We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very convinient hotel with a very affordable rate and outstanding service”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #82 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very convinient hotel with a very affordable rate and outstanding service”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

The hotel was really affordable and convinient with great service.
The day we arrived kathmandu, we hover around so many hotels using airport taxi
some of the hotels were inconvinient and some other were very expensive.
Finally we were fortunate to see this hotel (Blue Horizon) in a very convinient place that too with a beautiful garden.
First we tried for 2 days stay there but after experiencing such a fantastic service, we extended our stay to 2 weeks. The hotel also provides facility to hassel free travel and tours to different tourist locations in Nepal.
Finally i would rate this hotel as the best for the one who is looking for convienient place with good service in affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    140
    74
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
94
116
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Losheim am See, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

the hotel is located some minutes outside the thamel in a quiet street. i loved espacially the nice garden and the rooftopterrasse. the food and the menu were really good. there is free internet and wifi, as long there is no powercut. my room was allright and clean enough. the staff was extremely nice and we went out sometimes together. will go back on my next kathmandu stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannesdewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Perfect location for backpackers just outside Thamel which makes it a little quieter. Rooms are simple but clean. Pushy owners who pressure you into listening to an intense sales pitch for their packages, but otherwise leave you alone. Reliable pickup from the airport. Im sure there are better deals and nicer places, but this is definitely a good compromise.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edddieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed for a night at the hotel.Room was clean.Hot water was available at all times.Electricity hassles continued all the while.Aircon did not work for a long time.Surely a nice crash pad for a night.Cudn't sleep cos of dog barking all the time near the place.Centrally located for sure.Overall experience was average and best suited for Solo traveller.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mankal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tikaregmi, Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Greetings from Hotel Blue Horizon, Kathmandu

We have gone through your review, we apologize that you had an uncomfortable stay with us. There were few dogs which were belongs to neighbourhood. Now our neighbourhood who had dogs has shifted to another part of the city. Now here are no chances of barking dogs because they have shifted already. We have already hired this building and will renovate it as a part of our hotel. We are always in the process of making things better for our customers. However, we are sorry about the disturbance you had during your stay. We are sure that our upcoming guest won’t have any disturbance of the dogs. Our hotel is regarded as one the peaceful hotels in the crowed of Thamel so we are hopefully that whenever you plan for Nepal next time, you will give us an opportunity again and have a test of our warm hospitality and peaceful stay.

As concerned Air Conditioning, we do have 30 rooms air conditioned and we are suffering from the power cut in Kathmandu which happens a lot (14 hours a day this time). It is not possible to run A/C from solar power all the time. We do have 24 hour light at least one in to the every room and another in to every bathroom from the solar power. We do also have a generator which we do not use all the time (we use only emergency case) because of the disturbance of its noise.

We are looking forward to see you here in our hotel and we are sure to give you an excellent stay.
Sincerely yours
Management
Hotel Blue Horizon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New FOREST uk
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Fair price ,good pick up at airport ,Quiet location just of Tamel ,clean but our room could do with a refurbish,nice roof top lots of pot plants,low cost food that was tasty,breakfast in the garden .Willing helpful staff who found as cars and taxis to to explre .

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CLIFFNewFORESTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Blue horizon for 3 nights. I only expected this place to adequate, which was fine for me since i was travelling alone.
I was pleasantly surprised to find a very clean room, comfortable bed, hot running water, free internet and working generator during the load shedding.
Garden in side the hotel was definatly BEST. You can have have breakfast/lunch/dinner throughout the day with excellent menu and very reasonably priced.
The Hotel is just few min away from downtown THAMEL. I would recommend my friend and family to stay and experience ture hospility from the member of hotel staffs.
Thanks a lot for surprising me.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The room are the biggest disapointment in this central excellent located hotel in the Thamel area. Our room was shabby, very soft old beds, just one working light and none of the power socket was working, a real problem if you want to recharge your digital camera battery. The bathroom had no window and in bad conditions, all the furniture were old and needed to be refurbished soon.

What I liked: excellent staff, very friendly. Excellent location in Thamel the hearth of Kathmandu. Free airport pick up and free internet, not too quick though!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#100 of 203 in Kathmandu
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 203 in Kathmandu
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#122 of 203 in Kathmandu
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#32 of 203 in Kathmandu
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.4 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#19 of 203 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing