We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"BAD EXPERIENCE"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #28 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a bad experience...... Not Worth The Cost.... you can get a better option (hotel) at the same cost... and there is a big difference between what they say and what they do.. Hotel is good but the manager is arrogant...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Shivani10798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is my first time travelling to Nepal as a group. We have no plans prebooked from the beginning. We arrived at this hotel, which was suggested by the taxi driver from Kathmandu airport. The service here is amazing. All the staff were very friendly and helping. The food here is wonderful and good. Room price is reasonable. This hotel is situated at a strategic location as it is near the shopping street and within a walking distance to a halal restaurant (very convenient to muslim). It also have the travel advisor here lead by Mr. Lama, which helps us planned our entire journey here. We have visited 3 major cities; Pokhara, Chitwon and of course Kathmandu. We've done so much fun activities such as jungle walk and elephant riding in Chitwon, water rafting while on our way to Pokhara, experienced sunrise at Sarangkot (view of the Annapurna Himalayan range) and also sight seeing at the major tourist attraction spot all around the cities. All the hotels and transports during our journey here has been arranged by Mr. Lama, which makes our 9 days trip very smooth and easy for us. It was a wonderful experience here in Nepal.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jimbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staffs are very friendly and if you have the chance, look for Mr. Llama. He will guide you to choose what kind of trip and activities you want to do while you are there. Strongly recommending trekking to Annapurna or Everest base camp. At the end of your trip they will provide you with a farewell dinner which is super nice. Room condition is good, surrounding area is tourist area so you can buy all your souvenirs there. The guide that I had was awesome. Spoke good English. His name is Deepak. I strongly recommend him. Enjoyed the trip with plentiful new experiences!

Room Tip: If you are traveling during the summer, get the rooms with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FHaikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The whole trip took 9 days and we did a tour of the Kathmandhu for 3 days. 3 days in Pokhara and 2 days in Chitwan. The whole is a bit pricey but the service is tip top. The hotel is very nice close to attractions. The guide can speak English and tell more about Nepal. Rafting and Safari would be a must

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ikram Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Although the price is a little bit expansive, it is of value for money. The staff is very friendly and the service is great. Would happily recommend this hotel. There is also a travel agent operating inside the hotel. Farewell dinner and breakfast was generously provided and it was halal too.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finnal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The bed was very comfortable with a lovely bed. A great night's sleep! However, during the school term, where my room was located there was a lot of noise with children screaming and bells ringing, however, Thamel is in itself a bit noisy so it was to be expected.
Although the bathroom was small, simple and clean, the water in the tap was brown during my entire stay. Additionally, booking a car for sight-seeing to Kathmandu valley and Bhaktapur via the hotel was incredibly expensive, it was cheaper to book with a tour company in Thamel where I received an air-conditioned car and professional service for half the price of Hotel Encounter.
However, the hotel had an excellent location to Thamel for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel is very good located, close to airport, interesting Kathmandu places and easy walking to Thamel fro shopping. Room and all services was excellent, food as well, functional WiFi. We have ordered a trip to Bhaktapur and Nagarkot, all arranged well. Hotel has great stuff in restaurant and reception, all speak excellent english and very polite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SilvieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#18 of 210 in Kathmandu
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#13 of 210 in Kathmandu
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $24 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing