We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven in Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Mi Casa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mi Casa
Ranked #16 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed in Mi Casa for 4 days last July 2014 and it's one of the primary reasons why we love Nepal. The people are genuinely helpful and nice. They really go out of their way to make sure that you feel right at home. It's the little things they do that makes you fall in love with the place - from making sure that your room is clean, customizing your itinerary, to offering refreshments as soon as you arrive from a tiring day of sightseeing, and giving you helpful tips and sharing stories about their homeland. We highly recommend everyone to stay in Mi Casa. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lesterobice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Lesterobice,
Namaste from Nepal!

Thank you for your nice review of Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
It's really important for us to make our guest feel happy and we are so pleased to hear that we were able to do it this time!
Thanks a lot!!!

Next time if you travel to Nepal - please do remember where your home is!

Best wishes,
Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 519 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

My son and I stayed at the hotel for two nights. Ramiro and his staff are outstanding. They are very friendly and extremely helpful with any request. The hotel is basic, but very clean and the rooms are good size. The location is very convenient for seeing Thamel and Katmandu. It can be a little noisy in the morning, but generally very quiet considering it is in the middle of Thamel. The beds are comfortable and a hearty breakfast is provided.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RTTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear RTTraveler5,
Namaste from Nepal!

We would like to thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
We are very grateful for your kind remarks about our little place.

Hope we see you again!
And wishing you all the best!

Kind regards,
Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

What can I say. Mi Casa is it. Ramiro was the ultimate host and his team offer the level of care and service rarely found anywhere around the world. From the time of the airport pick-up (which is free) to the time you leave, you are treated like a family member. Beds are comfortable, rooms beautifully furnished, bathrooms are well maintained and spotless and location is great. Food was outstanding and amazing value for money and the breakfast was huge .... just the thing to start the day when tackling Kathmandu. Ramiro also sorted out an entire 7 day trip around Nepal for our family including domestic flights, transfers, accommodation - everything you could imagine. Travelling with kids he went the extra mile and sourced all vehicles with seat belts in every part of our journey around the country, contacting more than 70 vehicles to ensure we had the right ones ... how's that for service!!!! If you are looking for a trip around Nepal, make Mi Casa your first stop and let Ramiro take care of the rest. He is reliable, trustworthy and a wealth of knowledge. My only criticism is there are no fridges in the rooms but in travelling throughout Nepal we only came across a room once that did have one so no big deal. The best thing is, even if you want a cold beer at 10pm at night, the team at Mi Casa will bring one to your room.

Room Tip: Mustang room is ideal as it has a small balcony where you can enjoy a drink and has a large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Andrew,
Namaste from Nepal!

WOW! You gifted us with such a beautiful review of Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
And we Thank you so much for it!
Can't find proper words to express how grateful we are!

We are so pleased when we can make stay at Mi Casa for our guests a memorable one and will always try to do so.

Next time when you come back to Kathmandu - know where your home is!

Thank you for everything and wishing you all that is best!

Ramiro and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

It is too bad I can only give a 5 rating...they should have 500! What a wonderful oasis in the hustle and bustle of Thamel. My family has now grown to include Mi Casa Team! Please stay with Mi Casa on all your trips to Kathmandu!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharpesonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Sharpesonian,
Namaste from Nepal!

Thank you so much for a great review of Mi Casa on tripadvisor!

Now you know where your home is next time you are in Kathmandu!

Wishing you all the best!
Ramiro and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The owner and professional staff at Mi Casa Hotel go above and beyond to deliver excellent customer service to make you feel right at home in the heart of Kathmandu's trekking province, Thamel. We stayed at several hotels in Kathmandu and none came close to providing the comfort of home and excellent service. They offer a free breakfast fit for a king that includes fresh produce daily and a variety of options. I would highly recommend Mi Casa to anyone traveling to this area and looking for a bed and breakfast that excels, even by American standards, at a very reasonable price(roughly $50 a night, breakfast included). We spent over a week at the hotel prior to departing for our Everest Base Camp trek and they went as far as to offer transportation for an early morning drop off at the airport as well as luggage storage free of charge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Joel,
Namaste from Nepal!

Thank you so much for such a nice review of Mi Casa on tripadvisor!
So happy to read all the nice remarks and glad to hear that you had a nice stay at our little hotel.

Hope to see you again!

Wishing you all the best!
Ramiro and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

After flying for 14 hours to H. Kong and another four hours to Kathmandu through Dacca, Bangladesh, my husband and I arrived in Kathmandu. It was after midnight.

Our flight was three hours delayed in HK. My husband e-mailed to Silvia about the delay, and she reassured that someone would pick us up from the airport, which they did.

Love this place! It is very quiet and beautiful with an outstanding staff, delicious breakfast and an inviting atmosphere. We were very tired not just from flying but from the time change. So, Mi Casa was the perfect home for us. We were treated as royals. Very nice experience!
THANK YOU ALL.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good room. Rooms are comfortable and clean with well working showers and AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Mary,
Namaste from Nepal!

We thank you so much for writing such a beautiful review of our little hotel Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
We are so grateful!
And very happy that we could be your home away from home. Thank you!!!

Wishing you all the best!

Sylvia&dhruba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

When I return to Kathmandu, I will be staying at Mi Casa again. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the air conditioning is perfect. Wifi worked great. Breakfast was great. Most importantly, the staff was incredibly conscious of their guests and very, very helpful. We were able to store extra gear at the hotel when we left for our trek, they helped us arrange early morning cab rides, and did a multitude of other kind things. My friend got sick (not from Mi Casa, an external source) and the owner personally drove him to a doctor that he arranged. We were told he was the best international doctor around, and the staff knew him personally. It was very helpful because my friend had a severe fever and had to stay in the hospital overnight. Without the Mi Casa staff it would have been terribly difficult. With them, though, he had personal rides to and from the hospital and could call me and our other friend on the hotel phone to communicate. The owner also offered to drive us to and from the hospital to visit him.
Can't say enough good things about this place. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Derek,
Namaste from Nepal!

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review about your stay at Mi Casa!

Now you know where your home is while you visit next time kathmandu!

All the best!
Dhruba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kathmandu
246 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 210 in Kathmandu
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Casa

Address: Thamel-29, Tridevi Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $30 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Casa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home rather than a hotel. Full of charm. Full of character. Bright. Sunny. Quiet. Unique. With lots of local colour. We love to have you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Mi Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing