We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, terrible breakfast”
Review of Fuji Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fuji Hotel
Ranked #49 of 438 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, terrible breakfast”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

This hotel is an average budget hotel. However, the breakfast at the restaurant is the worst I've ever had. The breakfast included with our room was eggs any way. No matter how we tried to ask for our eggs to be well done, they came back runny every time. Even my husband who likes his eggs to be on the moist side found it to be too undercooked. I had to send my eggs back three times to get them cooked 'hard'. Every type of egg I ordered was the same way- horribly undercooked. And they were accompanied by toast and tea.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandk1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    93
    41
    9
    1
See reviews for
9
53
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Fuji Gueshouse was a haven after our first hotel in Thanel, which was a total Dive. Fuji was clean, comfortable, and at half the price of the other place. The staff was efficient and friendly. The rooms were simple but tidy. They were is good shape and didn't have the general shabbiness that is the standard in Kathmandu. The shared bath was cleaned daily and also in good condition. The water was hot and consistent. The wifi was available as promised. They even had computers available for guests to use. The hotel is located on a side street in Thamel, so that road traffic is at a minimum and there is little or no noise and NO TOUTS!! The rooms on the north side can be a little chilly in the winter months, but there are plenty of clean blankets available to keep you warm!

We stayed here twice during our time in Nepal and recommended it to others while we were there. Everyone who stayed there agreed that it was great value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy_lu_wh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stayed only for 2 Days,Staff and management so friendly and helpful.Will definetly come back and stay longer next time.
Cant PRAISE everyone enough THANK YOU for making or short stay so enjoyable.
Gerry and Sandra.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry2957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Just returned from a 3-week trip to Nepal with nine friends. We traveled throughout Nepal, but used the Fuji Hotel as our base, leaving behind stuff we wouldn't need for each side trip. The staff always made us feel like we were "home" when we returned to regroup/repack, spend a night or two, before heading to another part of the country.

They provided a complimentary laptop in the lobby to stay in touch with friends and family, the rooms, location, food, and service were all great. If I have any complaints, it would be the level of noise from the street (alley?) behind the hotel - but hey, it's Kathmandu...there's no such thing as quiet!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecobroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mianyang, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2010

it's nice,it's comfortable,it's your home in Kathmandu.they have a beautifule garden and a great restaurant.and the service is even more than your imagination~AND!it's a real bargain!you deserve it!

P.S.:i definitely would love to spend another peaceful morning or cozy afternoon in that garden again,it's~~wordless......

Victoria

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leivicky_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukushima, Japan
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I have stayed in this Fuji Hotel for three times and everytime I feel good there.
The hotel staffs are working so hard and friendly. The owner is great person who always help me and give me suggestion to go. Rooms are very clean and the location is quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed there at the end of a GAP trip just for three nights, but because of the Volcano stayed another week. As Mother and daughter travelling alone and suddenly finding ouselves having to cope with an extended stay at our own expense we were a little approhensive but we could not have asked for more support from the hotel owner and his professional staff. They found us a room at a very good (discounted) rate, it was small but spotlessly clean and bright, even had a balcony. They constantly checked we were ok, helped us with visa problems and even provided free internet access on the owners laptop which he put in the reception for the guests to use.

As the days went on and we were running out of things to do (on the cheap!) they arranged for us to visit a local orphanage and a school so that we could see more of real life in Nepal.

The food was good, the garden room and the rooftop terrace were lovely. and the staff were wonderful. They have their own generator, which is very useful, and solar panels for the water.

We will certainly return and would recommend the hotel to any traveller who wants very good value for money in a clean and safe environment.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dressage1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Hotel Holy Himalaya
#42 of 202 in Kathmandu
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#29 of 202 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
#27 of 202 in Kathmandu
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#77 of 202 in Kathmandu
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 202 in Kathmandu
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji Hotel

Property: Fuji Hotel
Address: Jyatha, Thamel | P.O. Box 6209, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuji Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 years of excellence, Fuji Hotel, located in Kathmandu, is famous for comfort, cleanliness, modern amenities, and our friendly, professional staff. A family-run hotel, you can truly feel at home when you are here: it is your home away from your home. Fuji Hotel was formerly known as Fuji Guest House, when it was upgraded in 2007 to a three-star hotel with a newly-built, annexed building, but with the same management. The a new annex includes Super Deluxe and Deluxe rooms with TV and the added comfort of air conditioning. The rooms are spacious, air-conditioned, bright, and the corridors are wide and airy. The Suites offers spacious rooms with an attached kitchenette furnished with all the modern amenities. We also have standard rooms. The restaurant, serving continental and Asian food, opens out to the garden restaurant and can seat up to 40 people. For groups or families seeking privacy, a separate section has been designed, yet it lies within the restaurant. A rooftop garden boasts a fascinating 360-degree panoramic view of the city and Swayambhunath on the hilltop. The rooftop especially perfect as the hotel is situated in the center of city. It serves as the ideal place to relax. A meeting hall with a seating capacity of 30 people is also available. Other amenities include airport pick-ups, Safety Deposit Box and Free Information on Travels & Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fuji Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing