We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Village Hotel & Resort
Ranked #83 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Large rooms are located in several seperate 'houses'. They are well equipped and comfortable. Very pleasant grounds. An outdoor swimming pool but no staff to provide a towel although generally the staff are helpful. Like everywhere in Kathmandu the power regularly goes off but torches and candles are provided in every room. The food is pretty good; dinner is usually from a buffet with a selection of mostly asian dishes. Wine and beer available at about UK prices. A good place to stay in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgwswth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Guest Relations Manager at Park Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write the review about us .yes,the country is reeling under power shortage.However,we have a generator as a back-up measure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Park Village Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 178 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

It is almost unbelievable to find such a place in Kathmandu... It's like an oasis in desert! It is exactly a zen garden, you will see it once you go there. Very clean, comfortable, kind staff, good restaurant, delicious breakfast + very close to the Temple of Buddhanilkantha (you can go there on foot in 10 minutes and join the 24-hour-lasting Kirtan ;)) The only disadvantage is that it is a bit far from the city center (Thamel and Durbar Square) But you can hire a taxi to Thamel (500-600 NPR in October 2012) and to Durbar Square (650-700 NPR in Oct. 2012). Btw, the internet connection was not effective at all; but all in all it must be one of the best places to stay in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: I stayed at both Lavender and Jasmin Houses..Jasmin Houses are better; ie. the rooms with numbers 20...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zehra-Turkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Guest Relations Manager at Park Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Park village hotel and resort kindly appreciate your review.yes, we are on the city outskirts ,a mere 10kms to the center.we are looking into the internet issue, hope to have a better and faster connection sometime very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have spent 3 nights at Park Village Hotel. Their new building Hammilton House is much more comfotable than the buildings with flower names. New building has new stuffs, however the old ones has tattered blankets. The breakfast was very good especially the mixed omlet with ginger. The hotel is a little bit far away from the center but it worth to stay at skirts of the mountains.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YildizOzturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Guest Relations Manager at Park Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Park village team kindly appreciate your review.we value your feedback as your feedback help us to improve our service excellence.we are on the process of up gradation and hope to complete refurbishing to cottage rooms before april'13'.we hope to host you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a very good time in this hotel, the staff is very good , helpfull and very friendly. The rooms we had were very nice and clean.The restaurant in the hotel has good food and you have choise enough to eat something else every day! The hotel is about 20-25 minutes drive from Thamel . Taxi costs are about 500-600 rupees to bring you there. When you come back from your crowded and dusty (because of the roadworks) citytrip this is the place to be to relax and to chill down. Thanks to the staff and to Rejin to make our holiday complete!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilde V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The staff couldn't have been more helpful - our luggage never arrived and they continued to call the airline for us and track down our bags. The hotel is about a 30 min drive from the city centre but only about 15km. It is also located nearby a stunning national park, ideal for hiking and means no buses or guides needed for that excursion. The walk from the hotel to the park is really incredible as you walk through a real village full of fabulous, friendly locals. We didn't spot any other tourists that day and was a really calm day with breath taking views.

The great thing about the Park Village is also the swimming pool facilities - perfect to get a sneaky bit of tanning into the culture rich getaway.

The breakfast was very substantial as well and prices were really reasonable.

Safe, clean, great value and quiet location from the city noise. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachDubai68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I travelled to Nepal for work and i was both nervous and worried. PARK VILLAGE and it's service made my stay such a pleasure and i would like to commend one of the Managers, Rejin Regmi or always being on hand to assist. H made the stay wonderful and i managed ot carry out my duties accordingly.

Room Tip: Heritage House Rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Coming to Nepal regularly for 5 years I stayed here before 4 years ago - both times in one of the self catering apartments. Staff are fantastic, facilities are great and it is very professionally managed. At the moment (Oct 2012) there are massive road works creating more dust than usual - but not here at Park Village. Easy taxi ride to Thamel (6-700 NRS) or by local mini-bus (15 NRS). 24 hours electricity, internet and hot water! Surrounded by gardens and nestled in the national park foothills - perfect for families, couples and groups.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark-time M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Norling Hotel's Resort Country Club & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,100 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,571 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#68 of 207 in Kathmandu
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Village Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Village Hotel & Resort

Address: PO Box 21218 | Budanil-Kantha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#30 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $80 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Village Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Village Hotel is managed by the famous KGH Group. PVH is located at Budhnilkantha area, which is situated at the northwest rim of the Kathmandu valley. It lies at the foothills of the Shivapuri National Park, which is designated as the most important water-shed-catchments area that feeds pure drinking water to millions. Park Village is the first resort hotel open in Budhanilkantha region which is only 15 minutes drive from crowded downtown Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Park Village Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Village Hotel Kathmandu
Park Village Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing