We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Samsara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samsara Resort
Ranked #82 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The rooms are good and clean. The hotel is quiet. Good money for value.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruieines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 272 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2010

During the Icelandic volcanic Ash fiasco my husband and I had to find a hotel to take us and our 4 children for an indefinite period of time. Samsara resort hotel was just right. It is situated in the centre of the Thamel area and was sensibly priced given our emergency scenario. The rooms were clean and comfortable with televisions and bathrooms and the grassy garden area at the front was a welcome patch of green for relaxing and the views for the roof terraces were spectacular.

We want to say how comfortable the hotel is, how extremely welcoming, kind and helpful the staff are and how good the restaurant food is. You coped with our changing plans and looked after us extremely well in adverse conditions - nothing was too much trouble. Thank you very much. We all hope to come back to Nepal as soon as we can and we will certainly be able to recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollySavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed at the Samsara Resort before and after our trek and it was a great hotel. The service was wonderful and we were able to book our flights to Lukla through the hotel manager who went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is located in the heart of Thamel and is at the end of a short lane way which makes it very quiet and an escape from the hustle of Thamel. There is a nice green lawn area out the front where you can enjoy a drink/meal or just relax. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The power does go out for long periods of time in Kathmandu (but that's a reality of the city and not a fault of the hotel) and is a good excuse to get out and explore.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

After many stays in other guesthouses in Thamel I was extremely happy to find the Samsara Resort. Every bit of my stay was wonderful, from the service, room accommodations, continental breakfast and ability to accommodate us on short notice (this occurring several times) was nothing less then phenomenal!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Greetings from Taiwan!!!
2-week in Nepal with my retired parents…

If you are looking for over-priced, luxury and 5-star amenities, you certainly can find it here, but I sure the comfort and personal attention from the host Mr. Khakal and his daughter Yashoda is priceless and speechless since the day we arrived and departed.

We arrived just about mid-night in a very cold night in mid-Feb. and we were relieved and pleased to meet the hotel pick up staff by the airport arrival hall. Without further delay, we were in bed within an hour.

Next day, Mr. Khakal and Yashoda met us at the breakfast for the first time. Already, Mr. Khakal arranged our day trip in Katmandu and Patan City, trips to Chitwan National Park, flight and transportation from Pokhora to KTM and onward to Nargarkot in a quick fashionable way, which saved us time and hassle to shop around.

The trip to Nepal was fascinated remarkable and unforgettable to my parents, as they have been working for so long not to know that there is country like Nepal actually exist, its ancient culture, devoted religion, beautiful people, breathless mountain beauty, and the very polluted city with power shortage in Katmandu…ha…

We were glad to stay with Samsara Hotel, as it is in the heart of Thamel area, yet, very quiet days and nights and its high-floor building gave us a whole 360 view of the city, shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance.

Unfortunately, my father got food poison 3 days before our flight home in Nargakot and we had to cut the trip short and return to Katmandu a day before our reservation with Samsara. There, again, like home-sweet-home, greeted by Mr. Khakal, immediately he let us check in and he even have the kitchen staff prepare what is best for diarrhea. His warm and sincere hospitality provide us a sense and comfort and secure.

Till today, my father well recovered and often think of friendly Mr. Khakal and his lovely daughter Yashoda, their presence brought us life-time memory we cherish always…

Rica @ Taipei, Taiwan

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicaHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Samsara 12, (yes twelve nights!) We are here on business for that long, so appreciate the relatively quiet location and locality to Thamel. There is a nice lanscaped green space in front, and potted plants and flowers decorate the entrance and lobby/eating area.

All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Initially, my apple computer didn't work with their ethernet connection in our room. They really went out of their way when they offered one of their management offices to use. Eventually they had a techy come in and hooked up the ethernet in the room. Very clean kitchen and the breakfast was good with a small buffet variety, and eggs made to order.

We had a big deluxe room with a window on opposite walls and wood parquet floors. We like a big room, as it can get filled with orders and we like to spread out. Don't miss going up to the rooftop, nice tables/sitting area with plants and a view of the city and the surrounding mountains. Sunset is gorgeous.

Even with the city-wide power outage daily, we had hot water all the time, and lights and electricity at night.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

i picked this hotel bcos of the good comments written by others, but it's totally not that good. w/ nice looking exterior, but poor room interior and facilities. the room itself is tiny and freezing. the blanket isnt warm at all, no matter how many more u requested. but, since it's a bit away from the main street, pretty quiet and good at nite. the breakfast is just avg, the food is 'warm'.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK2010HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKC22, owner at Samsara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2010

Dear Mam, Thankyou so much for your review.
and we are sorry that , we cannot provide our servise properly.
we hoped that you understood the problem that our country is facing these days.
No electricity for 13 hrs, no diseal fuel to use back up light.
scarcity of these things what we hotelier can do.
i hope u understood these things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 209 in Kathmandu
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#12 of 209 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Thamel
Hotel Thamel
#53 of 209 in Kathmandu
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 209 in Kathmandu
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
#2 of 209 in Kathmandu
281 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Resort

Address: Bhagabati Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $34 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samsara Resort is a 3 star hotel which has got International Arch of Europe Award 2014 and Certificate of Excellence winner 2013. It is located in the heart of the Thamel in peaceful environment. With 9 years of positive performance we are please to inform you that Samsara Resort has been designed as a peaceful haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samsara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing