We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Encounter Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #23 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I and my friend stay with this hotel by highly recommended by my friend in Thailand and we are not book now but just read a reviews in this website first. After read snd compare with hotel compettitor that this hotel best vslue for us. So when we are check in thst we are get first impression same my friend told me especislly from Mr.Pramod who is owner to will taking care me and friend, anywsy, not just my group he will treat with all guest too. Good service mind.
Finally, recommend this hotel in kathmandu and thamel market its easy to walk.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Thipawan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    231
    68
    28
    26
See reviews for
96
207
220
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed this hotel encounter nepal for 2 night with B/B plane. The hotel is very good condition and room is very nice all the staff are friendly. Very good service. When I come kathmandu I will like to stay. Mr lama is tour manager he arrange our tour in nepal.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank deepasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Well, I arrived Nepal without any information and they gave me advice, helped me calling the tour company and showed me the way on the map.

The counter people spent a lot of time helping me and Mr. Lama (trip advisor) answers questions that other people do not.

I am glad I found this safe place in the middle of all my confusion

- Andres

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AndresGy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi baniyas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed at hotel encounter Nepal on month June by myself blog A room number 202 which is garden facing really nice room. All staffs are so friendly with awesome smiling they are ready to help you all the time. The location of the hotel is perfect nearby thamel and very nice garden the restaurant also very neat and clean so delicious food l love to have chicken mo.mo the manager of the hotel he always assistance me all the time he is the greatest person. I will recommend this hotel encounter Nepal.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Giasgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a bad experience...... Not Worth The Cost.... you can get a better option (hotel) at the same cost... and there is a big difference between what they say and what they do.. Hotel is good but the manager is arrogant...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Shivani10798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is my first time travelling to Nepal as a group. We have no plans prebooked from the beginning. We arrived at this hotel, which was suggested by the taxi driver from Kathmandu airport. The service here is amazing. All the staff were very friendly and helping. The food here is wonderful and good. Room price is reasonable. This hotel is situated at a strategic location as it is near the shopping street and within a walking distance to a halal restaurant (very convenient to muslim). It also have the travel advisor here lead by Mr. Lama, which helps us planned our entire journey here. We have visited 3 major cities; Pokhara, Chitwon and of course Kathmandu. We've done so much fun activities such as jungle walk and elephant riding in Chitwon, water rafting while on our way to Pokhara, experienced sunrise at Sarangkot (view of the Annapurna Himalayan range) and also sight seeing at the major tourist attraction spot all around the cities. All the hotels and transports during our journey here has been arranged by Mr. Lama, which makes our 9 days trip very smooth and easy for us. It was a wonderful experience here in Nepal.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jimbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staffs are very friendly and if you have the chance, look for Mr. Llama. He will guide you to choose what kind of trip and activities you want to do while you are there. Strongly recommending trekking to Annapurna or Everest base camp. At the end of your trip they will provide you with a farewell dinner which is super nice. Room condition is good, surrounding area is tourist area so you can buy all your souvenirs there. The guide that I had was awesome. Spoke good English. His name is Deepak. I strongly recommend him. Enjoyed the trip with plentiful new experiences!

Room Tip: If you are traveling during the summer, get the rooms with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FHaikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#6 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing