We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home”
Review of Hotel Mi Casa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mi Casa
Ranked #16 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Me and my husband really enjoyed our stay in Mi Casa. This place is a tranquil place in the middle of noisy and dusty Kathmandu...

As a woman, cleanliness of the room is very important. This place has a good standard for cleanliness.

Overall, It feels like home, the owners are like your parents whom always taking care of your needs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayaharoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Mayaharoen,
Namaste from Nepal!

We thank so much for sharing your thoughts about Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
Greatly appreciated!

We are so happy that you felt we were your home during your stay in Kathmandu.

My wife takes the cleanliness part very seriously and she is so happy to hear the feedback that we have a good standard for cleanliness.

It was a pleasure to be able to have both of you here!
Please do come back one day!

Best wishes,
Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

Located right in the heart of thamel the tourist hotspot of Kathmandu this hotel is one of the best. The owner cum manager Ramario has renovated this old villa. The outdoor restaurant serves Nepali cuisine. Dont forget to order the great curd brought from Bhktapur. The management helps in arranging for excursions around Kathmandu and Nepal. The staff are polite. They even managed to rustle up a dinner for us when we returned late in the evening on our first day there. Micasa represents the true spirit of hospitality of Nepal. We were touched when they bid good bye to us with the traditional khada ceremony.Please visit this wonderful place admire its 9 rooms (all named after mountains). Meet the staff, get friendly advice and enjoy the charming atmosphere of this eco friendly hotel.Dr Anshuman Das and family.anshuamrionco@yahoo.co.in

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anshumanafsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Anshumanafsa,
Namaste from Nepal!

We thank you so much for a nice review you wrote for us on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate it!

It has been amazing for us to be able to make this small hotel into a true home away from home for our guests and we love to do it!
We are so happy that we were able to represent the true spirit of hospitality of Nepal!

It was amazing to be able to have you here and we hope that one day you return here and will let us be your home away from home again.

We thank you for everything!

Best wishes,
Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have been coming to Nepal for over 30 years. I realize how hard this country can be. Mi Casa is newly renovated 9 spacious room hotel with hard wood floors, super internet, AC, hot water 24/7. It is on a quiet street just off the main road. The best part of this hotel are the owners-Nepalese Dhruba and European Silvia. They will arrange anything in this country at prices I was not able to find elsewhere. The entire staff is trained to western standards and the food/kitchen are excellent. The hotel is eco-friendly using solar for most of the hot water.

Dhruba arrives at the hotel at 6 am and leaves at 10 pm. He is at the hotel for the sole purpose of making sure his guests get what they want. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone that wants security, cleanliness, comfort and honesty in a country that can be very difficult to navigate.

As the strongest endorsement I can offer this hotel and trekking center, I will only allow my college age daughter to stay here on her dream trip to Nepal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Kevin,
We Thank you so much for your feedback about Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate it especially that it's coming from somebody who has been visiting Nepal for over 30 years and so you exactly know how challenging life can be here. Running this small hotel hasn't been easy for us in terms of providing the best quality of standards due to lack of them in Nepal, but we always try and will always do so to provide the best service that we possibly can.
We hope to have you here again and wish you all the best!
It has been amazing to have you here!

Regards,
Sylvia&Dhruba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Mi Casa's strength isn't just its location (2 minutes walk from the breath-taking Garden of Dreams and 5 minutes Durbar Square) , excellent rooms and homely, welcoming culture of the staff, it is also in the tremendous extra services it provides!

The Hotel itself was very well-furnished with highly accommodating staff who on our last day carried our breakfast up to our room (Manaslu) on the top floor without us having requested for it! Mi Casa also provided us with maps detailing the key food and tourist venues in the area. We were even given complimentary transit back to the airport on our last day, again without us having asked for it. The hotel location was also very good, away from the noise of the main streets.

The owner, Ramiro welcomed us personally when we arrived. He not only gave us better-than-street rates for money exchange, but also helped us plan and itinerary for our 8 days in Nepal (Kathmandu, Pokhara). At all times he was fair,transparent and efficient in his dealings with us - routinely calling us in Pokhara to inform us on weather conditions and changes. We found that he delivered on everything he promised and more, providing us with excellent guides and drivers for our Trek, Paragliding and Whitewater rafting in Pokhara.

Mi Casa Hotel provided a warm and safe environment for us in Kathmandu, and helped us have an unforgettable holiday - We will always be grateful and will certainly be back :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewLau2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Andrew,
Namaste from Nepal!

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review about us on tripadvisor.
Greatly appreciated!

We both love running this small hotel and we are so happy when our guests love to stay with us.
Now you know where to come back next time you visit!
Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

we stayed in Manaslu Room on the top level which was a cosy and clean room with good pillows and sheets, good toilet with hot shower available. Great location as it is 3 minutes away from the Garden of Dreams and many shops. Ramiro, the owner was extremely friendly and knowledgable and created the best trekking plus paraglding and Trishuli river rafting experience for two of us. Breakfast was average. Airport transfers were also provided which was important as Kathmandu taxis are really tiny!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sociabletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear sociabletraveller,
Namaste from Nepal!

Thank you so much for leaving your feedback of Mi Casa on tripadvisor. We really appreciated!
We are the most happy that we were able to be your home away from home during your stay in Kathmandu. It means a lot to us.
Again thank you!

Warm regards,
Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I agree with what one of the other reviewers said- it really is more like a home than a hotel. I was taste testing Kathmandu as a break from India for just five days and decided to stay I here because it's ratings were high and the genrally positive comments. The owner is super nice and knowledgable. The staff was attentive and so friendly, offering to hang out at their patio bar at night... All the rooms are named after mountains, and there's a wall with translucent bricks that allow the sun to shine through, and written on them are all these positive things that made me smile every time I went down the stairs. The owner was friendly and down to earth; he got into a debate with me about how good lonely planet was as a guide for Kathmandu and was generally very friendly and clearly established "mi casa" to feel like "su casa" After chaos in India, this was the relaxing, happy atmosphere I needed. Seriously recommend! Oh and the included breakfast is delicious! Fresh fruit salad / omelette / yogurt musli :) yum

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Ryan,
Namaste from Nepal!

Thank you so much for kind remarks about Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
We really appreciated!
The best part of running this small hotel is to meet great people like you !
We thank you so much for taking the time to write nice comments about us and are so happy that you felt Mi Casa was "su Casa"!
All the best!
Dhruba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Pros:
- The best part of the Hotel are the warm and welcoming Hosts, helpful and in our case very flexible w/ our bookings
- The rooms / bathrooms are clean ; some room types more spacious than others
- Location very good
- When power-shedding, hosts offer device charging at the reception ; wi-fi works even during the power-cuts
- Hot water 24hrs, but pressure varies
- Large breakfast (not buffet)
- During city power-cuts, only 1 room & 1 bathroom light functions .. limited generator (hosts mentioned trying to be more Eco-friendly)

Cons:
- Not the hotel's fault, but some rooms face neighboring constructions which is loud starting very early
- Breakfast service can be a bit chaotic

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear GotSumS,
Namaste from Nepal!

We thank you so much for leaving a feedback about your stay at Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate it!

It was a pleasure to have you both here and we hope that one day you return and hopefully will choose to stay with us again!
The neighboring construction has finished so it's more quiet in the mornings now.

We wish you beautiful travelers !

All the best!

Sylvia&Dhruba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
#1 of 210 in Kathmandu
244 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 210 in Kathmandu
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#13 of 210 in Kathmandu
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Casa

Address: Thamel-29, Tridevi Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $31 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Casa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home rather than a hotel. Full of charm. Full of character. Bright. Sunny. Quiet. Unique. With lots of local colour. We love to have you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Mi Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing