We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #28 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were stayed at hotel encounter nepal and we are bunch of friends we were travelled to Nepal for first time we found hotel encounter Nepal to stay our night 1st night. & we did the right decision encounter is like our home all the staff are very friendly they are always ready to help whatever we need...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank niteshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi niteshi !

We are all so proud to hear about your review.It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed before at encounter Nepal and we went to pokhara from black diamond expedition company Mr lama arrange our all tour we were satisfied with the tour and all the facilities and services that are provided us from the hotel including all the housekeeping staffs and others.also the staffs from the reception they are very helpful and make feel that your stay happy whenever we come to Nepal I surely will come to hotel encounter and highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank binodtorani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello binodtorani !

We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. As customer service is our No. 1 priority and we take it very seriously from the bottom of our heart. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue with efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

Also I have forwarded your review to all our team specially to black diamond expedition company & Mr lama and all of them are so proud to hear about your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Me and my girl friend we stayed on December. We booked in advance from Saudi Arab and when we arrived here it was warm welcoming from front desk and next day new year eve was wonderful party night with DJ we love it. We got here totally family environment room was nice and clean but bit outside from main Thamel staff are so friendly. Foods from the restaurant chicken mono and we most like thali set so delicious. Main things they provide us pick up service from an airport to the hotel because first time in Nepal and so much hassle at the airport thank you encounter. Regarding power short everywhere in Kathmandu is same but they will provide you power by genarator upon your request as we did once when my girl friend to ironing her dress to present on party. Hot water was not problem and every single day clean the room change towel makeup organizing room fentastic the manager call Badri we had drink one night and we shared our travel it was so goog. The hotel encounter Nepal is home away home!!!! I am gone recommend highly.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hobk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Hobk !

Tank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Also I have forwarded your review to all our team specially to Mr. Badri and he is so proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We are coming from India to visit nepal. We are staying at hotel encounter with my friends. The room was very clean and 24hour hot and cold water in the bathroom. The staff are very friendly and helpful they always try to help you the manager of the hotel awesome and friendly to all. I most recommend hotel encounter nepal.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Abhinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Abhinak,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.
Thank you for having chosen us and recommending our hotel to other travelers.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visit in Nepal with group of nine peoples and we stayed here for three night all staff are so friendly room are clean such good garden we camp fire at night it was so good. We made tour package through travel desk and our tour was fentastic in pokhara I do recommend highly.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hitendrasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi Hitendrasharma,

We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. I have forwarded this review to all those concerned specially Travel Desk and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for recommending other traveler and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Encounter Nepal in the coming days.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome father/son adventure! Hotel Encounter Nepal was a oasis in Kathmandu! Fair price, friendly staff & it was safe! The rooms were modest, always had hot water & electricity. The courtyard was a good hang out! Kathmandu is super polluted & dusty so make sure your hotel is not right on a street!! Black Diamond Expedition arranged most of our travels right from the hotel. I recommend it!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
10  Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello Ivan W !

We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.Also I have forwarded your review to our Hotel Encounter and Black Diamond Expedition Team and all of them are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging with your sincere appreciation.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had booked the room for my family online based on the photos in their website and in TA. Upon checking in, both my wife and I were not satisfied with the allocated room. We decided to move to another 'better' room but had to pay up the difference. The upgraded room still was not great for the price they charge.

Service was purely towards selling more (tour plans, bus tickets, forex, ...) nothing much.

And yeah, extensive power outages in Kathmandu for over 4 to 5 hours every day - and do not expect the hotel to arrange for back up options during the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sacred_Yatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Sacred_Yatri !

We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused as your bad experience will completely ruins it. I understand your feelings.We are investigating this matter and finding the points where we were lacking.We will definitely try our best to make our rooms more valuable with adding extra amenities and necessary facilities.However, the room which you have booked is low cost budget room at which is same as shown in the website.However, out staff upgraded your rooms but again you were not satisfied even though you had paid less amount.

Regarding the travel, we always want to make sure that our guest receive the right information and service so that they don't feel like a stranger as customer service is our No. 1 priority and we take it very seriously from the bottom of our heart. Nonetheless, we apologize for any inconvenience that was caused to you and thank you for choosing our hotel. We will definitely try to provide you more better service in your next visit. We look forward to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#25 of 209 in Kathmandu
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 209 in Kathmandu
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#12 of 209 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#85 of 209 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 209 in Kathmandu
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $23 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing