We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samsara Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vaishali(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shreesu(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaju Suite Hotel(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buddha(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Serenity(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
119
113
46
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
113
46
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice gardenthamel areatour packagenice hotel in kathmanduclose to shopsfifth floorcomfortable hotelwifi is freeno elevatorchitwan national parkfresh fruitplenty of hot waterbuffet breakfasteasy accesstrekking companyconvenient locationair conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 293 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This hotel is right on the edge of Themal, which is THE neighborhood to be in while you are in Nepal. Other hotels listed on TA are in the heart of Themal, where it is too wild crazy and noisy. However, The Samsara Resort sits back off the main drag and it has a very nice garden.
The rooms are spacious. The beds are very comfortable. The AC works great!. This hotel, unlike some others, has a generator for the very frequent Kathmandu electrical grid failures.

It has WIFI in the rooms for free, which is as good as it can be anywhere in this country.

The staff is very attentive and polite. They are managed very well by a man who "manages by walking around". That means he is constantly out where people know where he is. He is very effective.

Plenty of hot water. Come back from your trek or arrive after a long flight and enjoy a hot shower with plenty of pressure for as long as you need to.

This was a life rime dream to see Kathmandu and Nepal. I may come back. If I do, I will stay at the Samsara Resort

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed here 3 times during our trip to Nepal and Tibet. When we first came we were not impressed but did like that it is in the center of the tourist district. Even though the streets are crowded and noisy, the hotel, which is located down a short drive in the center of a block, is very quiet. There were electric outages the night we arrived and we slept with the windows open...there was not enough noise to keep us awake. It has a nice garden area in front and some tables on a deck where you can eat breakfast. We went to Chitwan and came back thinking the hotel was better compared to what we had. Came to appreciate breakfast...a variety of potatoes, veggies, pancakes, cereals, etc. with eggs prepared to order. Then we went to Tibet and came and really felt love the the place. The staff are great, always friendly and helpful. The location is the best for being in the Thamel shopping and restaurant area. The problems are the rooms are pretty mediocre with maintenance problems but satisfactory compared with others we stayed in. The computer in the lobby worked fine the first two stays but could not connect on the third even though they had someone come in to work on it...evidently the problem was with their ISP. We walked around the corner to a internet cafe where it was very cheap. I would recommend this to travelers who want a comfortable place to stay that is in the tourist district.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The rooms are good and clean. The hotel is quiet. Good money for value.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruieines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

During the Icelandic volcanic Ash fiasco my husband and I had to find a hotel to take us and our 4 children for an indefinite period of time. Samsara resort hotel was just right. It is situated in the centre of the Thamel area and was sensibly priced given our emergency scenario. The rooms were clean and comfortable with televisions and bathrooms and the grassy garden area at the front was a welcome patch of green for relaxing and the views for the roof terraces were spectacular.

We want to say how comfortable the hotel is, how extremely welcoming, kind and helpful the staff are and how good the restaurant food is. You coped with our changing plans and looked after us extremely well in adverse conditions - nothing was too much trouble. Thank you very much. We all hope to come back to Nepal as soon as we can and we will certainly be able to recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollySavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed at the Samsara Resort before and after our trek and it was a great hotel. The service was wonderful and we were able to book our flights to Lukla through the hotel manager who went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is located in the heart of Thamel and is at the end of a short lane way which makes it very quiet and an escape from the hustle of Thamel. There is a nice green lawn area out the front where you can enjoy a drink/meal or just relax. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The power does go out for long periods of time in Kathmandu (but that's a reality of the city and not a fault of the hotel) and is a good excuse to get out and explore.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews