We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveler rating
329
165
21
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
165
21
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool australian embassy rooftop bar excellent facilities excellent hotel a short taxi ride my home away from home ring road top floor front office restaurant staff breakfast spread indian food busy kathmandu clean hotel couple of nights comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 528 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

Situated in a Perfecr spot the Shambala offers the tourist a great place as a base, the hotel provides a courtesy bus which you can book from 09:30
The local market provides for all the tourist requirements
The hotel has an infinity pool which looks very nice but was freezing when I visited
The cues of the surrounding mountains were good but the fog and dust levels were quite bad during this visit (13 - 22 Dec)
The local visit attractions are all UNESCO sites so tourists must pay to enter
The Hotel staff especially Laxmi, Anjana and Anita were all extremely professional and very friendly
Providing knowledge of local iinformation of food places to visit and answered any request with a friendly smile
A wonderful place to stay the beds are extremely comfortable and I can’t wait to take my family with me on my next visit.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank PaulCartmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2017

Dear Mr. Cartmail,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Shambala!

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere appreciation for staying in Hotel Shambala during your visit to Kathmandu.

Your wonderful compliments towards our hotel services and facilities are very much appreciated and our team specially Laxmi, Anjana and Anita will be in much delight with your comments. Feedback and review like yours always motivates to deliver excellence in guests service which we strive to it everyday.

We thank you once again for your positive inputs and we can't wait to welcome you back together with your family in near future.

We are at your disposal if you require any assistance.

Best Regards,
Krishna Khatiwada
Front Office Manager
Hotel Shambala
P.O. Box 5831
Maharajgunj, Kathmandu
Tel: 977-1-4650251
Email: info@hotelshambala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before we took the flight back. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was great with a good selection. Only downside is, it doesn’t deliver value for money. They say it’s a boutique hotel and there is nothing special about it for the price you pay. Also it is situated a bit further away from the tourist centre and would cost you around NPR 500 to get to Thamel.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Danula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shambala!

Thank you for taking time to review us in TripAdvisor. Your feedback are very important to us to measure our guest satisfaction.

Your kind compliments towards our team and breakfast is very much appreciated. However, we are perplexed to learn that you did not find the hotel a good value for money. Allow me to inform you that Hotel Shambala offers one of the competitive rates in all booking channels among its market segment within the category.

Please do contact us directly in future to make sure we provide you the best rate available and we shall make sure you will have a wonderful stay together with a great price.

Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Shambala and we are looking forward to welcome you in not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Krishna Khatiwada
Front Office Manager
Hotel Shambala
P.O. Box 5831
Maharjgunj, Kathmandu
Tel: 977-1-4650251/4650351
Email: info@hotelshambala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017

While not a stylish high rise, Shambala made up in kindness for what it lacked in terms of polish. Everything was well-maintained, clean and easy to use. The hotel's location also is convenient to many things in a safely walk-able area. Rooms are nothing special -- clean, comfortable and perfectly utilitarian. The hotel's dominant strength is its staff. The front desk always had clear, professional and helpful people. The restaurant, however, was our personal favorite. It didn't matter whether the server spoke English, every person in the facility (as well as the roof top bar) was kind, smiling and willing to go out of their way to accommodate requests. Rather than being indifferent to tourists, these people truly wanted to please and did so with a personal warmth that we very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Dear Ms. Susan,

Greetings from Hotel Shambala!

Thank you very much for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. Feedback and reviews like your are very important to us to make sure we are in the right direction towards our guest services we do it everyday.

Your kind compliments towards our rooms and our team are very much appreciated. All our rooms are designed with individual unique features that is offered in a Boutique hotel. Our team will be much delighted to learn your kind words as we were able to host and create your a memorable stay with us.

We take this opportunity to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Hotel Shambala and we look forward to welcome you again in near future.

Kind Regards,
Krishna Khatiwada
Front Office Manager
Hotel Shambala
P.O. Box 5831
Tel: 977 1 4650251
Email: info@hotelshambala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

To be honest the f and b service of hotel shambala was very good especially the service of sajita maharjan and devi gurung(receptionist) was awesome. Really pleased with this hotel and planning to cone back again for sure.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Raj Kumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Dear Mr. Gurung,

Greetings from Hotel Shambala!

We are much delighted to learn that your stay with us was wonderful. Your kind compliments towards our colleague Devi and Sajita are much appreciated and they shall be pleased and motivated to do more.

We thank you for choosing Hotel Shambala on your recent visit and we are looking forward to see you in near future.

Kind Regards,
Krishna Khatiwada
Front Office Manager
Hotel Shambala
P.O. Box 5831, Maharjgunj
Kathmandu Nepal
Email: info@shambalahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017

infinity pool is the best attraction in this hotel
best view
We recently stayed here while visiting Nepal and found it to be comfortable and clean. It is close to the airport so makes it easier to get to for late night or early morning flights although traffic to the airport can be horrendous.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Harshal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Dear Mr. Harshal,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. Feedback and comments are important to us to perform our service delivery all the time.

We are delighted to learn that you liked overall aspects of the hotel. Our infinity pool has always managed to maintain its charm to all the travelers.

Traffic situation in Kathmandu still a challenge however us being close to airport makes it hassle free to catch up your flight on time.

We thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Best Regards,
Krishna Khatiwada
Front Office Manager
Hotel Shambala
P.O. Box 5831, Maharjgunj
Email: info@shambalahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews