We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in terms of value for money and safety”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #24 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in terms of value for money and safety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

It was a good trip, and we all really enjoyed our stay in Encounter Nepal and the arrangements Mr Sujan made for us during our stay was excellent. Thanks to Sujan and his team. Also, extend my thanks to his Boss and his family.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fgfdgdfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, owner at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Thank you so much for staying with us and visiting Nepal, you have such a great family and specially your children are cute. As you know our place is not high endfacilities but trying to possess the nepalies cultures and hospitatlity. From your suggestive suggestions and comments it always keep us higher and higher.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    234
    68
    28
    27
See reviews for
98
210
221
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

I found this hotel ideally located for my four day trip to Kathmandu from Dubai. I could walk to all my preferred destinations such as pubs, museum and the local shops.
The hotel staff were superb and responded to my every need and even cooked my breakfast eggs and bacon to my receipe. Sajun, the front desk manager, sat down with me after I had breakfast and gave me ideas where to visit and also assisted me with plans and visa for my next trip which is to Tibet.
The staff confirmed my return flight to Dubai and provided transport for me to the airport.
I am a budget traveller, next time I go to Nepal (March 2011) I will be staying with my friends at the Encounter Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackleaskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

First encounter with the hotel in 2003 ther after we have been back 4 times. This will without doubt asy how much we love the place. As we approach the hotel from the main road it doen't give you any impression about the place. Once you enter the court ward...the whole feeling changes.You are like in a different world, peaceful, quiet and very warm welcoming with the beautiful colourful flower court yard.You will be feeling very well at home.
This place is wonderful, lovely and friendly staffs, helpful and they make you feel at home.The service is excellant, room are spacious and clean.It is only a stone throw away from Thamel where all the shopping are located.
The dinning room provide a good 3 square meals and they are reasonable in price.There is also a trekking service where they can organise wahtever activities you want to do in Kathmandu.
With all that above where else you want to stay i Kathmandu but to be Home Away From Home.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

we arrived one evening and immediately felt at home. The fire and the staff were very welcoming. Our room had everything we needed and great views of the city. Very convenient for restaurants and shops. The hotel provided lots of information on local tourist attractions and maps of how to get there. Day trips and the treks could be booked from the hotel as well as international ticket bookings.

My kids had the time of their life and didn't want to leave. we all made friends and met other travellers we have stayed in touch with since. we will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dotlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, Owner at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thank you so much for your experince review of Hotel Encounter Nepal. As a owner of this property, I am honor to you and your family who has given this oppertunity to share your experince with us. Yes! nothing is 100% perfect this world, but we continuously upgreading services, hospitality, aminities and infact the way our clients feel " Home Away From Home". We want to give you the best value for what you paid and Nealese Hospitalies with personalised service, this is only possible through your suggestive comments and suggestion. Thank you agian and I look forward to see your friends, family and fellow travellers who are willing to Visit this This Himalaya Country of Nepal. Thank you. SP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

I have stayed there in 2003 and in 2009 and I really like it. The location is great, just outside of Thamel. Easy to go out for food, to the bars, go shopping and when you are done, you come back to the inner garden and the craziness of Thamel is just gone... Super friendly staff and easy to meet fellow travelers there. Not fancy but good value. The restaurant is pretty good too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai ( I am working in Dubai)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

I booked the hotel when i saw the website, i didn't know anythings before i arrive at the hotel, finally i found that this was the best hotel in kathmandu and staff was very friendly and helpful.

This is only 4 minutes walking distance upto the centre of the Thamel. If you wanna visit Nepal and looking for the nice hotel, do't go anywhere else and stay at Hotel Encounter.

They always try to make you happy eventhogh you are tired.

So finally don't stay elsewhere except Encounter. The most important thing is that it;s quiet palce to stay with a nice Garden has different flowers

joealapatt@rediffmail.com

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanthoshLivingDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

very nice staffs, the location is good, it's just a street accross Thamel. It's much more quiet than staying in the center of Thamel, but still very convenient to every sights. The hotel also can help you to arrange the whole trip. The drivers and guides are very nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShannonZhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#23 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing