my other review). The official price is a bit high 35$ (like all in Katmandu) but after a brief discussion we got 3 double rooms for 25$ each per night. There are different kind of rooms and you need to pick carefully (we did). It has generator for a times of no-electricity, the staff is nice and the restaurant is nice. Eventually, like all “reasonable priced” places in Nepal, the hot water comes from solar system and a bit limited in hazy and rainy days, but compared to others, Blue Horizon is very good, even on hazy days.
The only con is a bit tricky location. No issues after you figure out where it is, but I would never figure out this “alley” on my own, without “friendly” taxi driver.

Room Tip: It's Katmandu - adjust your expectations. Not all the rooms are equal, Take a look before sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staff courteous, friendly & efficient.
Immaculately kept garden was wonderful to sit in any time of day.
Food was equal to that in the nearby restaurants & often cheaper.
We enjoyed an organized tour with chauffeur/guide to nearby Bhaktapur.
Hotel is not one of the cheapest, but definitely very good value. We'd stay again in a flash.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjokolatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, HaDarom, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I made a reservation online and confirmed it because I knew I'd arrive late at night. When I got there they first said I didn't reserve a room, then they admitted to be overbooked! They referred to me to a nearby guest house which they said was "same room, same management" - it turned out to be a cheap dirty (hair and stains on sheets!!) bad smelling place, without even toilet paper! No matter how I tried to talk to the manager, they wouldn't even consider a discount, although the price was very high to begin with (of course they added tax and service, saying it's "standard" - it's not!).
A CLASSIC TOURISTS' TRAP, DON'T GO! THERE ARE MUCH BETTER HOTELS!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IDDO8782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel and I am impressed than ever before. I got a great deal and had a direct conversational with the management, I got a even better price on my stay then the deal suggested. The rooms are as clean and cozy as always, the garden seemed to be renovated and looked just beautiful. The place is so peaceful, its a hidden gem inside the hustle and bustle of Thamel. The breakfast seemed ok and that is something they need improvement on, other than that there is hardly any complains. It is a good value for your money. They arranged our trekking and sight seeing trip from their own travel agency. No doubt if I stay in Kathmandu, this will be the place I will visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CynicAndroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived in Kathmandu without a reservation or place to stay, and against our usual habits, allowed ourselves to be led to a hotel by an enthusiastic man waiting at the airport for new arrivals. We are definitely glad we did. He brought us to the quaint and wonderful Hotel Blue Horizon in thamel most popular tourist area. The hotel is located on a quiet side street. They have cozy garden it is so beautiful. The rooms are nice and clean, and the hot showers are fantastic even raining season also. The best part, however, is the staff so kind and helpful. They have travel desk inside hotel. They arrange all kinds of tour and treks all over Nepal. We actually left Kathmandu and explored the mountains for a couple days and couldn't bring most of our luggage because we were on a motorcycle, and the front desk very kindly stored it for us free of charge. We also left some laundry with them during this time, and came back to fresh clothes-- much appreciated after a few days on the road! Definitely recommend.

Md. Yusuf Sekh

Room Tip: Choose any room as your requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yusuf s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#99 of 198 in Kathmandu
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 198 in Kathmandu
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
#113 of 198 in Kathmandu
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#44 of 198 in Kathmandu
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#19 of 198 in Kathmandu
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#114 of 198 in Kathmandu
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing