We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a good location”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #86 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a good location”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel is located in a very good place with easy access to downtown and shopping places.
It makes life easy with supermarkets, hotels, bakery, ATM, taxi stand closer to the hotel.

We had some issues with the reception manager regarding hotel room and price.
They also did not use the power generator during power cut time.

Food was delicious. Hari, Parash, Ashish were very friendly and helpful.
Garden restaurant was always clean.

Room Tip: Better to go with Suite or Super Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    140
    74
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
94
116
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow City, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

we stayed here in the month of May 2012 for 4 days. My International SBI card did not worked in kathmandu so we were in a great problem but hotel staff was very co-operative especially mr. Ram and Mr. Vinod . They did all the possible to sort out my problem and ultimately we succeded. I found this hotel neat and clean, It's garden is the beauty of the hotel. Though approch from main thamel street ws not good but road was being constructed so i hope in future it will be good. Yes on the part of room services it is bit slow so it needs improvement. But otherwise i found this hotel the best place to live in kathmandu i.e. worth of money . Staff is good, food is good, Rooms are neat and clean, situated in main thamel area so i found every thing good with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block "G" are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivek59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel has all the general facilities, the rooms are good and clean, and spacious too.the hotel is well maintained and clean. The garden is also good, the WI-FI is good but a little slow. The location is really nice. It has a central location in the city. he staffs are also good, kind and helping.Overall it was a good stay for me, It is also valueable for money,i would recommend anybody to stay over here.the staff ramji,sujit and driver mahendra were very good and really helping.

Room Tip: Get a room in the 3rd block because it is newly constructed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piyushjha099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here as we booked a trek through the partner trekking company, Nepal Vision treks. It included a few nights stay before and after the trek.

We were in the building furthest away from reception and first had a ground floor room. The room itself was excellent - big with a separate lounge area and sleeping area and a big bathroom with bath tub. Had a flat screen TV too which was good. This room was great but there was a lingering small of damp in the room and sometimes you could hear water running from outside. the staff also would come back and forward from round the side of the room so you could hear a lot and it sometimes was quite noisy.

On our return, our next room was the same building but up a couple more floors so we didnt get the same damp smell. The room was smaller as didnt have a lounge area but still a good size room and bathroom. There was a nice communal balcony area and you can even go to the rooftop for a nice view. The staff are friendly and helpful and you often see the owner and colleagues hanging about and happy to chat to guests. Its quite nice, but yes, this place is really about the money and making money. They are obviously business men - which is fine. It just means you sometimes feel its a bit fake and the staff often recommend their own taxis, tours, restaurants, spas...etc. Expected I suppose.

This place would normally get 4/5 if it wasnt for the damp and noisy from the first room. I would highly recommend the trekking company though.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neat00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

... and that was possibly a mistake, because staying there was a mediocre experience - not something I'd want to remember. There was wifi in my room, but it wasn't working, so I had to linger in the garden, which I do not regret at all because that place is nice and beautiful.

My room was gloomy and, in the morning, quite noisy, which makes it inconvenient for those who stay in bed 'till 10, like me.

On the good side of things, the hotel is quite inexpensive, close to Thamel, and staff, food, and service are OK. Also, they have a shuttle to get you to/from the airport. So, if you're a backpacker sort or not planning a long stay, book on - they are worth their money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Alex12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Overall the hotel was pretty clean and had little issues there. It was not bad, but was not great either. I would not stay here again unless there were no other options. At night it was loud and hard to sleep, but typical for the area I think. I never really felt comfortable there.
My only real complaint is the guy that controls the hotel cars and tours. Always felt as if he was trying to cheat me. He would give me a price for car transportation then change the amount or give me a tour price an do the same.
I had a reservation to stay there my last night but chose somewhere else. They had taken me to another town and when I called them to get a price to bring me back he wanted 3 times the amount of the first fare. So I made other arrangements which worked out to be much cheaper and ended up staying at a far nicer hotel for a few dollars more with a better location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Among many hotels that I stayed in Kathmandu; Blue Horizon was one of them. It was recommended by some travelers in TripAdvisor, Lonely Planet Guides books, travel magazines etc but the hotel as poor furnished rooms. Staffs are friendly and co-operating but I hated my room. It was old house, AC not working and broken lock in the door. The only thing made me happy were the staffs there!

Room Tip: Don't accept the rooms if they give you to the right side of reception building. I mean if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhythm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#101 of 203 in Kathmandu
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 203 in Kathmandu
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#121 of 203 in Kathmandu
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#35 of 203 in Kathmandu
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.4 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 203 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing