We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell nepal when you stay in hotel encounter nepal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #24 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fell nepal when you stay in hotel encounter nepal!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Me and my friend stay in this hotel encounter nepal. When we get in the hotel we fell family place so we take 2 room that was vey nice and clean and 24 hour hot and cold water . If indian tourist come i will highly recommend hotel encounter nepal.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank santosh36india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hi santosh !

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.

Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    238
    70
    29
    27
See reviews for
98
213
227
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

why choose hotel encounter nepal (1) good locetion (2) good room (3) 24hour hot & cold shower (4) family environment (5) very good gaurden (6) nice place (7) very friendly staff (8) 24hour security. i will recummend this hotel encounter nepal

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Akashindia36garh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello Akash !

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are pleased to know that you liked our location, room, hot & cold shower, environment, garden, 24 hours security and of course hotel staffs.

Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We used Hotel Encounter as our base in Nepal. Each time we returned from our travels we were welcomed back like family. The rooms are comfortable, has a great restaurant and all the staff go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. We had them organise a driver and an itinerary for us and we couldn't be happier. We will definitely be back. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Merryn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Merry !

Thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are truly honored. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team as we feel validated when customers return to our hotel.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had stayed at hotel encounter nepal which was very good at its hospitality that was provided to us and to other their guest asa well when we eentered to hotel we fell that we are at our home the reception staffs were very friendly welcoming the guest.the rooms are very clen at all with good hot shower .the most intresting thing about the hotel wad about their care on their guest and thank full to all the staffs including housekeeping for their such agood service with their smiling face.when I come back to nepal I obviously come to hotel encounter and also I highly reccomend to all the travellers for a right choice that is hotel encounter nepal will be mising hotel encounter

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jazoha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hi Jazoha !

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they all are proud to hear about your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at hotel encounter after spending two nights at a 5 star hotel in the valley. I was welcomed with big smiles and instantly felt like I had found my little slice of paradise in Thamel. First impressions count and all the staff greeted me warmly and enthusiastically. I didn't have to pay up front which I really appreciated after spending the last month in Thailand. Plus I had minimal rupees at that stage. I booked for 3 nights and extended to 5 and will probably take another night here after being informed that there is going to be New Years Eve festivities. Who wants to start a 20 plus day trek hungover? Speaking of which, the manager offered to keep my extraneous summer clothes safe while I was away trekking -- didn't even have to ask. If you need a base to explore Thamel, a quiet area to research and plan your trek, fantastic food and coffee (from the attached and equally fantastic kathmandu grill, from which I'm writing this review in front of a welcoming outdoor fire), friendly company, information regarding trekking routes, and a great room with all the mod cons a traveller requires (English movie channels , wifi in rooms, great shower), definitely book this place. Oh yeah, and it's cheap!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Frani400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello Frani !

We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. As customer service is our No. 1 priority and we take it very seriously from the bottom of our heart. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue with efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and all of us here sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Encounter Nepal on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at hotel encounter with my family on december. I booked a month ago and they provide us pick up service from an Airport to the hotel that is great at night. Warm welcoming up on arrival at the reception. All staff are so friendly room are very clean location is great just walk about two minuet to main thamel hot water are provided any time beautiful garden food was so delicious my children like more chicken momos every night camp firing. The hotel manager Badri Bhujel he is so awesome person he help us a lot regarding our trip. I am definitely recommend to all my friend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kadh 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hi Kadh !

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Also I have forwarded your review to all our team specially to Mr. Badri and he is so proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We really like the hotel encounter Nepal rooms are clean and big enough I stayed with my family on December 27th beautiful garden every night camp fire at the restaurant staff and fron desk staff are very welcom and friendly. I am really love encounter hotel and I will recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TulsiSoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hi TulsiSoni !

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#19 of 203 in Kathmandu
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#12 of 203 in Kathmandu
751 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing