We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #30 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Comfy beds, spacious rooms, ensuite and air con, oh yes and a balcony with city views.

The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from the main shopping road in Thamal - (turn right up the hill)

Excellent customer service and tasty food!

Good value for money - definitely give this one a try...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Karla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

When i arrival and check in that very happy. All staff to welcome me include Mr. Pramod - owner that assist me for everything include gave more information in Kathmandu and landmark too. The hotel not newly but clean and quiet to sleep and easy to go Thamel market and bar and restaurant. However, restaurant in hotel not bad and good taste too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Yaad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Good clean hotel. Had the promised free taxi from the airport and a free lift to our bus. Staff friendly and honest. A bit of noise (welcome to Kathmandu) Good restaurant. The free wifi worked which was great because no one was exchanging TC so had to transfer money quickly. Nice to be just outside Thamel. Only had time for one night but would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Steve Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is great value for money. Only 20 minute walk to Durbar Square and the city centre. The hotel has a restaurant attached that offers a great variety of food at reasonable prices. The staff at the hotel and restaurant are very friendly and willing to go out of their way to provide whatever assistance possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mark74768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I booked through booking.com and they provide me pick up service from an Airport to the Hotel it was pluse point. Warm welcome and good location near by Thamel which is busty tourist hubs place walkable to Kathmandu Durbar Square. All staff are are so friendly the Manager of the Hotel Badri he help us a lot. Beautiful green garden neat and clean room and yummy Nepali set it is worth worth worth.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Khatri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed here with my friends it was awesome all staff are so friendly the room which i booked it has own private balcony with mountain view. main things they provide room service when you order from restaurant delicious. it worth as you pay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank naveenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The location is nice, just next to Thamel. I really liked the restaurant/bar area outside as well. Staff was friendly and they can help you to organize tours/trips. The food was good. Room was clean and quiet enough and the air-con worked well. WIFI was working well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank iippa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#27 of 210 in Kathmandu
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 210 in Kathmandu
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#85 of 210 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 210 in Kathmandu
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $23 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing