We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, decent hotel, annoying management” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #79 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good location, decent hotel, annoying management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was given a medium size room on the top floor; the room was 4 meters x 3 meters with very very simple decoration, one small wardrobe and attached very simple bathroom.
There was no refrigerator (while it was clearly mentioned on the website for the type of room I booked) no safe deposit box and coffee/tea maker, and no toiletries except for a small soap bar in the toilet. Room had air conditioning.
Electricity and water were available all the time in the room and hotel, also when no power was available in the nearby hotels one night.
Breakfast (not included) was so and so, it was made of bread and marmalade plus coffee. Breakfast is served in the beautiful and tranquil garden in front of the hotel. Dinner is also available at reasonable prices.
The location of the hotel is very good: although it is at the very end of a private small road, it's quite near the centre and the surroundings are pretty quiet (which is good when in noisy Kathmandu).
Free transfer from the airport could be arranged and it's pretty convenient, although the driver and the guy who's going to pick you up at the arrivals are keeping on asking money tips.
Unfortunately management is pretty annoying and they want you to buy very expensive tours all the time. If you don't accept they will be treating you differently and pretty coldly. Basically they sell transportation but you can get taxis anywhere for one third of the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    133
    74
    27
    26
See reviews for
66
92
108
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel after my trek to Everest BC.
It was way better than other Hotels around with a big room with a good bed and a hot shower. The rooms were originally around 25-35$ but if you bargain a bit you get a better price and than its worth it.
Only that WIFI doesn't work in the rooms is annoying...because sitting in the garden and checking emails means that you not only getting eaten up by mosquitos but also that a later time the lights will be turned off and you "have to" leave the garden.

The Hotel is only a few walking minutes from Thamel - but the walk to the Hotel (when you turn in the last street) for a solo female travel is a little scary if its really dark...no lights and no people usually around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed there in March. Room price was ca.35 USD without breakfast. The room was clean and ok.But if I you are ready to pay a little bit more, you can stay at Shanker Hotel.
They have a nice garden and are central located.
There is not so much to tell about this hotel

P.S: No swimming pool/no fitness centre

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fahri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahan, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

It's good hotel. You can get more discounts if your are good at bargaining.

Service is quite slow - you can not have tea before 7 am.

anyways Money saver hotel. Location is quite and good. Market is 3-5 mins on foot distance .

Food is costly here, you can have your meals in the market restaurants.

Room Tip: Money Saver Advise for group of 3+ Check all available rooms, in same price. There are some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gladiatory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel is located in a very good place with easy access to downtown and shopping places.
It makes life easy with supermarkets, hotels, bakery, ATM, taxi stand closer to the hotel.

We had some issues with the reception manager regarding hotel room and price.
They also did not use the power generator during power cut time.

Food was delicious. Hari, Parash, Ashish were very friendly and helpful.
Garden restaurant was always clean.

Room Tip: Better to go with Suite or Super Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow City, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

we stayed here in the month of May 2012 for 4 days. My International SBI card did not worked in kathmandu so we were in a great problem but hotel staff was very co-operative especially mr. Ram and Mr. Vinod . They did all the possible to sort out my problem and ultimately we succeded. I found this hotel neat and clean, It's garden is the beauty of the hotel. Though approch from main thamel street ws not good but road was being constructed so i hope in future it will be good. Yes on the part of room services it is bit slow so it needs improvement. But otherwise i found this hotel the best place to live in kathmandu i.e. worth of money . Staff is good, food is good, Rooms are neat and clean, situated in main thamel area so i found every thing good with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block "G" are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivek59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel has all the general facilities, the rooms are good and clean, and spacious too.the hotel is well maintained and clean. The garden is also good, the WI-FI is good but a little slow. The location is really nice. It has a central location in the city. he staffs are also good, kind and helping.Overall it was a good stay for me, It is also valueable for money,i would recommend anybody to stay over here.the staff ramji,sujit and driver mahendra were very good and really helping.

Room Tip: Get a room in the 3rd block because it is newly constructed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piyushjha099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#58 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Namaste Nepal Hotels and Apartment
1.2 mi away
Hotel Prince Plaza
Hotel Prince Plaza
#107 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasure Home Pvt.Ltd
Hotel Pleasure Home Pvt.Ltd
#100 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing