We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realxing modern hotel in Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Shambala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shambala
Ranked #24 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the end of a whirlwind trip to Nepal. The hotel was beautiful and clean. We received a welcome and hospitality far beyond the three star rating. The restaurant, spa and pool area were all first class and superb value. We would come back here again in a heartbeat. The only possible draw back is the slightly run down street it sits on but we found the area easier that the manic streets of Thamel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tseten T, Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hi Salz1984,

Thank you so much for your great review on Hotel Shambala.

We do aim to offer the highest level of service at superb value. We regret the road-construction currently underway, but we do expect all the roadworks in the area to be complete within a month or two. Then the roads should be good as new and the ride to the city even shorter.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 433 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hotel Shambala is 6 km from the airport. I would rate it a more than 4 star but in service they are more than 5 star. We had a very pleasant experience during our stay here. Smiling faces every corner you turn and the staff are so helpful for every simple request. The food was delicious and most important of all the hotel is clean and everything was functioning well. We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so wonderful and we would be back here again soon.
I

Room Tip: I didn't use the gym and the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tseten T, Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hi Ratti S,

Thank you for your excellent feedback on Hotel Shambala.

We are glad you were happy with the service and quality of the hotel. I will be sure to let the rest of the staff know about your pleasant experience.

Do try the spa the next time you visit!

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is better than the 3 Star Rating it has. The quality, cleanliness and outstanding service lifts it to at least a 4 Star International Rating. If it was located near the Palace Museum would give the 5 Star Competition a run for their money. In regard to value, this Hotel is outstanding. Kathmandu is challenged by dust, smoke and noise. Hotel Shambala works tirelessly to overcome all these impediments. Whilst the location is just a little remote... 5km from Thamel..(the streetscape is the worst thing here), it is a perfect location to escape the noise of the City. An Oasis located just a few kilometres from the tourist precincts. If you have been trekking and need a rest before your return home, or prefer quality and clean to the choices in Thamel then do your family a favour and stay here. Oh, you will also have 24 hours of power here. They provide 240v power via generator to lights and power sockets when load shedding is happening. Water is hot in the Morning and at Night and flow is excellent (no low flow fittings here thank goodness).
Ratings are always subjective and are relative to the cost and expectation of the place being assessed. I will rate the items based upon an international 3 to 4 Star Hotel (nearly 5 Star for Kathmandu)

Bed Quality - 5 Star - Firm yet luxuriously soft.
Cleanliness - 5 Star
Food - 5 Star
Bathroom Fittings - 5 Star (bath with shower over - shower curtain - rare in Kathmandu)
Room Standard - 5 Star
Infinity Pool - 4 Star (the pool is a little cool and the breeze on the top floor doesn't help it. suggest the glass panels be extended all around to reduce the breeze and increase safety).
Service - 5 Star
Hotel Design - 5 Star

This is truly an excellent hotel and would make a great base for anyone wanting to stay in Kathmandu and who is happy to grab a taxi when they want to visit Thamel or the tourist sites. Being a new hotel, it is slowly establishing itself as the value quality choice. Take advantage of the great offers available in these early days. The price will surely go up soon. PS. Dont be put off by the streetscape. Most of Kathmandu is undergoing urban renewal/renovation with many roads partly unmade. Once you are in the front door, you will feel the relief.

Room Tip: Higher is further from the street. Less dust and less noise in Kathmandu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OSTMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tseten T, Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hi OSTMelbourne,

Wow! Thank you so much for you detailed review of Hotel Shambala.

Your attention to detail on each of the things that made your stay wonderful is impressive. It's rare that we have a guest that provides us detailed feedback on their stay and all the reasons that made it excellent. We couldn't agree more on the quality of our hotel, and we hope all our guests can see it for what it is- a top notch hotel.

We agree the street-scape isn't idea,l but like you mentioned, Kathmandu roads are currently undergoing major works and we do expect them to be compete soon.

As for the cool pool, it's been unusually cool for this time of year, but we do expect it to get warmer. However, we will take your suggestions under advisement.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Until next time.
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel for our last couple of days after a 7 day trek in the Annapurna region. We were looking for some luxury and comfort after the trek and that is exactly what we got.

The room was very comfortable with good wifi, cabletv and a modern bath and shower. The food served by room service was also delicious and reasonably priced. We also tried the Spa and had a wonderful wonderful time and would highly recommend it.

The only drawback is that it's a bit away from Thamel which is the main tourist attraction but cabs are easily available from outside the hotel and cost between $2.5 to $4 one way (about 10 minutes).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johny_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tseten T, Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi Johny_Daniel,

Thank you for your excellent review of Hotel Shambala.

“Absolute comfort” are some of the words that we would hope to hear from all our guests! We are glad that you enjoyed all the facilities on offer and made the most of your stay here.
Your review highlighted all the best that Hotel Shambala offers.
Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful. the hotel was clean and bright at all times. the room service was good, the food tasted good too. Although the inclusive breakfast could have been better - coffee was quite horrendous. Tried the macaroons but they were rather dense in texture. We enjoyed the view from the rooftop and the pool. Overall happy with the experience and will probably return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisad03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tseten T, Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi Lisad03,

Thank you for great feedback on Hotel Shambala.

While we enjoy receiving good reviews, we value constructive feedback even more. We apologise for the coffee. At the time we were exploring an instant coffee option to offer with the inclusive breakfast. I am pleased to say we are working on a better coffee experience.
As a token of our sincere apology, I would like to offer a complimentary espresso beverage of your choice from our espresso bar, as well as a piece of pastry during your next visit at our hotel. Simply mention this review/response to the front desk during your next visit.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope you return to allow us the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Shambala is a new hotel with a feel of Tibet. Everything about it is top notch, rooms, staff, food, and the rooftop patio with a pool and lounge area. The attached spa offers several kinds of massage techniques to make your stay a vacation you will remember. I highly recommend it and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tseten T, Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi Joann W,

Thank you for excellent review on Hotel Shambala.

We are delighted you enjoyed the features and amenities that make our hotel so special. We’re glad that you enjoyed the experience, and can’t wait to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed two different nights and had a wonderful experience. Staff were attentive and helpful. It was 4 star quality with good food in restaurant. Didn't use the roof top pool as weather was cool, but it looked inviting.

Room Tip: They did not have a fitness center or business office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryZ945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tseten T, Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi LarryZ945,

Thank you kind review on Hotel Shambala and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We’re sorry we don’t have a fitness center and if you were informed otherwise. However, we do have a conference room which you are welcome to use for business purposes. We are also working towards offering more business services in the future and welcome any feedback from our guests.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
494 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,236 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#68 of 210 in Kathmandu
307 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
843 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shambala

Address: Bansbari Road | Near Narayan Gopal Chowk, Maharajgunj, Kathmandu 44606, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $77 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shambala 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shambala is a contemporary Tibetan themed boutique hotel in Kathmandu, Nepal that offers unparalleled comfort and luxury with the best of Tibetan and Nepalese hospitality. Each of the rooms have been beautifully designed and luxuriously furnished to make each stay a comfortable one. All rooms come equipped with en-suite bathrooms with complimentary herbal toiletries, individually controlled air-conditioners, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, LED TV with cable channels and tea/coffee making facilitiesThe in house restaurant, Erma cafe offers a range of Continental and Asian cuisines prepared by our experienced chefs. The cafe offers both indoor and outdoor dining options by the garden and waterfall bar. For light snacks and beverages in an exclusive environment, guests are welcome to enjoy the serene ambiance of the roof top lounge- Cloud 9. Signature cocktails and alcoholic beverages are available through the bar.Health and wellness facilities include a beautiful roof-top swimming pool and a full spa offering range of body therapy sessions, massages and facials. Conference facilities and other business services are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Shambala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing